We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
14
5
0
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
5
0
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews get away place drive views game accommodation farm experience nature rocks cave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2022 via mobile

Neat, clean, spacious and friendly. Would have loved to see the rockpaintings but no guide was available. Spectacular views and an easy drive from Cape Town. Midweek breakfast special brought to us was an added bonus. I would definitely revisit this beautiful place.

Room tip: Take mosquito repellent in summer.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Journey63628714071
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2022

Our stay was the best ever. Host were great assisting us ,making sure we were comfortable. If you need to get away from it all go there.Spotless clean and very well eauiped. We even did a skinny dip although it was freezing cold. This is what that place does to you. Nature at its best.Cannot wait to return. Thank you for a awesome stay at your beautiful Donkieskraal.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank AngeliqueB140
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2021

Donkieskraal not for weddings! Guests had to do decor, tables, flowers and more at last minute as there was no back up for events manager that fell sick. Food was nice but rooms and tents leaks a lot when raining. Lots of potential and great hiking areas with bushman paintings in caves.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank EuricaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2020 via mobile

Incredible! Visited twice and still find it amazing. Ancient cave drawings, hiking trials, bird watching, game drives and the raw nature scenery around you. The managers are super nice. Affordable and they even offer pensioner's discount.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SavvyTravelerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2020

If you consider a visit to Donkieskraal and you don't do it, you are losing out big time.
I have visited Donkieskraal a few years ago and again a month ago with a tour group. What a pleasant surprise. It is one of the most characterful places and makes a visit to the Sandveld much more than an experience. The surrounding is unbelievable, the accommodation a combination between luxury and rustic..and the view! But the hospitality from Annemi & Jacky & the incredible Sandveld and other stories from Pieter made it more that a 5-star experience. Marius du Plooy.
marius@fundipro.co.za

Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maruis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews