We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
211
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
211
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages home away from home beautiful place tirthan valley great food the river every corner visit this place makes you feel your choice personal touch take care hot water trout look forward in house warm hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2021

We were a bunch of three friends visiting Tirthan for the first time. Booked GFC through a TA, thus didn't know much. To our absolute surprise, none of us had ever seen an artistic place as beautiful as this. The host, (I can easily say the soul of GFC) Dimple ensures , everyone has a time, never to be forgotten.
Right from the earthy designs to food, this place has been very well thought of.
Absolute repeat.
Hope to see more such places D&O :))

Room tip: Each room is different, best is to call the host and let her select a room for you.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SumitAgarwal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Dear Sumit
Thank you for being do generous with your praise.
It was wonderful to have you three ‘boys’ with us and to know that you were on a trip together after 25 years!
We are so glad that your travel agent recommended us and gladder to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to having you boys back soon.
By the way, superb photography .
Warm regards
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2021

We have enjoyed a most relaxing time in this lovely cottage- fabulous views,entirely comfortable and well equipped accommodation,everything we hoped for! Thank you for sharing your amazing grounds and making our stay special.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Conferenceaids
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Dear Vivek and Gauri
We truly enjoyed having you and the boys over with us!
And what made it more fun and comfortable was that you treated the cottages just like your home , we loved that about you. Gauri is an amazing cook and we are relishing the pickles she left for us.
We look forward to having you all back soon.
Till then, stay safe and well.
Warm regards
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2021

It's a beautiful place hospitable staff. A must visit place. There food I too good. We had bornfire. The rooms were very clean and hygienic. The kids can enjoy by playing outdoor games. The ambience of the cafe is good.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Shaurya2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Dear Shaurya
Thank you for your kind words!
We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us . And that you enjoyed the food and the cafe.
Would love to have you back.
Warm regards
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Gone fishing is an amazing place. I and my friends had a great time there. There is a warm friendly, loving and cozy ambience about the place.

The staff is very attentive and nurturing. We had planned to stay for just two days but we kept on extending our stay by one day and ended up staying for 5 nights!

Each cottage is done up uniquely and the whole vibe is rustic and offbeat. There is a feeling of warmth, heart and soul just like the HOSTS!!
It is a HOME away from home!!

We, in fact, cancelled all our other plans and just enjoyed the sumptuous food and warm hospitality.

We sampled local cuisine and loved it so much that we ordered it again and again.

Evenings around the bonfire were to die for! and so were the dips in the chilly river water. one can spend hours sitting by the flowing river and listening to the sounds of nature.

Special Note to dog lovers:

The hosts are next-level dog lovers, have five rescued super friendly dogs which add to the whole feel of love and homeliness. Long Morning/Evening walks with dogs are the icing on the cake.

Already planning my next trip here !!! :)

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RahulJ1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Dear Rahul
Thank you for your generous review ! It means the world to us.
We’re so very glad that you extended your stay, we gained a dear friend in the process.
We appreciate that you noticed small and tiny details about the cottages and mentioned them.
We loved that about you.
Also, if we had known that you were such a talented photographer, we would’ve definitely extended your stay even more!
You’ve been officially adopted as part of the GFC tribe and we are looking forward to having you back super soon , for a longer stay.
You’re one of the most helpful and generous persons we’ve met and we are absolutely delighted and grateful that we’ve made such a dear friend .
Miss our evenings around the bonfire and lazy lunches which stretched to tea time and of course, the endless conversations about anything and everything.
Hope to see you back soon,
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021

The property is very far away and the canteen person is very misbehaved.
The cottage is own by other person and local persons are taking care of everything.
Food was very expensive they are charging very huge amount.
Cottages are fine but they will not give you anything what they provide.
Never go and waste your time. You will regret after your stay.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank psrija
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2021

Dear Prashant


Thank you for writing this review.

We are sorry you had a rough experience at the cottages and truly wish we could have made it a memorable one for you.
We would’ve been more than happy to make it up for you in any which way,however, we are a bit taken aback at the complaints.

1. Cottages are very far? - We are sorry that you had to travel all the way from Karnal, and we couldn’t get the cottages to you there. (Clearly a lack of judgment and planning on our part.)
2. “Canteen guy misbehaved”? - You were specifically requested not to smoke inside the cottages after the staff caught you doing so inspite of the signs put up . You not only smoked but burnt our carpet in 5 different spots ! If the staff tried to point out that you had caused damage and could’ve burnt the cottages down ,we call it doing his job and not misbehaving.
In fact over the phone I politely requested you to either pay for the damaged carpet and to take it along or to get it fixed -both options which you flatly refused.

3. We have no problem with our guests drinking but if they otherwise, or under the influence ,abuse our staff then we object to it strongly. What is unforgivable is that you abused our female housekeeping staff as well. Absolutely unacceptable.
4. It is extremely unfortunate that neither of us was at the property( we do have a life and leave the property once in a while ) . We would’ve probably requested you to leave at that point.

6. Yes, our staff is local and we are very proud of the fact- we believe strongly in community building and supporting the local population.
In retrospect, we should’ve insisted that you pay for the damages instead of letting you leave with a gentle warning to not repeat such behaviour at any other property.
And we really wish we could put up pics of the burnt carpet and the damage/ mess you created at the cottages.

However, we are glad to have encountered guests such as you, makes us extremely grateful to have been blessed and fortunate to have wonderful, amazing guests who have treated GFC with as much love as we have put into making it a home for guests and travellers.

Warm regards
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews