We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great homebase!”
Beautiful kitchen opens to the living room - both have an ocean view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful kitchen opens to the living room - both have an ocean view
Super clean, newly renovated and fully stocked kitchen with most everything you'll need Hot water on demand (great for hot tea and more), quiet dishwasher, icemaker
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
Beautiful kitchen opens to the living room - both have an ocean view
Super clean, newly renovated and fully stocked kitchen with most everything you'll need
Hot water on demand (great for hot tea and more), quiet dishwasher, icemaker
3-in-1 oven (microwave, convection, and standard oven); convenient appliance garage
Easy access pull out drawers for pots, pans and pantry items
Induction cook top is touch activated.  Counter has plenty of room for serving buffet style
Stained glass PEACOCK by kitchen and entryway, created by Cris Peacock as is most of the condo art
Comfortable living room for relaxing after a full day of fun activities on Maui.
Your home away from home, with an ocean view from the kitchen, living room and guest room
Several snorkel/tour/hiking books, and CDs for your use, as are the CD/iPod player and printer
Just a reminder to relax and unwind while you're on Maui, too
Ocean view from the living room, kitchen and guest bedroom
Comfortable living room.  The sofa folds out to a queen size comfortable bed
Shoji doors close for guest room privacy.  52' HDTV and large library of DVDs & BluRays
Guest bedroom with queen size murphy bed up; can be used as a dining room
Guest bedroom with queen size murphy bed down
Boogie boards, pool and beach toys, cooler, beach towels and beach chairs available for your use
Some of Cris' artwork in the hall
Guest bathroom has tub/shower combination
Master bedroom with King Size bed
Master bedroom with King Size bed and adjoining master bathroom
Master bedroom with view of the lush tropical foliage outside
Master bathroom with upgraded counter, sink and faucet
Custom master bathroom shower; Cris made some of the embedded ceramics
Double Lanai (16 ft x 7 ft) has comfortable seating for four overlooking a semi-private lawn area
Our unit A7 lanai, ground floor, located at the end of the building, with an ocean view
Heliconia, ginger, hibiscus, Ti, bananas and other beautiful plants surround the condo
Fresh cut flowers and breakfast goodies welcome our guests upon arrival
955 square feet of living space plus a double lanai;  condo sleeps 6
Our condo is about 75 feet from the ocean, with an ocean view and semi-private lawn area
Beauty abounds in the lush tropical landscaping of Makani A Kai's grounds
Crystal clear pool with an ocean view
Sea turtle (honu) mosaic in the pool looks like the real thing
Family fun in the pool
Hang Loose!
Two high quality Weber gas BBQs
Throw some shrimp on the bar-be!
Seating for 8 in the BBQ area.  Lounge chairs for sunning and whale watching
Property entry way
Lush Tropical Landscaping
Courtyard area; turn left at the palm tree in the sidewalk and you're at our condo!
Sweet smelling plumeria blossoms often fall in the courtyard, prompting one guest to arrange them
Our condo is close to the pool, but not next to it
Coin operated laundry a few steps from the condo with machines on premises
View toward Maalaea Harbor
Sugar Beach is our backyard
Adjacent to 5 miles of continuous sand along Sugar Beach, a national wildlife refuge
Maalaea Shoreline.  Had to make postcards of this shot (available in our condo)
Pipers at Maalaea
Beautiful skies of Maui
View of Makani A Kai complex from our paddle boards
Sunset at Maalaea
Sunrise at Maalaea
Another beautiful sunrise at Makani A Kai, perfect to watch with morning coffee
Canoe paddling in Kihei
Parasailing in nearby Kaanapali
Nice view from up here!  Great fun for up to 3 at a time
Iao Needle, a great spot to explore - with easily accessible paths and hand rails
Beauty all around
Whale Day Parade in Kihei, 3rd week in February every year
Boogie boarding fun.  Boogie boards, cooler, beach chairs and more are provided.
Many excellent snorkel spots on Maui
Friendly fish
Ma'alaea Harbor is about 1/2 mile from our condo: restaurants, mini-golf, bumper boats and more
Several snorkel tours depart from Ma'alaea Harbor, nearby at the end of our street
Scuba excursions, lessons and equipment rentals nearby
Maui Ocean Center at Ma'alaea Harbor is a favorite for kids of all ages
Maui sunset
Plumeria
Humback whales come home to Maui yearly (October to April)
Humpback whale season is always exciting on Maui.  Here's a mother and her calf with an escort
Whale tail show
Waterfall on the road to Hana
On the road to Hana
Windsurfing at Ho'okipa on Maui's north shore
Big game fishing (such as for this Ono) available in Ma'alaea and Lahaina
Sportfishing boats available to fish for Marlin, Ono, or Mahi Mahi like this one
Standup Paddle Boards are fun for beginning surfers too!
Standup Paddle Boards available for rental from nearby shops.  Even this guy (me) can learn to surf!
Several terrific music events at the MACC, such as the (free) Slack Key Festival in June
Maui has many beautiful golf courses
View from our lawn area.  Rainbows are everywhere on Maui, even on our license plates!
Plenty of other adventures including zip lining, biking down Haleakala, and more
Tidepools just a short walk down the beach, a fun place to explore with a loved one
5 miles of undeveloped Sugar Beach, ideal for relaxing walks or jogging
Just another day in paradise... your home away from home awaits you.  Check our calendar and inquire
Our Condo Complex, Makani A Kai, is off the beaten path, but centrally located in South Maui
Makani A Kai is truly a treasure of beauty, away from the crowds, but close enough for fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Maalaea, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bob M
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great homebase!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Thank you for providing such a wonderful home base for a family Maui vacation. I don’t think we’ve ever stayed in a beach house that is so thoughtfully equipped. The kids loved the beach toys, snorkeling gear, games and movies – the adults loved the abundance of towels! ☺ and we all benefited from the selection of Maui tour books.
The location on the island was ideal to reach any other parts - or just stay put and enjoy the beach behind your lanai. And being able to cook all our meals in the condo saved money and felt very homey. We also very much appreciated all of the tasteful artwork.
We hope to be back!
Bob, Susan, Sophie, Max and Stella
Visiting from Portland, OR

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatTwi
Marshfield, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Was only able to stay 4 nights. I know I will be back again for a longer stay.
Everything was perfect the condo was super clean. We had everything we needed
A wonderful basket was left for us included coffee, fruit, jucie, half/half, rolls and candy :)
Phil was so helpful with suggestions on hikes where to get food etc.
The best condo I have ever rented

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eree1009
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This condo is by far the best vacation rental I have experienced. Phil and Cris have everything and have thought of everything for their renters. The beach equipment (chairs, cooler, fins, boogey board, towels) were used everyday. It was nice to not have to think about bringing/buying/renting anything. They had sandwich bags, tupperware, and anything needed to make meals and even take them with you to the beach. The beds were all very comfortable and it was nice to listen to the waves crash as you are falling asleep. The tv and movies were great, but barely used as we were too pooped from our adventures during the day. Cris and Phil both were very attentive in answering all questions that I asked before and during our stay. They responded very quickly and with great help.

My mother and Aunt who came with me to Maui were also very impressed with this condo and we cannot wait to get back there soon. Nothing beats the beach right outside the door. It is in a wonderful location that make travelling anywhere else on the island simple and easy.

Thank you again Phil and Cris for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location! Beach right outside the door!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fike96
Bakersfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect as always”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Thank you Phil and Cris for another memorable stay in your condo. It was extra special this time, as we were able to bring our parents. They finally see why we keep coming back again and again. Your hospitality cannot be matched. We not only look forward to the stay in your amazing condo, but seeing you makes it more than a vacation. It's like coming home. Thank you for always leaving us treats in the fridge. Thank you for always knowing what we like. Thank you for opening your home to us. We always feel like more than just renters.

Mahalo,

Joe and Trisha
(California)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We like the comfort and homey feel of the condo and all the extras you wouldn't expect in a vacation rental.
Liked least: There is nothing we did not like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Aloha Trisha and Joe,

We always feel that people staying in our condo are more than just renters needing a place to stay, but our guests and deserve the best we can offer. Mahalo for continuing to come back year after year, and it was great having your parents join you this time. Glad you enjoyed the treats; you're very welcome. It's been a pleasure getting to know you over the years and we look forward to your next visit.

Aloha,
Phil and Cris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D
Brightwaters, New York
2 reviews
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I have been traveling to Maui for over 12 years and this has been by far the best place we’ve ever stayed. 
This condo is absolutely perfect, from the minute we walked in we couldn’t get over every detail Phil and Chris put into this place. They really care about maintaing their place and that makes all the difference.
The unit is spotless and very well cared for. It was more than comfortable for all of us. We walked in and there was a welcome package for us, we loved it.
Phi and Chris provided us with specific details on everything in the unit as well as maps prior to our arrival. They called to ensure we arrived safely and were a phone call away if we needed anything.
The kitchen is more than stocked with every needed utensil, machine, you name it. They also had the simple things that I often forget when cooking away from home, like spices to oils, etc).
The unit is beautifully furnished and you really feel at home. The bedding and towels were fresh and clean. There were beach towels for everyone, beach toys, boogie boards, you name it, it was there.
The beach and pool were footsteps away from the front door.
Phil and Chris, thanks again for accommodating us with such short notice.
Mahalo!  :) The Dounelis Clan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing