We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
189
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
189
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages home away from home beautiful place tirthan valley great food the river every corner visit this place makes you feel your choice personal touch take care hot water trout look forward in house warm hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2021

The Tirthan Valley is still a relatively undiscovered part of Himachal and we always try to visit for a few days from our house in Manali. This time we chose to stay at Go Fishing Cottages on the recommendation of a friend. The booking process was seamless and the kids were excited to go after reading all the positive reviews!
The homestay/bed & breakfast was easy to find on google maps. One thing that struck us as soon as we walked in was the intricate detail behind every part of design – from the cute signs to a recycled bottles in creative methods. We were shown to our room immediately (although it was well before check-in time). The host then pointed us to the stream adjoining the property and the kids were soon jumping into the freezing water!
Meals are ala carte – we chose to eat at an elevated part overlooking the main garden. Lots of options to choose from and well served. We finally made it up to the room – lots of plug points (even near the table overlooking the valley!) and great WIFI which is so important in this WFH age! We had two bedrooms in a 3 bedroom cottage – each room luxoriously laid out with multiple curios centered on the theme of recycling and fish. The electric blanket worked well as did the hot water in the showers!
The property only has seven rooms and is well spread out. Uppi the host is very involved and seems to always looking after a new project or talking to his guests. We had a couple of beers in the evening over a bonfire and it was fascinating to hear his perspective.
One of those places where we would have spent more than one night but we left for a quick hike on Jalore Pass. Not before breakfast of sumptuous pancakes and paranthas! The kids insisted on visiting the kitchen to understand how the pancakes were so tasty - crisp on the outside and soft inside!

thank you and we will be back!!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rahul1mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Dear Rahul
When any Dosco comes visiting, it always is an absolute pleasure and when he gets his wonderful family along, it’s double the pleasure.
We loved having you guys over but honestly, this trip isn’t to be counted at all.
Thank you for taking out time to review us so well detailed and fondly.
We are glad the kids enjoyed the dip in the pool and also, the good.
We hope to have you back for a longer stay soon.
Cheers
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2021 via mobile

Gone Fishing Cottages is a rare find. We were looking for a comfortable place in a quiet location amongst nature. We got all that but also the warmth of home, and the generosity of a couple who have an amazing spirit! Set on a tiny sliver of The Tirthan Valley, Gone Fishing and the couple that own it stole our hearts. We can’t wait to plan our next trip there.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TushnaMarfatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Dear, dear Tushna
It was an absolute pleasure to host you guys ! We are so very glad that you chose to stay with us, and we have Sumer sir to thank for it !

Riyaz had us in splits throughout with his absolutely corny jokes and the girls were a delight to talk to.
Thank you for treating us to and for teaching the staff such amazing ‘akuri’ and the mostest thank you for sending the spices all the way from Bombay.
We love you for it and for sharing the secret recipe for the Best burgers .
Wish you’d stayed longer but we know we will have you back here for sure .
Lots and lots of love to you all.
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2021 via mobile

Host of Gone fishing cottages Dimple and Uppi were great, fantastic, awesome. Their personal touch for food is mind blowing. Fun place. Must visit. They provide good information for tourist. Feel as if you are at home and very personal touch. Staff is very cooperative and too good. Rooms are pretty good, basic. Don't go by room. Service and host are just awesome.
Manoj Gala

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank manojgala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2021

Dear Manoj and Shilpa
It was such a pleasure to meet you both
We’re so glad Amish told you to stay with us! And we really wish you could’ve changed your booking dates and stayed longer. That would’ve been absolutely wonderful.
We know now that we have friends in Kutch and we will definitely visit you there.
Thank you for taking out time to review us and writing such kind words .
Lots of love
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2021

Beautiful place,just beyond words. So peaceful,serene,calming.Dimple was a perfect hostess,very friendly,the staff was very courteous &helpng. Loved all the doggies . A must visitFood was yumm Will go again

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 890amritad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Dear, dear Amrita
It was absolutely wonderful to have you and Rummy with us.
You gorgeous ladies are an inspiration to all young women travellers and honestly,we loved having you bad ass women with us.
Thank you for taking out time to review us- means a lot. We look forward to having you back soon and your family along this time.
Love and hugs
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2021

Yes, a place where each moment has been nothing but pure happiness. The perfect location of this place with a stream gushing just outside your room, the beautiful fleet of peacocks in the evenings, the delectable 'homely' meals and the unique decor of the rooms - this place is noting short of absolute bliss!
To add to our unique experience the super warm hosts, Dimple & Uppi, ensured that we have a fabulous time - be it arranging for the cuisines we like or the bonfires nights or suggesting the most amazing around to visit or simply having endless chats together - they made our stay incredible!
A huge shout out to the awesome staff for spot on service and super well maintained rooms with all the possible amenities!
A must, must, must visit - super highly recommended!
Can't wait for my next visit there!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amish312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Dear, dear Amish & Kavi

It was entirely our pleasure and privilege to have met you both.
And we will always be thankful to Chandana for getting you all here.
Amish-
“your on the spur- of -the -moment poetry is fun,
In fact it’s the best under the Sun.
But at times it makes me want to run
And just go eat a big fat bun . “
( we really need to have who-comes-up-with-the-worst-poetry contest soon)
You both are incredibly warm and beautiful people and we are fortunate to have gained fabulous friends .
Looking forward to having you back super soon.
Hugs and love
Dimple & Uppi
By the way- thank you for writing such warm and kind words about us. ❤️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews