We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
493
80
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
80
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve mark's camp marks camp lentaba lodge wonderful experience safari experience other guests south africa wild animals three nights great food first class cape town attention to detail garden route per day electric blankets
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 601 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here with our 7 year old son. The accomodation is superb, if slightly chilly at this time of year. Our housekeeping staff were always on hand and provided everything we needed without fuss or problem. The food was exceptional and plentyful.
We had 2 game drives each day and were very happy to have Craig show us the wildlife and talk very knowledgeabley about the reserve, the flora and fauna.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Lalibela and thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Mark’s Camp which had been recently refurbished following a change of ownership. The stay was for three nights and we were offered 6 game drives (two per day, early morning and late afternoon). The whole experience was fantastic. The guides and staff could not do enough and the food was incredible. The accommodation was charming and comfortable. The setting of the camp is idyllic with plenty to bird life to see from camp. The new owners were embarking on a major conservation project to clear non-native invasive tree species which was impressive. The viewing of wildlife on the safari is great. Obviously it’s a private reserve so not exactly the same as seeing animals in the wild but good for kids and photos.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JasonMarkW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our new-look lodge at Mark’s Camp. Lalibela is totally dedicated to ensuring that the indigenous flora and fauna flourishes on the reserve where all of the animals roam freely and it is wonderful to share this vision of long-term sustainability with our guests. Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

This game reserve is highly organised and safe for the visitor seeking a truly memorable insight into the animals and ecology of South Africa. The accommodation is very luxurious while retaining an ethnic character sympathetic to the locality. The food and refreshments were plentiful and meals were of a high standard. The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The safari excursions were led by knowledgable dedicated rangers who literally go the extra mile to ensure that guests get to experience the great wild animals close up. Be clear that the safari excursions are by nature, not relaxing. In order to see the elephants, rhinos, hippos etc you have to be prepared to get up early (6am) and spend up to 3 hours being bumped up and down in a jeep as it crosses rough ground. In August it is winter time in SA and it can get cold out on the excursions early in the morning and in the early evening. You may well need to pack extra warm clothing.
Don't let this put you off as the awe-inspiring experience of getting close to these enormous wild animals in their natural habitat makes it all worthwhile.

Room tip: The rooms were flawless.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jadams747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you for your fabulous review and we are very pleased that you accepted the challenge of the early morning game drives! Those early morning sightings make it all worthwhile and our rangers so enjoy sharing their knowledge with guests. Even though we do provide ponchos and blankets on the drives it is always best to wear a little extra during the winter months to be prepared.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We were welcomed with hot drinks on our arrival which were greatly received as it was cold and wet! Our hut at Marks Camp was fantastic and 5 star. We met 'Mark' who ate dinner with us all on one night and told us the history of the camp. The game drives were amazing probably because Gugu our guide was so knowledgeable and passionate about his job. We were never bored on the drives and the food was also amazing. We met some great people from Australia, Holland and South Africa, probably helped by the ethos of one big dining table for all the guests. Tim the barman was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for him.
If visiting in Winter do take hats, scarves and gloves, we didn't but luckily we had some sunny day and of course the hot water bottles.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

We are extremely grateful for any amount of rain at the moment and are so pleased to hear that it didn’t put a damper on your stay or on your game drives. We definitely recommend the highly fashionable `layered look' for the drives especially at this time of year! It is also great to hear that you enjoyed sharing your game sightings and experiences with other guests at mealtimes. Thank you for your lovely review and we will be sure to pass all of your `mentions’ on to all of the staff at Mark’s Camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in the Lentaba Safari Lodge and our room had a lovely view out across the bush, as do all the rooms. No tv and no phone service but wifi is available in the dining/lounge area. Very relaxing. Food was wonderful, staff were great and we loved the game drives.
There is a pool but we had no use for it but it would be nice in Summer.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank malleegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Director of Sales at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

We are really happy to hear that you had a wonderful and relaxing time – there is very little to beat the views and sounds of the bush! Thank you for your great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews