We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Kitchen / Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen / Dining Room
White Horse Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Kitchen / Dining Room
White Horse Cottage
Lounge
Roll Top Bath in the Main Bathroom
May Day Celebrations
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wellow, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend, was a very well presented house with all the facilities you would need and more. We visited Sherwood visitor centre and enjoyed the day there visiting the Major Oak, walking and playing in the park. We would of liked longer and will be returning

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmacaoidh...
Stevenage
2 reviews
“lovely stay in nottinghamshire village”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

cottage has good facilities, is spacious and also an outside garden and bbq area.

good base for travelling to nearby attractions including sherwood forest, rufford abbey country park, wheelgate park, and nottingham castle.

local amenities are good with two village pubs nearby and supermarkets a short drive away in ollerton.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel J
1 review
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Cottage is lovely and very spacious, plenty of room for our family of six plus large dog. It was clean and very well equipped, with the kitchen having lots and lots of available utensils and items you may forget. The children enjoyed the garden and the board games. Only downside would be the stairs are really steep and narrow due to the age of the building and I feel it would benefit from a baby gate at the top just as a precaution for families with young children. Also, shame the next door neighbour was absolutely awful and drove into our car purposefully whilst we were trying to unload - due to us being a metre "In his spot" Overall, highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emomunste...
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“White horse cottage ”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My friends and I stayed in this cottage for my birthday. The cottage is gorgeous...the pictures just don't do it justice. It's comfortable and olde worlde but with a modern twist. The village is lovely with a pub and restaurant a stones throw away. The surrounding areas are fab for sightseeing as there's plenty of great places to go. I recommend an evening in with a roaring fire! A thoroughly lovely place to stay and visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage for your birthday and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise B
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better than our Expectations”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We booked the cottage as it was in a convenient place to visit my 93 year old uncle, who lives in Nottingham, not too close but close enough to enable a couple of visits during the week.
We were not expecting any great luxury, it just fitted our needs, enough bedrooms, two loos, dishwasher, wifi and dog friendly. We were amazed how spacious the cottage turned out to be. Two large sitting rooms, big kitchen diner and large upstairs bathroom. The kitchen was really well equipped with things you actually need. The beds were very comfortable, the place was warm, seating was plentiful and a nice size garden. The stairs are 'interesting', being steep and narrow but having spent many a summer on boats, you soon realise, it's quicker to come down backwards. They just added to the charm of the cottage and we very quickly made ourselves at home.
Even better, Wellow seems to be in the middle of everywhere. Not only did we manage two trips to Nottingham but it's within easy reach of Lincoln, Newark, Chesterfield, Ashbourne Bakewell and Buxton, to name but a few. Plenty of places to visit, Chatsworth, Hardwick Hall, Lincoln Cathedral, plus several ruined castles and abbys. There is a local pub is opposite should you prefer to eat out.
In summing up, I would say the cottage is a perfect example of location, location, location and don't judge a place by the internet pictures.......White Horse Cottage has real charm!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing