We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
216
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
216
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages home away from home beautiful place tirthan valley great food the river every corner visit this place makes you feel your choice personal touch take care hot water trout look forward in house warm hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2021

It's a beautiful place hospitable staff. A must visit place. There food I too good. We had bornfire. The rooms were very clean and hygienic. The kids can enjoy by playing outdoor games. The ambience of the cafe is good.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Shaurya2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Dear Shaurya
Thank you for your kind words!
We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us . And that you enjoyed the food and the cafe.
Would love to have you back.
Warm regards
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Gone fishing is an amazing place. I and my friends had a great time there. There is a warm friendly, loving and cozy ambience about the place.

The staff is very attentive and nurturing. We had planned to stay for just two days but we kept on extending our stay by one day and ended up staying for 5 nights!

Each cottage is done up uniquely and the whole vibe is rustic and offbeat. There is a feeling of warmth, heart and soul just like the HOSTS!!
It is a HOME away from home!!

We, in fact, cancelled all our other plans and just enjoyed the sumptuous food and warm hospitality.

We sampled local cuisine and loved it so much that we ordered it again and again.

Evenings around the bonfire were to die for! and so were the dips in the chilly river water. one can spend hours sitting by the flowing river and listening to the sounds of nature.

Special Note to dog lovers:

The hosts are next-level dog lovers, have five rescued super friendly dogs which add to the whole feel of love and homeliness. Long Morning/Evening walks with dogs are the icing on the cake.

Already planning my next trip here !!! :)

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RahulJ1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Dear Rahul
Thank you for your generous review ! It means the world to us.
We’re so very glad that you extended your stay, we gained a dear friend in the process.
We appreciate that you noticed small and tiny details about the cottages and mentioned them.
We loved that about you.
Also, if we had known that you were such a talented photographer, we would’ve definitely extended your stay even more!
You’ve been officially adopted as part of the GFC tribe and we are looking forward to having you back super soon , for a longer stay.
You’re one of the most helpful and generous persons we’ve met and we are absolutely delighted and grateful that we’ve made such a dear friend .
Miss our evenings around the bonfire and lazy lunches which stretched to tea time and of course, the endless conversations about anything and everything.
Hope to see you back soon,
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2021

The property is very far away and the canteen person is very misbehaved.
The cottage is own by other person and local persons are taking care of everything.
Food was very expensive they are charging very huge amount.
Cottages are fine but they will not give you anything what they provide.
Never go and waste your time. You will regret after your stay.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank psrija
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2021

Dear Prashant


Thank you for writing this review.

We are sorry you had a rough experience at the cottages and truly wish we could have made it a memorable one for you.
We would’ve been more than happy to make it up for you in any which way,however, we are a bit taken aback at the complaints.

1. Cottages are very far? - We are sorry that you had to travel all the way from Karnal, and we couldn’t get the cottages to you there. (Clearly a lack of judgment and planning on our part.)
2. “Canteen guy misbehaved”? - You were specifically requested not to smoke inside the cottages after the staff caught you doing so inspite of the signs put up . You not only smoked but burnt our carpet in 5 different spots ! If the staff tried to point out that you had caused damage and could’ve burnt the cottages down ,we call it doing his job and not misbehaving.
In fact over the phone I politely requested you to either pay for the damaged carpet and to take it along or to get it fixed -both options which you flatly refused.

3. We have no problem with our guests drinking but if they otherwise, or under the influence ,abuse our staff then we object to it strongly. What is unforgivable is that you abused our female housekeeping staff as well. Absolutely unacceptable.
4. It is extremely unfortunate that neither of us was at the property( we do have a life and leave the property once in a while ) . We would’ve probably requested you to leave at that point.

6. Yes, our staff is local and we are very proud of the fact- we believe strongly in community building and supporting the local population.
In retrospect, we should’ve insisted that you pay for the damages instead of letting you leave with a gentle warning to not repeat such behaviour at any other property.
And we really wish we could put up pics of the burnt carpet and the damage/ mess you created at the cottages.

However, we are glad to have encountered guests such as you, makes us extremely grateful to have been blessed and fortunate to have wonderful, amazing guests who have treated GFC with as much love as we have put into making it a home for guests and travellers.

Warm regards
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2021

Our first trip since Covid Hit and I was very paranoid to venture out but since I had heard about GFC from Dimple who owns the place with her Partner I was always curious.
My Husband and I took the plunge and took off to this unknown heaven and the minute we got there something set in ....You need to be there to experience it.
We were welcomed with open gates to park right inside. The dogs welcomed us like they were our own.The fresh crisp air with the river gushing to say hello and the giagantic mountain peaks with open arms.
The fish is fresh with Trout farms dotted in the valley.
Each corner of this place is handcrafted and everything has been thought of. With dining areas ranging from a warm restaurant to the outdoor breakfast area lit up so cozily if you want to sit outside by the bonfire.
We had fresh flowers in every room and luxury bath essentials something the hosts handcraft themselves and I have been sourcing it for years.
You will need heating in winters as it gets very chilly at night so carry a little blower or something for when you step out of the shower.
They will make you things off the menu and take care of your every need.
We had an amazing stay and will go back for sure as we also missed spending any time and being educated by the hosts who were away at the time of our visit but we still got looked after like family.

Room tip: 3 bedroom cottage was another dimention
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mahraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Dear Mahima
It was wonderful that you and Rajat came and spent a few days with us and we were very happy that you extended your stay by another day.
You were amazing sports about everything and the staff was blown away by your warmth and energy.
Thank you for your very kind words and candid review. We appreciate it !
And hope to have you back soon and this time we would love to be there when you visit us.
Cheers
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021

The title explains it all. I have been to a lot of places in Tirthan, but this one is special. Their hospitality, food, and especially the precautions taken for Covid-19 were at par to any 5-star resort that you might find in Himachal. I would recommend anyone and everyone to visit this place to witness what it offers. One of the best-crafted boutique cottages sitting at the heart of Tirthan Valley.

Coming to the hosts - Dimple and Uppi - hands down the most joyful, warm and caring folks I have seen in a while. Everything trickles down and hence the staff also treated us not like guests but like family. Once you go there, you never want to leave.

Thank you for helping us start the new year in the best possible way.

Sending Love from Delhi! We will meet again GFC.

Room tip: Every room offers a view to die for.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shantanukwatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upendra Singh, Owner at Gone Fishing Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Dear Shantanu

We had the best bunch of people to usher the new year in with - and you’re right there at the top!
We loved having you guys with us and it felt that you’ve been part of the tribe forever.
Thank you for having taken out time to review us -and we’re glad that you approve of the Precautions we’re taking to ensure a safe environment fir the guests.
You’ve been officially adopted to the gfc tribe!
Love and hugs
Dimple & Uppi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews