We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
493
80
16
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
80
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game reserve mark's camp marks camp lentaba lodge wonderful experience safari experience other guests south africa wild animals three nights great food first class cape town attention to detail garden route per day electric blankets
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 601 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

had a wonderful stay at Lalibela. the most friendly staff and i cannot praise Rudy enough for finding us 4 of the big five and all his interesting information about the bush. We went on a South African special which was a great discount. New owners have just taken over and are making a lot of improvements to the place. For the full price I would have found the place a little tired. Food was average except for the chicken al a king we had at one meal. I am a non red meat eater and was told i would be catered for but on the second night the choice was beef or pork which was disappointing. On the special we received a glass of wine with lunch and wine at dinner which I felt was a nice touch. there is a waterhole on the property and a lion was seen drinking just before we arrived.

Room tip: room 1 is nice and close to the main building
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review - we really appreciate all your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Rudy is a wonderful ranger and very passionate about wildlife and conservation, so you were in very good hands indeed.

We would like to apologise for the mistake made with your dietary requirements. We will look into this and will make sure that something like this never happens again.

If you are ever in our area again, please pop in as we would love to host you again.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We had a fabulous time, the accommodation was perfect, no problems at all. Our ranger Sarah was extremely caring and her knowledge was exceptional. We had five game drives of over 3hrs each and saw all the game we could possibly have wished for. We have been raving about Lalibela to everyone we know and would love to return. We particularly liked the way Sarah allowed the animals to approach our vehicle, absolutely splendid. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was super.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjanetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Lalibela and for mentioning Sarah. You’re right, she is an excellent ranger.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

This game reserve delivered on all accounts. The accommodation was perfect with clean, well designed lodges. The Staff were friendly and helpful and attended to all the visitors with warmth. The food was amazing and plentiful! Game drives were spectacular, with experienced and enthusiastic Rangers.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FionaK1392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Fiona,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Lalibela and for giving us a 5-star review.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you take wonderful memories (and photos) back home.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We (4 people) were there for 2 days = 4 game drives one was 3-4 hours. Please go to the toilet before! The weather was very cold (in August/wintertime) The drives were very shakey but funny. Our guide Ticha told us a lot about the animals and we enjoyed it very much. We saw the big 4. We didn't find the lepard. The bedrooms were so luxury and decored with love and very clean. The food was everytime very good and a big variety.

Room tip: We had standard bedrooms and were very satisfied. Come hungry, there you will receive a lot of food!
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GiulianoF306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Lalibela and for giving us 5 stars. We absolutely love hearing back from guest and reading how they experienced Lalibela and their time in South Africa in general.

If you are ever in our area again - please do pop in.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Lalibela for 2 nights (which i recommend in stead of 1 night) and were really excited about this lodge. Stayed at Marks Camp, all inclusive and we have had some very nice game drives. Rooms are nice and the food is good as well.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 104rickv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hi there,

Great to hear from you again. It was such a pleasure hosting you and we really appreciate your 5-star review.

You are absolutely right - we do recommend a 2 night stay to give you the most of your safari experience.

We look forward to hopefully hosting you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews