We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
493
80
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
80
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve mark's camp marks camp lentaba lodge wonderful experience safari experience other guests south africa wild animals three nights great food first class cape town attention to detail garden route per day electric blankets
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 601 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you to all at the Lalibela Game Reserve for a perfect 3 days of safari. The accommodation and setting is first class with the most amazing restaurant where you can eat either inside or out overlooking the watering hole- so much lovely food with communal dining where everyone shares their stories of the days game drives, the team go out of there way to do all they can... Special thanks to Rudy our ranger (bushman!) who is so knowledgeable and passionate about the wildlife and environment that gave us the opportunity to encounter such amazing animals on these brilliant Game drives, an experience we will never forget, a special place.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Justin_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Lalibela is a wonderful experience in all ways. The game drives are fantastic from the animals that you see, the ranger who finds them, the hot water bottle for the morning ride and the warm towel for your hands when you get back. We had 6 game drives while there and each one was a special experience. The food is the best we have ever had at a game lodge. We met many interesting people during meal times as the one big table made getting to know each other so easy. The staff is amazingly friendly. The lodge is well designed with many comfortable spaces for relaxing. The gardens around the cottages are beautiful - indigenous and waterwise. We were impressed with the environmental approach that Lalibela focuses on from the invasive Black Wattle removal program to the re-usable water bottles. It was a memorable time that we spent at Lalibela and we just have to go back.

Room Tip: Lalibela has 3 lodges and can highly recommend staying at Lentaba Lodge.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila112015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

We had a wonderful time at Lalibela seeing all the amazing animals in the wild. This was made even more special by the amazing people who work there. the lodge we stayed in was clean and comfortable. The food was first class. I cannot fault Lalibela in any wat.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Davemac60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Hello Dave and thank you for you lovely review. It is great to hear that you had a fantastic all-round safari experience at Lalibela and we certainly have a wonderful team at our lodges. We certainly hope to see you back for another visit one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Janet and I lived in South Africa for 27 years and during the last 15 we were privileged to visit Lalibela Game Reserve ten to twelve times...I lost count. 3 years ago we were forced to return to the USA to seek family and medical help after Janet's stroke. I did not think she and I would ever return to our most favorite destination in South Africa. Yet this past week (Sept 26-28) we made it back to Lalibela. Just put 5 stars by every category you want to rate and pray regardless of circumstances you too make it to Lalibela Game Reserve. "Simply the best!"

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingWriter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Thank you for sharing your incredible story and it was so special to have both you and Janet visit us again. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our reservations team are a particularly delighted that you regularly keep in touch and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

We were 2 families. We didnt know what to expect and it came out wonderful. Weather was not the best but the place and staff were equipped with all necessaries. Rooms were nice and authentic. Slightly cold with inadequate air condition but otherwise nice and located facing wonderful natural view. . Our guide Rudy was amazing with wide knowledge. We saw plenty of animals at different kinds of landscape.
Food was ok.
Service was excellent.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank doron608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

So glad to hear that you had a wonderful family safari trip even though the weather didn't play along for your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to send through your review and we hope that you returned home with some fantastic memories of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews