We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lalibela Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$992
US$929
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$815
US$791
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveller rating
462
77
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
77
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame reservemark's campmarks camplentaba lodgewonderful experiencesafari experienceother guestssouth africawild animalsthree nightsgreat foodhis knowledgecape townspent nightselectric blanketsgarden routegreat fun
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 567 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Well what can I say, what a place. From the accommodation to the food to the staff to the game drives, everything was brilliant. We were in a tented room and was a little worried it might be cold, but how wrong could I have been. When you went to your room at night there was a heater on and a lovely electric blanket already turned on so your bed was nice and cozy. Our ranger Sarah had a wealth of knowledge and made the game drives very exciting, thanks.The food on offer was fantastic, and sitting round the fire in the evening chatting to the other guests at the treetop camp was just so nice. I would recommend this place to anyone. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlasgowBaywatchbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi there,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tree Tops. Ranger Sarah is absolutely great and is very passionate about the animals, the reserve and conservation in general.

It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

My daughter and I spent several days at Lalibela Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape, South Africa not far from Port Elizabeth. Our visit was near the end of our South Africa experience and was the highlight of our trip. The accommodation in the Treetops was excellent, with great staff (thank you Renee, Tim and Desmond), wonderful food and a great bar for sampling those South African wines. Our four early morning and evening safaris with Sarah, our Ranger, were amazing. We saw all kinds of animals including lions, elephants, rhinos, hippos, buffalo, antelopes, and giraffe, with perfect close-up views for photography. Sarah was a wealth of knowledge. I even tried a termite as a tasty snack on the road (Oregano flavour). She was very mindful of conservation and ethical wildlife treatment. No riding elephants here or touching lion cubs here. We saw wildlife in their natural environment as they should be seen. I would never want to go to a zoo after this experience. If you go to South Africa, I highly recommend Lalibela.

Room Tip: Stay in the Treetop section if you can
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear John,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for the photos as well - they are absolutely stunning and we will definitely be using them.

We can't wait for you return in the near future.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We had 3 nights at Marks camp. The lovely staff at the lodge couldn't have been friendlier, they went out their way for all the guests. The lodges are spacious and they even have electric blankets as it can get chilly at night! You do 2 game drives a day and when you return from your evening one, they welcome you back with a real fire and a hot chocolate and Amarula (or similar...lovely) Our ranger Ryan was really knowledgeable and you could tell he was passionate about his job. I'm vegetarian and they made me a separate meal every night which was lovely. And the cherry on top of the cake, searching and seeing the wildlife. There's nothing like seeing these wonderful animals 10 meters away from you. It's magical and something everyone should experience. We will always have wonderful memories of South Africa, thank you for a fantastic experience xx

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discodivaboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your 5-star review. We work very hard to make sure that we offer guests the very best safari experience possible, so we are so happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Lalibela Game Reserve was amazing the service was excellent, the lodge staff were warm and very accommodating. Over the 2 days our guide was able to show us a Lion kill, Elephant, Buffalo, White Rhino and then of course my favorite Giraffe.

The lodges are brand new spacious with all amenities of a five star lodge. The meals were great and the chef went out of his way to make sure we were well fed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank South-African-Lodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi there,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard to make sure that every guest walk away with fond memories.

Thanks again and please stop by to say hi anytime you’re back in South Africa.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We had 2 nights at the Lentebe Lodge in Lalibela.
We had an amazing guide Rudi.
There are two game drives every au
First around 06:30 and second at around 16:00.
Schedule is :
Wake up at 05:30, light breakfast at 06:00
Game drive 06:30-09:30
Breakfast 10:15
Lunch 14:00
Game drive at 16:00
Return around 19:00
Dinner 19:30.
The food and drinks all included.
Team was very friendly .
The rooms are nice . Well decorated .
The main house has beautiful balconies.
It's a great place to make a Acari especially if you are starting the tour towards Cape Town through garden route.
Much better than Kruger.
Highly recommended !

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ronygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Lalibela. We really do appreciate all your kind words and comments.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope your next stay is just around the corner.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews