We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$1 036
View Deal
eDreamsUS$1 036
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
609
86
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
609
86
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve mark's camp marks camp lentaba lodge safari experience wonderful experience other guests south africa first class watering hole three nights wild animals his knowledge attention to detail two days food was amazing out of this world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 723 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

A wonderful 2 night stay spent at Lentaba, the attention to detail, the attentiveness of the staff, every meal of the highest quality and the brilliant wildlife sightings thanks to our guide Ruan Walker, made for an unforgettable experience, looking forward to the next visit soon.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank HelenS3354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

Dear Helen

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay with us. We will pass on your kind words to Ruan and the rest of the Lentaba team. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit!

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

Our family and friends had a wonderful visit to this amazing reserve this Spring. It was so wonderful to get out of the City and into nature. We had wonderful sightings of a cheetah and her kill, wild elephants and scary male Lions. The staff at Mark's camp were so sweet and accommodating and made our stay most enjoyable. Our children had a ball. The food was absolutely delicious too.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 651natalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time at Mark's Camp. We are so happy to hear that you had a great game viewing experience. It is not everyday that you get to see a cheetah with a kill. What a wonderful memory. We do hope you will visit us again in the future!

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020

A wonderful two night stay at Marks Camp! The game drives were great - the cheetah did a little catwalk for us, the lion roared and walked right past us. Also saw various bird species, yellow mongoose, zebra, giraffe - too many to mention. The cutest was the little rhino calf falling asleep after a drink of milk from mom. And then there was the fabulous food! The staff was super friendly and helpful. There are two pools - one overlooking a water hole where we saw a hippo cooling itself down. The lockdown blues were long forgotten by the time we left! We will be back!

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tibby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, post lockdown. We could not think of a better way to get rid of those lockdown blues. We hope you will be back for another visit in the future.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2020 via mobile

We spent 3 wonderful days at Kichaka Lodge on Lalibela Game Reserve, and what a fabulous experience it was.
The warmth and helpfulness of all the Staff, from the minute we arrived, was so welcoming and professional. Coral Suite was beautiful and so spacious inside, with the outside deck and plunge pool, totally immersing us in the beautiful landscape.
It was so lovely to also be overlooking the watering hole, with hippos even in place to greet us on our arrival!
Our 2 game drives each day, led by our Ranger, Woody, were the experience of a lifetime, absolutely incredible to see so much, even on our first drive, and with such breathtaking scenery. Each drive was a new adventure, with Woody’s knowledge and passion for every animal, every plant, bringing the dream to life. We especially loved Woody’s ‘speaking’ to the animals - and their responding to him.
Thank you so much to all at Lalibela - we had the most wonderful time, so pleased we chose you for the grand finale of our first South Africa trip.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lcs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of Kichaka Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time during your recent stay with us. The water facing suites are a real treat as you get to enjoy views of the waterhole right from your own private deck. Woody is a fantastic guide and will be so happy to know that you enjoyed the game drives with him. He has so much knowledge to share with his guests. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. We would love to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2020

For my wife’s birthday I surprised her by taking her to Lalibela, which was absolutely fantastic. We stayed at Lentaba lodge in a secluded thatched chalet, which had a private viewing deck with lovely views of the bush and valley below. We also had a view of a watering hole which was close by. We spent quite some time just relaxing on the deck watching the fascinating antics of a hippo calf playing at the water hole, with “mommy” hippo always close by, keeping a keen watchful eye over her baby.
Our room was very clean, spacious and comfortable, with a nice large en-suite bathroom. At the main lodge there are also plenty of places to relax, including both inside and outside lounges, as well as a large deck with great views of the valley and waterhole. All our meals, including breakfast, lunch and dinner, which were all-inclusive, were served on the main deck. For meals, one large long table was set-up, which enabled us to sit and socialize with other guests, which was enjoyable and a lot of fun. The food was superb, particularly the deserts and a special mention must be made of the poached pear with blue cheese mousse, which was scrumptious.
The morning and afternoon game drives were excellent and we saw lots of wildlife, including elephant, rhino, giraffe, wildebeest, zebra, hippo and plenty of antelope. On our game drives we were always partnered with the same three couples, who were from England, Scotland and Belgium, which was interesting and enjoyable. Ryan, our game ranger was very pleasant, professional and knowledgeable.
The staff were extremely friendly, attentive and efficient. For my wife’s birthday, the staff arranged a bottle of sparkling wine and a delicious cake, set-up in our room, which was greatly appreciated.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lalibela and definitely hope to be back.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank westonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are delighted that your wife enjoyed her surprise birthday trip. It is lovely to know that we could make it extra special for her with the sparkling wine and birthday cake. We love celebrating special occasions with our guests. It is wonderful that you got to see the hippo with her baby in the waterhole from your private deck, this is a great experience and a memory to cherish forever. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our chef and his team. He will be so happy to hear that you enjoyed all the meals on offer. We do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews