We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing setting and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lalibela Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Each of the lodges here are so so beautiful and unique. The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Great game drive and layout of lodges. The Big 5 and animals in great condition! Some true African flavor with original lion paw prints in the cemented walkway area. Feels like you are lost at an oasis... it makes you want to loose your phone and just consume nature!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank anri_bester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Anri,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very special review.

We work very hard to ensure that you have the best possible African Safari experience and it makes us extra proud to read reviews like this.

If you are ever in our area again, please do pop in.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying at Tree Tops at Lalibela is fantastic. Luxury tents, great food and service. And most important .. the game drives are fantastic. Our ranger Craig was very experienced and had the most Beautiful stories about the wildlife.
As it was very fresh in the mornings, blankets and hotwater bottles were provided on the safari truck.
Tree Tops has only 5 tents , so this is a small camp with a very personal service...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ab D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ab,

Thank you for leaving such a nice review. We absolutely loved hosting you at Tree Tops and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us as well.

We value your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you, once again.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We would like to say thank you to all Lalibela staff. In august, my wife, my daughter and me, we spent 4 days in the Reserve having great time. Warm welcome in any moment, fantastic food and wonderful accommodation.

During our Safari we shot more than 4.000 pictures ! The different areas of Lalibela gives the opportunity to have so many scenic view with different animals and different situations. See animals after sunset in the dark is something incredible. See my 10 yo daughter tasting termites is something that I will never forget.

The mist on the hills in the morning, African sunset in the evening and the Milky Way in the sky while you are sitting on a chair out of you room is something that few lines can’t explain.

Unforgettable experiences.

But, the most important thing is that we came home with more. Now we have new friends. Share these moments with Ticha, our ranger, who explained us so many things, showing details, stay together in silence looking animals so close, enriched us in an incredible way.

Then, when we were back to the lodge after the game drive….who can forget the warm cocktails that Nkosinathi prepares !

Thank you all, we look forward to come back one day !

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Luca,

Thank you so much for your kind comments - we really appreciate hearing about your experience.

We would love to see some of the photos that you took while on safari, so you are more than welcome to send them through to our reservations office. Maybe we could even share some of them on social media for the rest of our followers to see.

We will make sure that Ticha and Nkosinathi get a copy of your review as they absolutely loved meeting you.

We hope to see you back at Lalibela real soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We took our 14-year-old daughter to Lalibela for her first safari experience and it was everything we’d hoped for. Just the right balance of activity and relaxation, with informative, varied game drives, very comfortable accommodation and excellent food. We felt completely spoilt by the staff at Mark’s Camp. Ryan our ranger was engaging and evidently completely dedicated to his study of the natural world, so we learned a lot. For a family trip, this is a great choice of lodge/reserve. Well worth a visit in the Eastern Cape.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank LMY11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Lalibela.

We loved sharing this special experience with you and your family.

Please do pop in if you are ever in our area again.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We absolutely loved our visit to TreeTops in Lalibela. The whole team were wonderful, with exceptional hospitality and food, the weather was a little on the chilly side, but we were kept warm and cosy and thoroughly looked after.

Peter was an exceptional ranger, the game drives were fantastic. We were extremely lucky to see so much (4 of the big 5, plus hippos, giraffes, zebra, jackal, warthogs etc. etc.), but even had we not seen so much the whole experience was fantastic. The small things we saw including the flowers, shrubs, snails and hairy caterpillars were also fascinating and Peter was able to share so much knowledge.

Our last sunset before leaving South Africa was drinking a sundowner gin and tonic with a wonderful view, a memory for a lifetime.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chris,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

It was such a pleasure hosting you at Tree Tops and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about Lalibela.... from seeing the lion to the smallest snail. :)

Please feel free to send any photos of your holiday to South Africa through to our office as we would love to share them with our social media followers.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driekoppen
7.4 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
364 reviews
39.0 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
18.8 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1 117 reviews
40.0 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
18.3 km away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalibela Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalibela Game Reserve

Address: 90km from Port Elizabeth | on the N2 towards Grahamstown, Driekoppen 6045, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Driekoppen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Driekoppen
Price Range: R8 933 - R14 540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalibela Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This private game reserve's location in the Eastern Cape means it is not only malaria free, but spans 5 ecosystems, resulting in a breath-taking diversity of flora and fauna. Lalibela has 3 lodges, all offering decor that is infused with the essence of Africa, as well as warm and friendly service and unforgettable game viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lalibela Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalibela Game Reserve Hotel Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing