We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Bakery Cottage

Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Old Bakery Cottage, Ashford-in-the-Water
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
6 Seater Dinning - Adjacent to the main lounge
Fully Equipped Country Kitchen
Utility Room, with Washer and Dryer and Fridge Freezer
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Luxury Bathroom, with large bath and rain shower
Master Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Second Double Bedroom
Light and bright upper landing
Sitting out area and summer room
Bifold doors out to the private courtyard garden
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Ashford in the Water Church
Ashford in the Water Bridge
Near by Bakewell
Near by Chatsworth House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
SimonTabs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a brilliant week in the Old Bakery. The cottage was lovely - very clean, we'll kept and had everything we needed.
The village was great,with an amazing pub well within stumbling distance which serves delicious food and equally good ales!
Also very well located and easy to get to Chatsworth, Bakewell and even a surprise trip to Alton Towers for the kids.
Communication with Liam (the owner) was great and would definitely recommend the cottage as a great Base for the peak district.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
We are so pleased you and the kids enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery and thank you for taking the time for the kind review. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon. Kind Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane A
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely cosy cottage in beautiful Derbyshire village”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had three great days in this lovely cottage in the heart of Ashford in the Water. Lovely modern facilities, bathroom especially elegant. Very efficient and easy to work central heating system and constant hot water. You can park right outside. Cottage set in one of the main streets in Ashford to within very easy walking distance of the village shop which is extremely well stocked and the Bull's Head pub, which does great food, We gorged on pies and delicious puddings. Chatsworth nearby and Bakewell. The Ashford residents are very welcoming. Surrounding countryside really stunning. Good for walking or , pottering, like us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully presented and comfortable cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Thank you for the kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the Old Bakery Cottage. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, and comfortable. Lovely modern bathroom and kitchen,comfortable bed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
It’s great to welcome someone that has been to the cottage before we bought and renovated it, and we are so glad that you like what we have done to the property. Thank you for the kind review and we hope to welcome you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pluckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Thank you for the kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery Cottage and our village, Ashford-in-the-Water. We look forward to being able to welcome you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wendy B
1 review
“Lovely property in a charming village”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Superb cottage in a lovely village. Well positioned for lots of places in Derbyshire. We were attending a wedding and so did not have the opportunity to see all that the area offered but would definitely go back to the area and the cottage.
We had a drink in The Bulls Head pub and would have eaten there had we had the opportunity as the menu was very interesting.
Well equipped cottage with charming enclosed rear garden/patio area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you for the kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, LF
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing