We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$204
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Mono Loco Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarindo Village Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nahua(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arco Iris(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Ramona Charming Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$177
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2 888)
Filter reviews
2 888 results
Traveller rating
1 286
873
436
154
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 286
873
436
154
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantsmaller resortcosta ricanightly showsbeach volleyballonion ringsall inclusive resortchicken wingscab ridehowler monkeyspool barlangosta beachin townarenal volcanorecommend this resortlow tideresort staff
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 2 888 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We are a family that just returned from our first trip to Costa Rica and the Occidental Tamarindo. We were hesitant based on mixed reviews that we saw, but we can tell you that we would return to this hotel with no hesitation. The resort is beautiful and the beach in front of it is outstanding, being the best along that strip. Always a place to sit and shade to find. Great to see howler monkeys and iguana at the resort along with many birds. The rooms are good, bathrooms needing attention in the four rooms we occupied. Rooms in the 4000 building are noisy late at night due to the amphitheatre and disco being directly across from them. The staff are very friendly especially Carlos who works around the bar/snack bar during the day time. Manuel is the best bartender at the resort, others needing additional training. Staff are very receptive if you try a few words in Spanish. The al la carte restaurant was worth making reservations to, many nights with very few people attending. The breakfast buffet was always good. Lunch and dinner buffets became repetitive but were still satisfactory. Can't say enough about how fresh the fruit is. The pool area is great as well as the many activities throughout the day. Tamarindo is a hot 20 plus minutes walk. Taxis were cheap for a car load at $5.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4000 building as amphitheatre and disco are directly across from this building.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Rodney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Rodney R:

It was great reading your review! I appreciate your time writing it, it make us feel so proud.

From all the crew of Occidental Tamarindo, it was great to welcome you and we to that you all the good moments shared.

Do not hesitate to contact us for whatever you may need.

Best regards!

Alvaro Fontenla.
General Manager.
Occidental Tamarindo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

My wife and I stayed here for 8 days for our one year anniversary recently. We had a blast and the hotel staff were very friendly and kind. The grounds were very nice, huge pool, snack bar area was nice, and the beaches were well taken care of , making it great for sunset every night.

The room was pretty big and the AC was frosty cold, which was nice. Overall we had a great time and would definitely come back to this hotel. The food was hit or miss, but with an all inclusive buffet style setup, that's expected. The hotel was 5 minutes from town, and a $5 taxi ride made it easy to pop back and forth for souvenirs and local tacos and sushi.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank greggers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear greggers19:

Nice to read this review, we certainly keep working on this "Oasis" so we can offer an extreme 5 star experience in Costa Rica.

We are sure this year we'll be the yaer we will known as one of the best All In at the country.

From all the crew of Occidental Tamarindo, it was great to welcome you and we to that you for all the good moments shared.

Thank you for staying with us!

Looking forward to having you back.

Alvaro Fontenla.
General Manager.
Occidental Tamarindo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

The Occidental was great. The buffet food selection varied and was very good. Staff was excellent and I loved the beach to the south where you could walk for a couple of miles with no other hotels. Also walked into town both on the road and on the beach. It was an easy walk. The wildlife around the resort is amazing. There were Iguanas everywhere and we had multiple Howler monkey sightings even from the balcony of our room

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank pjhewitt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear pjhewitt65:

Thank you so much for these lovely words. Certainly I will forward them to all my team, who will be excited to hear this comment.

We work really hard in order to provide the best relaxing and wonderful days to our guest, and opinions like yours encourage us to keep on the same way.

Whatever you need whenever you need it, just ask.

Thank you for staying with us.

kind regards!

Alvaro Fontenla.
General Manager.
Occidental Tamarindo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

My mom and I stayed at Occidental for 6 nights and really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a ground floor room in the 6000's. While I was initially dissapointed when we checked in and got a ground floor room, it ended up being amazing! We had an amazing view into the forest, awoke every morning to birds singing and saw so many animals.

While the food was a bit répétitive in what it offered, we still enjoyed every méal and were happy with the selection. To be honest, part of our problem was that at first, we were trying everything with EVERY meal. After we realized similar choices would be offered again, we changed our eating habits. (Examples: Rice, beans, plantains, omelets, fruit for breakfast, salad bar, breads, cold cuts and cheese for lunch, meat, rice, beans, pasta for dinner) If you are a vegetarian, you would be much more limited in choices as it was quite meat heavy. The fresh fruit was amazing and I miss it already! There was a large selection of deserts every night, including icecream.

The location is great for long walk on the beach, surfing and walking into Tamarindo (20 minutes walking or $5 cab). Water is good for wading but was red flag most days therefore not good for swimming. You can easily walk to calmer areas.

My mom loved the zumba classes in the morning and dance classes in the afternoon. There were night shows for kids at 8:30 and adults at 9:15. Most adult shows started with an ice breaker kind of game which were lots of fun to watch, embarassing but fun to participate in but definatley for adults.

We would return again and reccommend to others looking for an all inclusive.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank MRod-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear MRod-7:

We are so happy after reading this fantastic review, certainly it encourages us to keep working very hard to provide you with the best holidays in Costa Rica.

Thank you again, it means a lot for us our clients share their incredible experience in TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome all of you again,

Alvaro Fontenla
General Manager
Occidental Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

So yes people speak Spanish there. That is the language of Costa Rica. Learn 10 words in Spanish and you will be fine. The resort is more of an American 3 star but we loved it. Right on a surfing beach and 1 mile from Tamarindo. We road horses on the beach at sunset. The man was on the beach and we booked for the next night (25 each). Did the mega tour found out that if you book with the lady at the pool it was 40 each cheaper that booking ahead. So go to the pool and book excursions with her. The food is awesome. Buffet has fruit every meal and so many choices that change all the time. Drinks were a little strong but were awesome. Everyone there was so friendly and helpful. Yes the rooms could be updated and the corners cleaned better but the room was great. Only complaint would be how loud the shows are at night and we were right by the theater.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from theater.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Janet M:

I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica.

Please contact us for anything you need, we'll be awaiting for your next visit.

Thank you very much for your time.

Greetings from sunny Tamarindo !!!

Alvaro Fontenla.
General Manager.
Occidental Tamarindo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews