We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing corner of South Africa !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lalibela Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We would like to say thank you to all Lalibela staff. In august, my wife, my daughter and me, we spent 4 days in the Reserve having great time. Warm welcome in any moment, fantastic food and wonderful accommodation.

During our Safari we shot more than 4.000 pictures ! The different areas of Lalibela gives the opportunity to have so many scenic view with different animals and different situations. See animals after sunset in the dark is something incredible. See my 10 yo daughter tasting termites is something that I will never forget.

The mist on the hills in the morning, African sunset in the evening and the Milky Way in the sky while you are sitting on a chair out of you room is something that few lines can’t explain.

Unforgettable experiences.

But, the most important thing is that we came home with more. Now we have new friends. Share these moments with Ticha, our ranger, who explained us so many things, showing details, stay together in silence looking animals so close, enriched us in an incredible way.

Then, when we were back to the lodge after the game drive….who can forget the warm cocktails that Nkosinathi prepares !

Thank you all, we look forward to come back one day !

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Luca,

Thank you so much for your kind comments - we really appreciate hearing about your experience.

We would love to see some of the photos that you took while on safari, so you are more than welcome to send them through to our reservations office. Maybe we could even share some of them on social media for the rest of our followers to see.

We will make sure that Ticha and Nkosinathi get a copy of your review as they absolutely loved meeting you.

We hope to see you back at Lalibela real soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We took our 14-year-old daughter to Lalibela for her first safari experience and it was everything we’d hoped for. Just the right balance of activity and relaxation, with informative, varied game drives, very comfortable accommodation and excellent food. We felt completely spoilt by the staff at Mark’s Camp. Ryan our ranger was engaging and evidently completely dedicated to his study of the natural world, so we learned a lot. For a family trip, this is a great choice of lodge/reserve. Well worth a visit in the Eastern Cape.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank LMY11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Lalibela.

We loved sharing this special experience with you and your family.

Please do pop in if you are ever in our area again.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We absolutely loved our visit to TreeTops in Lalibela. The whole team were wonderful, with exceptional hospitality and food, the weather was a little on the chilly side, but we were kept warm and cosy and thoroughly looked after.

Peter was an exceptional ranger, the game drives were fantastic. We were extremely lucky to see so much (4 of the big 5, plus hippos, giraffes, zebra, jackal, warthogs etc. etc.), but even had we not seen so much the whole experience was fantastic. The small things we saw including the flowers, shrubs, snails and hairy caterpillars were also fascinating and Peter was able to share so much knowledge.

Our last sunset before leaving South Africa was drinking a sundowner gin and tonic with a wonderful view, a memory for a lifetime.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Chris,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

It was such a pleasure hosting you at Tree Tops and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about Lalibela.... from seeing the lion to the smallest snail. :)

Please feel free to send any photos of your holiday to South Africa through to our office as we would love to share them with our social media followers.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My first experience of a Safari & it was unforgettable. We were lucky enough to see so many beautiful animals (too many to list), at such close range! Treetops accommodation was really comfortable & the team, (Renee, Tim & Desmond) do everything in their power to ensure you enjoy your stay. Wonderful food cooked on site provided 3 times a day, with snacks in between, to suit all palates. A good choice of S African wine available too. Our ranger Sarah had the most extensive knowledge not only of the animals but of every insect & plant. Everyone who works at Lalibela is caring about the environment & is passionate about conservation & ecology. (To the extent Sarah stopped our vehicle to move a large snail off the track to the safety of the grass!) I cannot recommend this Game reserve highly enough & will be encouraging all my friends & family to visit.

Room Tip: Treetops camp is wonderful & consists of only 5 private lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Mandy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Lalibela Game Reserve. We really appreciate all your kind words and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

If you managed to take some photos, please feel free to send it to stay@lalibela.co.za

If you are ever in our area again, please do pop in as we would love to see you again.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Well what can I say, what a place. From the accommodation to the food to the staff to the game drives, everything was brilliant. We were in a tented room and was a little worried it might be cold, but how wrong could I have been. When you went to your room at night there was a heater on and a lovely electric blanket already turned on so your bed was nice and cozy. Our ranger Sarah had a wealth of knowledge and made the game drives very exciting, thanks.The food on offer was fantastic, and sitting round the fire in the evening chatting to the other guests at the treetop camp was just so nice. I would recommend this place to anyone. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlasgowBaywatchbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi there,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tree Tops. Ranger Sarah is absolutely great and is very passionate about the animals, the reserve and conservation in general.

It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driekoppen
7.4 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
364 reviews
39.0 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
18.8 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1 117 reviews
40.0 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
18.3 km away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#5 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalibela Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalibela Game Reserve

Address: 90km from Port Elizabeth | on the N2 towards Grahamstown, Driekoppen 6045, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Driekoppen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Driekoppen
Price Range: R8 933 - R14 540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalibela Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This private game reserve's location in the Eastern Cape means it is not only malaria free, but spans 5 ecosystems, resulting in a breath-taking diversity of flora and fauna. Lalibela has 3 lodges, all offering decor that is infused with the essence of Africa, as well as warm and friendly service and unforgettable game viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lalibela Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalibela Game Reserve Hotel Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing