We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lalibela Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My first experience of a Safari & it was unforgettable. We were lucky enough to see so many beautiful animals (too many to list), at such close range! Treetops accommodation was really comfortable & the team, (Renee, Tim & Desmond) do everything in their power to ensure you enjoy your stay. Wonderful food cooked on site provided 3 times a day, with snacks in between, to suit all palates. A good choice of S African wine available too. Our ranger Sarah had the most extensive knowledge not only of the animals but of every insect & plant. Everyone who works at Lalibela is caring about the environment & is passionate about conservation & ecology. (To the extent Sarah stopped our vehicle to move a large snail off the track to the safety of the grass!) I cannot recommend this Game reserve highly enough & will be encouraging all my friends & family to visit.

Room Tip: Treetops camp is wonderful & consists of only 5 private lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Mandy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Lalibela Game Reserve. We really appreciate all your kind words and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

If you managed to take some photos, please feel free to send it to stay@lalibela.co.za

If you are ever in our area again, please do pop in as we would love to see you again.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Well what can I say, what a place. From the accommodation to the food to the staff to the game drives, everything was brilliant. We were in a tented room and was a little worried it might be cold, but how wrong could I have been. When you went to your room at night there was a heater on and a lovely electric blanket already turned on so your bed was nice and cozy. Our ranger Sarah had a wealth of knowledge and made the game drives very exciting, thanks.The food on offer was fantastic, and sitting round the fire in the evening chatting to the other guests at the treetop camp was just so nice. I would recommend this place to anyone. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlasgowBaywatchbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi there,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tree Tops. Ranger Sarah is absolutely great and is very passionate about the animals, the reserve and conservation in general.

It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

My daughter and I spent several days at Lalibela Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape, South Africa not far from Port Elizabeth. Our visit was near the end of our South Africa experience and was the highlight of our trip. The accommodation in the Treetops was excellent, with great staff (thank you Renee, Tim and Desmond), wonderful food and a great bar for sampling those South African wines. Our four early morning and evening safaris with Sarah, our Ranger, were amazing. We saw all kinds of animals including lions, elephants, rhinos, hippos, buffalo, antelopes, and giraffe, with perfect close-up views for photography. Sarah was a wealth of knowledge. I even tried a termite as a tasty snack on the road (Oregano flavour). She was very mindful of conservation and ethical wildlife treatment. No riding elephants here or touching lion cubs here. We saw wildlife in their natural environment as they should be seen. I would never want to go to a zoo after this experience. If you go to South Africa, I highly recommend Lalibela.

Room Tip: Stay in the Treetop section if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear John,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for the photos as well - they are absolutely stunning and we will definitely be using them.

We can't wait for you return in the near future.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We had 3 nights at Marks camp. The lovely staff at the lodge couldn't have been friendlier, they went out their way for all the guests. The lodges are spacious and they even have electric blankets as it can get chilly at night! You do 2 game drives a day and when you return from your evening one, they welcome you back with a real fire and a hot chocolate and Amarula (or similar...lovely) Our ranger Ryan was really knowledgeable and you could tell he was passionate about his job. I'm vegetarian and they made me a separate meal every night which was lovely. And the cherry on top of the cake, searching and seeing the wildlife. There's nothing like seeing these wonderful animals 10 meters away from you. It's magical and something everyone should experience. We will always have wonderful memories of South Africa, thank you for a fantastic experience xx

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discodivaboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your 5-star review. We work very hard to make sure that we offer guests the very best safari experience possible, so we are so happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Lalibela Game Reserve was amazing the service was excellent, the lodge staff were warm and very accommodating. Over the 2 days our guide was able to show us a Lion kill, Elephant, Buffalo, White Rhino and then of course my favorite Giraffe.

The lodges are brand new spacious with all amenities of a five star lodge. The meals were great and the chef went out of his way to make sure we were well fed.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank South-African-Lodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi there,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard to make sure that every guest walk away with fond memories.

Thanks again and please stop by to say hi anytime you’re back in South Africa.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driekoppen
7.4 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
364 reviews
39.0 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
18.8 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1 115 reviews
40.0 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
18.3 km away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 8 in Amakhala Game Reserve
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalibela Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalibela Game Reserve

Address: 90km from Port Elizabeth | on the N2 towards Grahamstown, Driekoppen 6045, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Driekoppen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Driekoppen
Price Range: R8 992 - R14 664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalibela Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This private game reserve's location in the Eastern Cape means it is not only malaria free, but spans 5 ecosystems, resulting in a breath-taking diversity of flora and fauna. Lalibela has 3 lodges, all offering decor that is infused with the essence of Africa, as well as warm and friendly service and unforgettable game viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lalibela Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalibela Game Reserve Hotel Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing