We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$992
View deal
eDreamsUS$988
Booking.comUS$988
Agoda.comUS$993
TripadvisorUS$988
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
614
86
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
614
86
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve mark's camp lentaba lodge marks camp safari experience wonderful experience other guests south africa first class watering hole three nights wild animals his knowledge attention to detail two days food was amazing out of this world
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2020

excellent lodges only 10 people maximum can stay tented lodges set among trees so very secluded and quiet amenities excellent
staff outnumber guests service excellent
ranger stays on site so he is always around 2 game drives a day big reserve so have to find where animals are more of a safari experience than most

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank epsomewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear Peter

Thank you for taking the time to review Tree Tops on Lalibela Game Reserve. Tree Tops is our smallest camp so it is lovely and intimate as it can only accommodate a maximum of ten guests in five tented suites. The suites are perfectly positioned amongst the trees so you really do feel at one with nature. All the animals on Lalibela are free roaming so our rangers go in search of them on every drive. Our overnight rate includes two game drives per overnight stay so this means plenty opportunities to view the animals on Lalibela in their natural habitat.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2020 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 absolutely perfect days at the Lalibela Lentaba lodge. We really enjoyed every minute of our stay: from the spacious, very private and luxurious chalet to the wonderful 4 delicious and varied mealtimes, the breathtaking wildlife and scenery, and the lovely, friendly staff and our amazing game ranger Liezl! She did a great job of ensuring that we saw wensaw everything we wanted to (only the leopard proved elusive) and more...
We met some lovely fellow guests and just generally enjoyed the varied days of amazing game drives, relaxing afternoon snooze in a cool room, to the breathtaking sundowners out in the game reserve and the entertaining mealtimes...
Thanks to all the Lalibela staff - we can thoroughly recommend this lodge and really hope to be lucky enough to come back in the future.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Trakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room, the scenery and wildlife as well as the delicious food. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our chefs, the Lentaba Team and Liesl. It is lovely to relax and unwind between game drives. Going on safari is hard work :) Thank you so much for the recommendation. We would love to welcome you back in the future for another visit.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

We stayed in Marks Camp. It is a child friendly lodge. Everything was beautiful from the room/cottage to the common areas. The food and service was amazing. We went for our game rides with Peter. He was great and funny and made us all who were initially nervous very relaxed.
We really enjoyed our time there. The only suggestion is to make it possible pay for the souvenirs in the lodge and not only as you enter game reserve. I desperately wanted to buy some Nimji dolls that I have seen in my room, but they were not able to take card payment at the lodge.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DanieleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Dear Daniele

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We will pass on your kind words to Peter, the chef and the rest of the team at Mark's Camp. Thank you for your valued feedback, we will forward your suggestion to the relevant department.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

Before going into detail for readers, I just want to say a massive thank you to all the lovely staff at Lentaba Lodge at the Lalibela Game Reserve. A extraordinary standard of service with warmth, kindness and enthusiasm from the moment we arrived. We will never forget. THANK YOU!

So, put simply, you won’t be disappointed with your stay at Lalibela. My family and I stayed at the Lentaba Lodge for 3 nigh and had the time of our lives. The perfect mix of activity and relaxation in unbelievable surroundings.

From the the moment we arrived at the entrance gates we felt such an open and welcoming atmosphere. This was extended to our game drives with the incredible Teacha. An amazing understanding of the animals, flora and the history of the park made sure we all left the reserve with a wealth of new knowledge. Not to mention his driving skills and the fact he has the eyes of a hawk! Teacha showed incredible patience when we wanted to take photos and made sure that we found time for all of the animals. Stand out moment were with the gears of 20 elephants and watching a lion drag stroll casually down the path right in front of us!

Back at the lodge I want to say a big thank you to Thembaletu and MZ. They made sure our glasses were never empty and I made us feel soar ease throughout our stay. To those in the kitchen and the behind the scenes, I salute you! My gift field is pescatarian and they made sure her needs were catered for each day. Every meal was so special. I will be scouring the shelves for kudo when I get back to London. Don’t imagine I’ll have much luck though...

For anyone looking for an authentic safari experience made possible by friendly staff and true experts in the field of animal conservation I cannot recommend Lalibela enough. Comfort, service and warmth in abundance. Thank you!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JonnyR95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear Jonny

Thank you for your fantastic review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Lentaba Lodge. Ticha is a wonderful guide and has been part of the Lalibela family for several years. He has a lot of knowledge about the plants and animals found on Lalibela and he loves sharing his knowledge with his guests. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Thembalethu and MZ as well as our executive chef who oversees the kitchen. At Lalibela we will always go out of our way to accommodate guests with dietary requirements. We hope that you manage to find kudu in London. If you don't find any, you will have to come back and visit us again! :) Thank you for your recommendation. We appreciate it greatly.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020

We loved our stay in Lalibela. We stayed in the Lentaba Safari Lodge.

We found the staff friendly, attentive and relaxed. We saw 4 out of the big five and learned loads about the animals.

We ate so much! the food was really nice and there was so much of it

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 920ciarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Dear Ciara

Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so pleased to hear you managed to see four of the Big Five. Our qualified rangers have so much knowledge of all the animals that they love to share with all our guests. We will pass on your kind words to the chef. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the food.

Kind regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews