We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unforgettable experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lalibela Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

I was 3 weeks for work in Port Elizabeth and took the change to visit a game reserve. From a colleague I got the tip to try Lalibela Game reserve. A all inclusive weekend of high standard with pure relaxation. The room was a pleasure for mind and body. The food was outstanding, and fore those with allergies, don,t worry, they take care of you. But most important the game drives where absolute the high point of this weekend.
The rangers where doing there best to show all your wishes.
There knowledge and experience is of the highest level. "Thanks Tiche" you make my weekend a weekend to remember.
Thanks to all the personnel for your dedication, I will return to this wonderful game reserve.

P.S to hear a Lion roar under your window in the middle of the night is a experience on its one. ;)

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Fred,

We absolutely love reading reviews like this. :)

It was such a pleasure hosting you and experiencing Africa through eyes.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

We (4 people) were there for 2 days = 4 game drives one was 3-4 hours. Please go to the toilet before! The weather was very cold (in August/wintertime) The drives were very shakey but funny. Our guide Ticha told us a lot about the animals and we enjoyed it very much. We saw the big 4. We didn't find the lepard. The bedrooms were so luxury and decored with love and very clean. The food was everytime very good and a big variety.

Room Tip: We had standard bedrooms and were very satisfied. Come hungry, there you will receive a lot of food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giuliano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi there,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Lalibela and for giving us 5 stars. We absolutely love hearing back from guest and reading how they experienced Lalibela and their time in South Africa in general.

If you are ever in our area again - please do pop in.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Lalibela for 2 nights (which i recommend in stead of 1 night) and were really excited about this lodge. Stayed at Marks Camp, all inclusive and we have had some very nice game drives. Rooms are nice and the food is good as well.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hi there,

Great to hear from you again. It was such a pleasure hosting you and we really appreciate your 5-star review.

You are absolutely right - we do recommend a 2 night stay to give you the most of your safari experience.

We look forward to hopefully hosting you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We were treated like royalty. The staff could not have been kinder or more helpful. The rooms are lovely and the food was fantastic. Our ranger was wonderful and our drives were so interesting and fun. We were so lucky to get so close to quite a few of the majestic big 5!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RestaurantGuru_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time and for writing a review on Lalibela Game Reserve. It was such a pleasure hosting, as well as celebrating your 25th wedding anniversary with you.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Lalibela experience and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

From the moment we arrived at Lalibela we felt welcome. We experienced a sincere sense of hospitality from all parties involved: the drummers, the hostesses, the managers and the guides all went out of their way to make our day extremely special!

Lalibela exceeded our expectations on all levels: from the venue, the friendly staff, the welcome snacks and drinks, the lovely lunch, the absolutely gorgeous birthday cake, and of course the informative game drive guides. Our guests were really impressed with Teacher and Craig’s knowledge of the wildlife and their customer service. We not only saw plenty of animals, but also learned a lot!

We truly appreciate all the love and effort that were placed into helping create a great day. Thank you Lalibela for making our day one to remember!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank HenrietteSpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LalibelaManagement, Reservations at Lalibela Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Dear Henriette,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Lalibela and for sending the photos through.

It looks like you had an absolute blast and we are so glad to hear that you are walking away with such fond memories.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm Regards,
The Lalibela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Driekoppen
7,4 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
366 reviews
39 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
18,8 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 33 in Grahamstown
1 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17,1 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1 132 reviews
40 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - All Lodges
7,5 km away
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
Shamwari Bayethe Lodge
#1 of 82 in Port Elizabeth
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lalibela Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalibela Game Reserve

Address: 90km from Port Elizabeth | on the N2 towards Grahamstown, Driekoppen 6045, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Driekoppen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Driekoppen
Price Range: R8 787 - R13 686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lalibela Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This private game reserve's location in the Eastern Cape means it is not only malaria free, but spans 5 ecosystems, resulting in a breath-taking diversity of flora and fauna. Lalibela has 3 lodges, all offering decor that is infused with the essence of Africa, as well as warm and friendly service and unforgettable game viewing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lalibela Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalibela Game Reserve Hotel Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing