We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Ways to Experience Watu Safaris
from US$666,67
More Info
from US$423,08
More Info
from US$915,39
More Info
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day safari mikumi national park wildlife lodge baboons driver company lion tanzania mountains parks breakfast memories
Selected filters
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We had a wonderful time with watu safaris.

We were picked up at the airport and transferred to our accommodation.

Our guide Rajeb was fantastic -friendly,helpful and extremely knowledgable. We did 2 safaris each day with Rajeb in our own jeep - they surpassed my expectations every time. We saw a wide range of animals - the elephants were particularly impressive - we were so close it was amazing. The lions too were beautiful and it was so exciting to watch them. Rajeb spotted animals that we couldn't even see with binoculars - so impressive

Communication throughout the booking was excellent. - I can not recommend this company highly enough - fabulous

Date of experience: January 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank cwco67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I would like to thank our tour guide (Hamidi I think his name was) for the most amazing trip although we were incredibly unlucky in terms of the wildlife we saw however he made our trip with his knowledge and commitment to his job. The only downside to the trip was the accommodation (Ruaha cottages) which was $50 per night according to the sign upon entrance to the park however watu safaris charged us $100 a night and the accommodation was VERY POOR and the food/restaurant was disappointing in terms of quality, cleanliness and variety l would recommend different accommodation. Thank you to our tour guide

Date of experience: December 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jent109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majenda, Owner at Watu Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017


Thank you for the review
Your driver name was HAMAD :)

For the wildlife - Since wild animals move freely sometimes it happens that the routes you take may not be where the animals are at that time. I'm happy that you still enjoyed your safari in Ruaha.

The price for Ruaha Park cottages (same as Mikumi) are charged $50 per person per night on bed and breakfast and thats what you were charged. We have been in touch with Ruaha Park Cottages about improving their services especially meals and cleanness and they have promised to work on the issues.

Thanks again for the review, it is very helpful for us to improving our services and to learn about service providers we use.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Thanks for the fantastic safari! Our driver Hamad is good in English and knows everything about the animals. He listened to us and adapted the tour according to our wishes. He is an excellent driver and spotter. Highly recommended! We hope to see you guys again soon for our next trip to Tanzania

Ask about the trip to Udzungwa waterfalls when you book your safari with Watu.
This trip is a good combination to the Mikumi Park Safari.
It is well organised and the 70 km road from Mikumi is worth to see.

You will even learn the basics in Swahili if you are willing to talk with the locals. And ask your gamedriver about the local culture, you will get knowledge to share back home and your trip will be more than just the animals.

You will enjoy,

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank ASummerSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Thanks for two fantastic days of great safari and adventure. We visited both the Mikumi safari park and was able to get close looks at many wild animals, and our driver Hamad knows really everything about them. We slept out in the park, being neighbours with the animals. We had monkeys climbing the trees 2 meters from our cabin. 2nd day we travelled south to visit the Udzungwa national park. We did a 5 hrs walking tour visiting the Udzungwa Water Falls including shower and swim.
I can highly recommend Watu Safari!

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Mats L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

(Visit: August 2015)
It was a great experience, from the very beginning to the end. Majenda was always extremely kind and willing to help to find the best solution for us.
We were two couples looking for a 3 days safari and we were very lucky to find Watu. Before leaving we agreed all the details with Majenda who planned the trip and after the first night we were picked up from our hotel and everything started.

We spent three days with Hamad, our guide, who explained to us everything we saw in a very kind and competent way. It was a fantastic experience, we were lucky to spot many animals - lions! - and it's a trip we'll never forget. The accommodation was not too comfortable and there were bugs everywhere, but it's so cool being surrounded by nature that you only need to be willing to adapt for a couple of days and you'll just love it.

Special thanks to Hamad for all he did during our stay and for helping us catch our ferry to Zanzibar - and when we didn't make it in time, he went out of his way to secure us some seats on the next plane out. He was in no way obligated to help us after getting us back to Dar Es Salaam, but his kindness was extremely appreciated. After a long 8 hour drive from the camp to Dar, we really could not have asked him for anything more.

Another plus, compared to other safaris, the experience with Watu was far more affordable!

Date of experience: October 2015
1  Thank danyvita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews