We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
66
33
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
33
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirt roadlocal communitylocal guideworth the journeygreat hostsdry seasonflora and faunatwo nightshot waterother guestswell marked trailshiking trailsallow plenty of timegreat weekendhigh clearanceirenelodge
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the lodge very late because we had read in Lonely Planet that the last section of road is dirt road but it was dirt road from the turn for Dowa. That means there was 22km more dirt road than we anticipated and we ended up travelling it in the dark. This lodge is worth the journey - set off on a day when you know you can get there by the afternoon though! We tried to contact the lodge to let them know we were running late. Communication is tricky when you are that remote though. So again, allow plenty of time and get there when it's still light. Eduardo greeted us and said that they had been disappointed because they assumed we were a no-show. He made us some dinner and settled us in our room. The bed was really comfortable and the sheets were great quality. The room was stylish and white washed. We enjoyed our time here but certainly wish we had at least arrived in time for sunset. We did the red route walk which was lovely. The lunches are expensive by Malawian standards ($19 for two sandwiches and two small beers) but the bread was homemade, they have to drive long distances to buy supplies and they put money aside for medical bills for their staff, put money into the local community etc. We didn't mind paying more given these factors.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Owner at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear Ruth,

thanks for your kind words. We are sorry for the longer time on the road spent. We will pass on the information to Lonely Planet that they include that the 27 km dirt road takes approximately 45 minutes.
We are happy you enjoyed the bedroom and the bed. We invested in high quality mattrasses and linen in order to give our guests the best sleeping experience.
Did you know that our sandwiches are not only homemade, they are also served with fresh herbs from one of our vegetable gardens.
Hope to see you again.

Warm regards,

The Ntchisi Forest Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I'd like to begin by saying the forest lodge itself was lovely, beautiful scenery, well marked trails, good food, friendly staff (though difficult to find and when they were around, often had the door closed) but probably the rudest and most unreasonable management I have ever come across. Unfortunately, my friend and I arrived at 10pm, 3 hours later than planned due to unexpected transport problems. Throughout the day, I sent 2 emails and made 5 phone calls to discuss transport and explain our situation, but no response. So we carried on and the lovely night guard woke up Eduard to allow us in - Eduard greeted us with open annoyance that we were late, waking him up from "deep sleep" without informing him of our status. When we explained we had transport complications and further explained our several attempts to make contact he nastily responded "well, we are on a mountain with no cell service so what do you expect?" Clearly, this shocks me silent because not only is he unnecessarily rude, none of what he is saying is rational. The following evening I approached him and a female manager regarding the previous nights encounter with Eduard (in a direct and firm, but non confrontational way) and was further badgered with responses like "this isn't a hotel with 24/7 reception" and "I'm not your slave at your beckon call". And round and round we go. The entire weekend was full of ncounters like this leaving us with feeling like we had to walk on eggshells, couldn't ask for the simplest and most reasonable of things....we were made to feel as though we were a difficult annoyance. Though the place was lovely, I would not recommend this place based on the discomfort and disrespect I was confronted with from the management.

Room Tip: I stayed in the safari tent and this was fine.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Owner at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Dear Erica,

Thanks for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the lodge, the beautiful scenery and the friendly staff. We regret the inconvenience you have experienced with our managers during your stay and want to apologise for that. Since we are a small lodge, hospitality is key for us. Fortunately the vast majority of guests respect us for that as you can also see on other reviews. Therefore we were very much surprised to read your comments.

Of course we have also spoken to our managers since we belief you always need to hear both sides of the story. First of all after hearing your story they want to apologise for the inconvenience you have experienced. They mentioned that while indeed they had received an email in the morning that you would be a bit later, they did not receive any further communication and by 9 PM figured that you were not coming and send the staff home. When you arrived they were already in bed and in deep sleep. And yes, when they woke up and you told them you had contacted them in many ways without any respons, they were a bit tempered . The encounter when you spoke to them firmly, they have perceived as a little offensive and therefore he responded the way he did. They assured us however that the staff have taken good care of you for the rest of the weekend.

It seems that due to a lot of things happening that particular day and the day after with both your take and that of our manager the experience was not as you had expected it to be. We are sorry for that.

We sincerely hope you can set this interaction aside and will mostly remember all the good things Ntchisi Forest Lodge had to offer you.

Joost, Marleen and Ans
Owners Ntchisi Forest Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The place is beautiful and it's the only tourist-appropriate place to stay near Ntchisi Forest. It's one of the more upscale lodges in Malawi, and the prices reflect American pricing more than local pricing. The food is great. Angelina, our host, was fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Hi Kelly,

Thanks for you review, we always appreciate the feedback from our guests. The isolated spot where the Forest Lodge is located has many advantages, especially the quietness from the forest and the great views over Lake Malawi. We serve homemade Western style food but with many local products which we buy from the surrounding communities. We have accommodation in all price ranges; camping on our beautiful campgrounds, Luxury Safari Tents with shared facilities, different types of Ensuite rooms and our popular Forest Cabin which is ideal for families or a group of friends. We hope to welcome you back at our lodge in the near future.

Best regards from everyone at Ntchisi Forest Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We only stayed one night, which was a pitty, because the lodge is just beautiful, the staff very friendly, and the forest, well it was just amazing! Wonderful walk through thick foggy forest, lots of birds, lovely rainforest.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Hi Toni,

Thanks for your review. We enjoyed your stay at the lodge and are happy to hear that you two enjoyed the forest so much! We are trying our best together with the local community to protect the rainforest and to keep it preserved for the future generations. In this rainy season we are also busy planting small trees in the forest on places that were affected by bushfires last year. We really hope you will be able to spend more days at our lodge during your next trip!

Warm regards from all Ntchisi Forest Lodge staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

This is the best place to unwind, relax and recharge

Its still the best experience trip ever, the staff very friendly, and I would recommend the forest walk and first priority...when you walk in the rain forest you will appreciate why is important to preserve nature why its important to protect the this rain forest

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Thokozani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NtchisiForestLodge, Manager at Ntchisi Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear Thokozani,

We really appreciate your feedback. Ntchisi Forest Lodge is located on the edge of the last remaining rainforest of Malawi with hiking trails starting in our backyard. The views from the terrace reach as far as the mountains of Mozambique on a clear day. With our Community Trust Fund we support local initiatives to preserve the forest and to stop illegal logging and poaching. Local community members are patrolling twice every day to protect the forest. If you like some extra information on the forest during your hike we have a guide available who can tell you lots of interesting stories.

Kind regards,

The Ntchisi Forest Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews