We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent find”
other travellers have booked this property
Lake and Coach house Gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lake and Coach house Gite
La Chatouillette Coach House Gite Josie and Allan
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Lake and Coach house Gite
La Chatouillette Coach House Gite
Josie and Allan
Little tickle Sculpture  by the lake
Bright and spacious sitting area
Lounge
Bright dinning area
Teak fireplace
Double bedroom with Romeo balcony
Large Twin room
Bathroom and and saparate toilet
Balcony views of the lake and meadows
Enjoying the views of the lake with a glass of bubbles, cheese and baguette
outdoor seating area  table tennis & BBQ
walk around the lake and river
walk in the woods
bluebells in may
walking in the woods
Early morning mist on the lake
Autumn at La Chatouillette
Autumn at La Chatouillette
sunset reflections
morning sun on the lake
African metal bird sculptures
Boat on the lake
boat on the lake
Whisteria in the garden
morning sun over meadow
forest and fields
fishing by the lake
Outdoor Table Tennis
Garden  by the lake
A walk around the gardens
dranonfly
Spring arrives for the' Little tickle'
lake reflections
Meet a Carp
Water garden  and mist rolling off the lake
Rods ready for a great days fishing
summer river
Meet the carp!!
Carp fish
Mirror Carp
Mirror Carp
carp fish
carp fish
Free range Hens and birds sharing food tray
golden sunset
Shamwari ~ he hops along on three legs
baby hedghog
Allan fishing
rods in the lake
Swallow dipping on the lake
Line of swallows. You'll love watching them dip on the lake
srunning sunset
Kestrel sheltering in the snow
old Roman Bridge
Explore the green routes on your bikes
Absailing at Fosse Arthur local attraction walks and lake
After a walk stop off and have a snack or coffee at Fosse Arthur
Flers Chateau and lake. Many walks and cycle routes.
There are many Brocant's to visit throughout the year
Manoir de la Saucerie near domfront
Explore the many Vide-Grenires and Antiques sales to find those special finds
street sale in village
Durcy  village Market
There are  many beautiful gardens to visit in Normandy
local french cuisune at the market
calvados
sampling the local apple/pear produce
local french  cuisune  at the market
A glass of wine
Delight in discovering French Gastronomique food and wine
It's not over till you have desert and coffee
sandy beaches and tidal pool at Granville
Sandy beaches  St Pair-sur-Mer, Jullouville and Carolles.
Regional Park
Averange church
Site de la Roche d'oetre river and forest
Site de la Roche d'oetre forest and hills
Flower Boat on a round-about in Vire
Domfront town
Vire clock tower
Fougères Town
Fougères Castle
Fougères  Castle moat
Falase Town
Grand Cascade ~Mortain
Mont St. Michel
La Ferte Mace inland beach and lake, great for swimming in
Lake at Bagnoles-de-l'Orne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint-Georges-de-Rouelley, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Xylocopa
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“An excellent find”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful 9 or 10 days at La Chatouillette. Josie and Allan were great hosts - on hand for advice or help, but also giving visitors privacy and quiet. The Gite is very nice, and it is hard for the website photos to do it justice - the main bedroom has balcony doors to open out to a wonderful morning view, and the sitting room/kitchen has a sunny balcony for breakfast. Although La Chatouillette is out in the countryside, it is just a short drive to Barenton to buy provisions or just to get croissants and pain au chocolat for breakfast, about 6 minutes drive on a straight, empty road. We found the games room and pool table a real bonus, and although we only did a little fishing each day we each caught double figure fish (with the youngest catching the biggest of course....). There are lots of local walks, especially at Fosse Arthur, where you can get a crepe from the cafe before going walking, and a drink after! Ask the cafe owner for a local map. Also lots of interesting little villages and towns, quirky markets to stroll around, and lots of history.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Infinityb...
Birmingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fabulous hosts, gorgeous location, great fishing.”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Alan and Josie are the perfect hosts, welcoming and attentive while allowing you the space to enjoy their fabulous property set in rural Normandy. Fishing facilities were great with well conditioned carp. The games room was a very welcome bonus and typical of the thought put in to provide a complete package for guests.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladysteal...
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday Retreat”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a 1st class week here from 02 - 09 August 2014. Every review we had read previously on this Gite had been Excellent and all were right! The Gite is set it 8 acres of it's own beautifully kept grounds, with it's own lake and small bubbling river, which, in turn is set in very scenic countryside. Alan & Josie the owners are a lovely, kind, warm couple for whom nothing is too much trouble and will help you get what you want from your stay. The local villages 5 mins away provide all you need in the way of shops etc and there are countless things to see and do. If you fancy just relaxing the Gite has a BBQ, Gazebo, tables, chairs, sun loungers etc. Under the Gite you have your own games room with pool table, table football, darts etc. Outside a trampoline and table tennis table. Try fishing, we spent just a few hours in the evening most days and had about 20 fish with most double figures and 3 in the twenties and you only need to float a bit of bread on the surface! The Gite itself is beautifully decorated and furnished, provides all home comforts and has beautiful views from your own Juliet balcony. You can also sit outside your front door and breakfast on your own balcony! We could write on and on, but never be able to do this special place or it's fantastic owners justice. we can thoroughly recommend you try it for yourself and we are sure you will love it as we do! Thankyou Alan & Josie, we will be seeing you next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gite & Grounds in beautiful setting & Area with lovely friendly owners
Liked least: Leaving, bad mistake only booking for a week, wish it had been 2!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick452
Zwolle, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to be”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were the first Dutch guests. Allan and Josie are very friendly and helpful. They made us feel very welcome. If we needed something we could always ask for it. The beautiful, large garden and the lake gave us an immediate sense of relaxation. After a long journey it felt like coming home. The lake and the gite are situated in a beautiful natural and peaceful environment where fishing is a joy. The carp do their best to give you a good week of fishing.

The cottage is very cozy, it was neat and clean and fully equipped.
It was very pleasant to get to know Allan and Josie. We komen zeker terug.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all good
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane H
Benenden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Fishing, Beautiful Surroundings and wonderful hosts!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at La Chatouillette, it was first visit with my son and Father in Law. We planned a weeks fishing and peace and tranquillity. We were not let down! On arrival we tried the lake and were not disappointed with the action. Great fishing all week long!! Not only did we enjoy the fishing, the Gite was lovely, very comfortable with everything you would need. Even if you are not a fisherman, the Gite would make a lovely holiday stay with lovely countryside and villages to explore. Our hosts, Allan and Josie, were fantastic, they made us feel very welcome, I loved the history lessons and was taken on a short tour of some local historic sites and met the neighbours. We were very sad leave but very much look forward to returning. I can honestly say that there was not one negative thing to say about our stay. Thank you Allan and Josie, cant wait to see you again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing