We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
76
66
27
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
66
27
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rift valley squash court swimming pool stunning place great stop pizza food service pleasant stay accommodating staff beautiful garden view is amazing went the extra mile delicious food stayed here for two nights unique experience couple of days southern highlands
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

I stayed in Utengule Farm Lodge for 2 nights. The lodge itself is a beauty. The gardens are super well maintained, with many different plants and lots of birds. The rooms were very comfortable and the bathroom awesome with a great shower. What I enjoyed the most was the service and the kindness of its workers. There are different areas to be so people can find their own space. The tour to the coffee plantation taught me more about coffee than I had ever thought. The farm is an example of excellence, good work and tradition. I was very impressed with our guide's (Abdul) knowledge and versatility to inform and at the same time engage me as a fan of the farm, its processes and production. His good English and excellent manners made it very enjoyable. Everything there is so green and beautiful. I hiked to the Vodacom tower and stayed there contemplating the valleys below for a long time. What a view! The food was really good. I would come back for sure. I felt at home!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank viveentrelineas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, Manager at Utengule Coffee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review...it says everything that we feel about Utengule. We are very proud of our environment and our staff team who strive to make guests stays comfortable and memorable. We hope to see you back at Utengule.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is an amazing place with fantastic rooms and views. The staff are extremely helpful and pay close attention to detail.
The restaurant was good with an excellent selection of quality food. Getting to the place was a bit challenging since signage was a bit of an issue due to road construction, but other than that, this is an amazing place to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, Manager at Utengule Coffee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your great response. We understand about the signs - they used to exist, but we had to remove them due to road works. They will hopefully be up again soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to Utengule in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We stayed here for two nights en route to and from our Xmas holiday destination. We didn't see much and definitely would have liked to explore the hotel and surrounding area some more. But the food was only average, and I think a hotel like this should be aiming a bit higher than that. Also, having considered it for the main Xmas destination itself, we were alarmed to see flyers for a party with DJs etc over Xmas that seemed quite out of character for that kind of hotel. So we advise you to check any such plans if booking over a holiday period.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, Manager at Utengule Coffee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Utengule. Our flyers did not advertise a DJ as this would certainly have been out of character. We did however advertise music in our BBQ area. This was subtle and was enjoyed by all our guests. We hope that you stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We stayed at Utengule coffee Lodge for 4 nights in room with a superb view of the valley and the mountains. Food and coffee was excellent at all times. The Tour in the coffeefarm is fantastic too. Our Best recommendations.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne Vibeke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, Manager at Utengule Coffee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful response. We so enjoyed having you stay with us with your enthusiasm and appreciation for this environment. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

I stayed here in early February for a work trip. It is a beautiful property with very friendly staff. The food was excellent. They even through a BBQ buffet one night with a bonfire. It was wonderful. You will certainly have a relaxing staff and the pool is inviting. The rooms were good, however a small fan to circulate the air would have been a great improvement. In addition, there was only one outlet. The wifi in my room didn't work very well, but I was able to connect at the main lodge. If you are trying to get to downtown Mbeya, be prepared for a long bumpy ride.

Room Tip: I was in room 16 - at the far end and perhaps that's why the wifi was spotty
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, Manager at Utengule Coffee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for your great review and comments. We do have fans that we can offer to guests and we are soon putting extensions in room to make charging of phone etc easier. We are also very excited to announce that our entire internet/ wi-fi system is going to be overhauled in March. The roads department have resumed their work on the road from Mbalizi now that the rains have subsided - it is already greatly improved. We hope we shall see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews