We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
484
78
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
78
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve mark's camp marks camp lentaba lodge wonderful experience safari experience other guests south africa great food three nights cape town attention to detail garden route spent nights electric blankets great fun flora and fauna
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We took our 14-year-old daughter to Lalibela for her first safari experience and it was everything we’d hoped for. Just the right balance of activity and relaxation, with informative, varied game drives, very comfortable accommodation and excellent food. We felt completely spoilt by the staff at Mark’s Camp. Ryan our ranger was engaging and evidently completely dedicated to his study of the natural world, so we learned a lot. For a family trip, this is a great choice of lodge/reserve. Well worth a visit in the Eastern Cape.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank LMY11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Lalibela.

We loved sharing this special experience with you and your family.

Please do pop in if you are ever in our area again.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We absolutely loved our visit to TreeTops in Lalibela. The whole team were wonderful, with exceptional hospitality and food, the weather was a little on the chilly side, but we were kept warm and cosy and thoroughly looked after.

Peter was an exceptional ranger, the game drives were fantastic. We were extremely lucky to see so much (4 of the big 5, plus hippos, giraffes, zebra, jackal, warthogs etc. etc.), but even had we not seen so much the whole experience was fantastic. The small things we saw including the flowers, shrubs, snails and hairy caterpillars were also fascinating and Peter was able to share so much knowledge.

Our last sunset before leaving South Africa was drinking a sundowner gin and tonic with a wonderful view, a memory for a lifetime.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Chris,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

It was such a pleasure hosting you at Tree Tops and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything about Lalibela.... from seeing the lion to the smallest snail. :)

Please feel free to send any photos of your holiday to South Africa through to our office as we would love to share them with our social media followers.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My first experience of a Safari & it was unforgettable. We were lucky enough to see so many beautiful animals (too many to list), at such close range! Treetops accommodation was really comfortable & the team, (Renee, Tim & Desmond) do everything in their power to ensure you enjoy your stay. Wonderful food cooked on site provided 3 times a day, with snacks in between, to suit all palates. A good choice of S African wine available too. Our ranger Sarah had the most extensive knowledge not only of the animals but of every insect & plant. Everyone who works at Lalibela is caring about the environment & is passionate about conservation & ecology. (To the extent Sarah stopped our vehicle to move a large snail off the track to the safety of the grass!) I cannot recommend this Game reserve highly enough & will be encouraging all my friends & family to visit.

Room Tip: Treetops camp is wonderful & consists of only 5 private lodges
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Mandy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Lalibela Game Reserve. We really appreciate all your kind words and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

If you managed to take some photos, please feel free to send it to stay@lalibela.co.za

If you are ever in our area again, please do pop in as we would love to see you again.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Well what can I say, what a place. From the accommodation to the food to the staff to the game drives, everything was brilliant. We were in a tented room and was a little worried it might be cold, but how wrong could I have been. When you went to your room at night there was a heater on and a lovely electric blanket already turned on so your bed was nice and cozy. Our ranger Sarah had a wealth of knowledge and made the game drives very exciting, thanks.The food on offer was fantastic, and sitting round the fire in the evening chatting to the other guests at the treetop camp was just so nice. I would recommend this place to anyone. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlasgowBaywatchbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi there,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tree Tops. Ranger Sarah is absolutely great and is very passionate about the animals, the reserve and conservation in general.

It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

My daughter and I spent several days at Lalibela Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape, South Africa not far from Port Elizabeth. Our visit was near the end of our South Africa experience and was the highlight of our trip. The accommodation in the Treetops was excellent, with great staff (thank you Renee, Tim and Desmond), wonderful food and a great bar for sampling those South African wines. Our four early morning and evening safaris with Sarah, our Ranger, were amazing. We saw all kinds of animals including lions, elephants, rhinos, hippos, buffalo, antelopes, and giraffe, with perfect close-up views for photography. Sarah was a wealth of knowledge. I even tried a termite as a tasty snack on the road (Oregano flavour). She was very mindful of conservation and ethical wildlife treatment. No riding elephants here or touching lion cubs here. We saw wildlife in their natural environment as they should be seen. I would never want to go to a zoo after this experience. If you go to South Africa, I highly recommend Lalibela.

Room Tip: Stay in the Treetop section if you can
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear John,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for the photos as well - they are absolutely stunning and we will definitely be using them.

We can't wait for you return in the near future.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews