We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
189
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
189
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages home away from home beautiful place tirthan valley great food the river every corner visit this place makes you feel your choice personal touch take care hot water trout look forward in house warm hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2021

It was just what the doctor ordered. Taking a break from lockdowns, we visited the Tirthan Valley and couldn't have made a better choice.
The cottage was clean and comfortable with large rooms and electric blankets that kept the beds warm. If, perhaps, it got a bit dark inside the cottage during the day (we were, after all, in a valley), there were plenty of sunny spots outdoors, which were ideal for a book and a cup of tea.
Food was ample and good. Try the trout - you won't be disappointed.
Dimple was spot on with her tips and suggestions and super efficient when it came to organizing taxis and treks.
As with any place, eventually it's the people that matter most. The staff were helpful, polite and friendly and Surinder, who had been assigned to attend to our needs, couldn't have done a better job. Perfect holiday in every respect.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bread_and_verse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2021

Entering the gates, I was instantly blown away. I had already seen the pictures of the resort on Instagram and I knew that it was beautiful but the pictures do it no justice. Every square foot of the place was vibrant and filled with colour.
We stayed here for just 5 days but the hosts welcomed us in like we were some long lost family members. The warmth of hosts Dimple and Uppi is something I have never seen before from our vacation hosts. The beauty of the mountains around were almost challenged by the beauty of the cottages and the cafe/restaurant that have been constructed by our wonderful hosts. The entire resort is filled with noticeable details or easter eggs of recycled and sustainable materials. From the beer bottle windows to the hand made light fixtures all around every little decoration was a work of art.
I absolutely loved the location and the hosts of these beautiful cottages. Inside the rooms is absolute luxury paired with sustainable and rustic design. There is no compromise of comfort at this place. The detailed attention to every inch of the resort is something I have never seen before and has inspired me to design my own living space with such attention.
There is too much good to say about this place in a single review. The only way you can understand is if you stay there. I am definitely going back.

Special mention for the quality and kindness of the staff. Seriously every single part of this resort is perfect.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Arjun96rao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Dear, dear Arjun
It was an absolute pleasure to have hosted you and your lovely parents. You walked into the property and straight into our hearts.
We’ve had such wonderful and easy going guests in the past but you guys are something else altogether. It really felt that we have dear friends visiting us rather than someone we’d just met
And we especially loved the fact that you noticed such tiny details about the cottages!
It always makes our hearts smile when people appreciate the love and effort that has gone into creating this place.
We know that we will have you back soon and we’re waiting to spend more time with you.
Lots of love ,
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021 via mobile

Care has been taken at each corner of the place to make it unique. It shows how much love the owners have for the property and the comfort they provide to the travelers.
Highly recommend it to everyone.
The food is amazing and do try the local food and the trout.
They also have a wide variety of organic beauty products that you can try.

You can go on a trek, take a dip in the river flowing beside or just chill at the property with the amazing doggos.
It is a haven for a dog lover and a bibliophile and I am both!

It feels like a home in the mountains and that's the highest compliment I can give.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Tour44702784144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021

Dear Lakshaya
We are so very happy that you came back again! It was an absolute pleasure to have you back.
You’re easily one of our favourite guests( scratch that , one of our favourite persons) and we love the fact that you call GFC home and notice everything about the place.
This is your home in the mountains, always .
Come back soon and thank you for being you! And please thank your mom for sending such fabulous goodies for us!
Love and hugs
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2021

An amazing must stay place in the Tirthan valley. Dimple and her husband Uppi are absolutely fabulous hosts and my friends and I enjoyed every bit of of stay.
The cottages , the food, the staff are all five .
Must visit!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank pritis616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Dear Priti
It was our privilege and pleasure to host your group of fiery, travel struck 7 women!
We are honoured that you all stayed with us before embarking on your travels elsewhere.
It was lovely to connect with you especially after realising that we have a dear and lovely common friend.
We hope to see you back for a longer time.
Wish you more travels( safe) and adventures!
Love ,
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

Our family felt so well taken care of at Gone Fishing Cottages. The mountains are breathtaking, but the true joy is the way you are made to feel at home. My whole family, including our two teenage sons, had a wonderful time.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kvanderende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2021


Dear Kristen & Dan
It was wonderful to have you both, Ethan & Asa with us.
We loved the way you guys were so unassuming and so very chilled out.
And it was an amazing change to have guests who had their dinner at 7 pm☺️.
And also, who were so appreciative of the food and the stay.
We really hope to have you back here soon , and have Ethan land a big one this time.
The staff says a big ‘namaste’ and we say a big thank you for being such wonderful guests and for having taken out time to review us.
Warm regards
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews