We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$992
View deal
eDreamsUS$988
Booking.comUS$988
Agoda.comUS$993
TripadvisorUS$988
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
614
86
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
614
86
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve mark's camp lentaba lodge marks camp safari experience wonderful experience other guests south africa first class watering hole three nights wild animals his knowledge attention to detail two days food was amazing out of this world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2020

to mark the end of our south african trip we stayed 4 nights.....which actually worked out......we decided not to do a few rides and it was chucking it down and their vehicles are open to the elements....which meant we saw a mass of wild animals....lions...elephants....giraffe....cheetahs......a really close....
our ranger was amazing....the staff generally exceptional....the food wonderful.....
our room was great.........
one of my pals liked it so much he stayed there for almost two weeks
as for the price i cant say...it was part of a trailfinders package

Room tip: remember....you are not in your room very much
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BobClifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Dear Bob

Thank you for your wonderful review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are happy to hear that you managed to see quite a few animals during your stay. We will pass on your kind words to your ranger, the chef and the rest of the lodge team. They will be delighted to hear that you had a great time.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2020

My husband, two daughters (ages 3.5, 1.5), and I stayed at Mark's Camp for two nights in March 2020. We knew that child care would be provided for our youngest as she was too young for a game drive. Our understanding was that the 3.5-year-old would go on game drives with the other children too young to go on the adult game drives. As it turned out, our girls were the youngest at the camp. I was surprised about how they were going to accommodate us and would have appreciated a heads up via email before we arrived about the situation. But it ended up working out fine. We had a private game drive every time and used the child-friendly game vehicle (with roof, sides on the truck). Our oldest daughter came with us twice; the other times she stayed back with her sister and Lena, the babysitter (who was amazing!!) I can't say enough about our game ranger, Craig. He was so knowledgeable and made us lovely gin & tonics at sunset. The food was delicious and ample. On our first day/night, the camp was pretty full of couples and families. On our second night, we were the only ones there, so my husband and I were given a private, plated dinner. Our girls enjoyed the games available in the fireplace room, adjacent to the dining room, and appreciated being able to order food off the kids' menu. Yes, it was expensive. But absolutely worth it for the trip of a lifetime! We saw so many animals, including giraffes, elephants, rhinos, hippos, lions (eating a wildebeest!), and many more.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Dear Daniele

Thank you for your lovely feedback about Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so glad to hear that it was a bucket list trip for your family. We do apologise that the children's programme was not communicated to you before your arrival however we are happy to hear that you were still able to go on the game drives with your daughter. Craig is a fantastic ranger and has been part of the Lalibela team for several years. He has a vast amount of knowledge and is extremely passionate about his job! We are so glad that you and your husband were able to have a private dinner together where you could spend quality time with each other. We would love to welcome your family back for another visit, so we do hope that you will return one day.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

Absolutely amazing place, Lalibela Lodge on Eastern cape Reserves.
Wonderful food, especially for me as I’m coeliac and it was no problem for them to cater me. Staff out of this world, nothing was too much trouble.
Unfortunately the weather was against us in all 4 Safari drives but we saw most of the animals.
100% recommend

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tracehumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Dear Trace

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your 50th Birthday celebration with us. We will pass on your kind words to our chefs. At Lalibela we always go over and above to cater for dietary needs as we believe this is important for our guests. We are so glad to hear that despite the rainy weather you were still able to see quite a few animals. Thank you for the recommendation. We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020 via mobile

We were not expecting so much from an eastern cape safari but Marks Camp and Dolphi exceeded all expectations. Cant recommend this enough.......5 star plus. These are just a few of some memorable photos. Thanks Dolphi.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JohnSc224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear John

Thank you for your lovely review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. Thank you for the recommendation. We appreciate it greatly.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

Our February visit to Lalibela Game Reserve, this time a family trip staying at Mark's Camp with our grandchildren, daughter, and son-in-law. What an outstanding experience, from our initial inquiry to our departure after two wonderful nights at the reserve. Our room and the family suite were top notch, the staff exceeded all expectations (particularly dealing with a grandchild's food allergy), and the four game drives were more than one could ever hope for. Child friendly, yet luxurious, Lalibela is the ultimate "safari" destination.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnrE3027OG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear John

Thank you for your lovely feedback about Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with your family at Mark's Camp, our family friendly lodge. Mark's Camp is the ideal lodge for a family friendly safari experience. We hope that your grandchildren will remember all the wonderful animals that they encountered on game drive. Our executive chef will always go out of the way to cater for special dietary needs. We are so happy to hear that you believe that Lalibela is the ultimate safari destination. We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews