We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage, fantastically situated and well...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Dairy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DebandSte...
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic and clean”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Pros, near to Monsal Trail, great dog activities\ pubs nearby, no worries with stone floors and well used furniture for dogs, great shower, plenty of crockery and glassware, two bathrooms.
Cons, no WiFi, no washing machine, poor parking and drive way, poor signage, no contact all holiday from owners, double bed uncomfortable, hob not brill, noisy road outside.
We had a good basic holiday, but a little milk would have been welcome on arrival for a drink of tea!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: monsal trail behind cottage
Liked least: no WiFi and washing machine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex m
Page, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage, fantastically situated and well equipped- would highly recommend”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed with extended family for a short break. The friendly owner greeted us with a really warm welcome- the cottage lacked for nothing- the three large sofas made for very comfortable evenings around the cosy log burner. The bathrooms were modern and beds comfy.the location is beautiful- and the pond added extra interest. Bakewell is 5 mins away, chatsworth a stones throw and the monsall all trail at the top of the garden- so everything you need is on the doorstep. I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to explore this lovely part of the peaks(:

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Old Diary we are delighted that you experienced a warm welcome at the cottage and felt it was comfortable and cosy around the log burner in the evenings. It is great that you felt the cottage lacked for nothing, the bathrooms are modern to your liking and the beds are comfortable . We are delighted that we are getting it right for a lot of our guests and really appreciate you spending the time to post a review and that you would highly recommend this cottage and want to spread the word about what is on offer at Rowdale Farm Holidays Cottages and on the doorstep.

We appreciate the reviews we get, as it does help us to improve what we offer, however, we appear to be getting it right for many guests and it is great to get to hear when a cottage and our services have met expectations as well as when guests feel it has fallen short. So a big thank you for taking the time and we look forward to welcoming you to Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages and this lovely part of the peaks again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply perfect!!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were delighted to arrive and find our cottage was not only full of character but in a quiet and secluded countryside setting. The large pond in the grounds was a huge draw for the children who spent a great deal of time chasing the wildlife!!!!
The seating and dining area, with large leather sofas and cosy log burner were a delight after walking along the Monsal trail and exploring the surrounding areas. Easily accessible through a field to the rear of the property!
On the whole the cottage was very comfortable with lovely crisp white bed linen, plenty of crockery and was exceptionally clean.
A little more than 2 parking spaces would be an advantage but there was further parking provided very near by.
Looking forward to a return visit, perhaps with other family and friends for a lovely get together in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful setting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the cottage we are pleased that you were delighted with the cottage and found it full of character. We are pleased to hear that that you experienced a fun time around the pond with your children.

It seems that you made the most of your visit by exploring the area and accessing the Monsal Trail through the fields behind the cottage. We are happy that the large dining area, comfy leather sofas and cosy log burner were to your liking and you enjoyed the crisp white bed linen. it is nice to get feedback on the facilities and that the cottage was exceptionally clean and plenty of crockery was provided for your group.

Parking is limited close to the cottage, hence we allocate spaces to ensure everyone know where to park and as you comment, the additional private parking is in close proximity and still on the premises.

We appreciate all the comments our guests make as it does help us to improve what we offer, however, we appear to be getting it right for many guests and it is great to get to hear when a cottage and our services have met expectations and that guests are very satisfied. So thank you for taking the time and we look forward to welcoming you to Rowdale Farm Holiday Cottages for a lovely get together for you to introduce other family and friends to this lovely part of the country.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJNCL
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the ugly!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

1. Property nice enough
2. No mention made of really noisy road outside used by lorries from 5am all day
3. Make sure you get a receipt or risk being accused of not paying when you have - and then get no apology when found to have been telling the truth
4. Also saw their swans try to attack other visitors!
5. Reviews said nice welcome pack - not for us there wasn't, only 3 sheets of kitchen roll!!
6. The walk to the Monsal Trail is not for anyone without full mobility
7. Not the owners fault, but when there's no phone signal, surely wifi in this day and age isn't too much to hope for (especially at £100 day)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2014
We would like to thank our guest for taking the time to review The Old Dairy, we are grateful for any feedback, as it helps ensure the description of our property is appropriate, and we continue to improve the facilities in the cottages at Rowdale Farm.

1. We are pleased to know that there were no issues with the main facilities, comfort and cleanliness of the cottage.
2. On the Holiday Lettings site, and in more detail on our own website we show the exact location of the cottages, and suggest the cottages make 'an ideal base for an active holiday. The cottages provide easy access to the many historic towns, villages, houses and beautiful countryside, whether exploring on foot, bicycle or by car'. If someone makes an enquiry for a quiet back water, we explain that this cottage is not ideal. Having been established now for ten years, with an increasing number of returning guests, we feel this is not a problem for the majority. Last weekend for example, all our cottages were occupied by returning guests.
3. This reservation was extended from the original booking. When the guest called prior to their arrival for a further extension, it became apparent that the amended booking had been overlooked. Our receptionist only asked the guest for the date of their confirmation email so their booking could be checked, the guest had not sent or received an email regarding the extension so the receptionist advised that the owner would check the account and we would confirm the reservation. The matter was dealt with the next day.
4. Details of the wildlife pond are described on our own website, and on the Holiday Lettings site, 'Guests also have access to the large wildlife pond, home to Geese, Mallards, Coots, Moorhens, frogs, toads, newts, an abundance of fish and occasional heron!', there have never been any swans. Some visitors feed the ducks and geese and we hope that the wildfowl on and around the pond are more of a point of interest than negative point. All the wildfowl have nested on the island this year and gosling/ducklings are quite special in such close proximity to premises.
5. None of our literature mentions a 'welcome pack', and in our confirmation email we describe what our guests can expect to find, and also the items that they should bring with them.
6. The Monsal Trail is a fantastic amenity to have in such close proximity to the cottages, so we mention it on several occasions in the information provided on our website, and on The Holiday Lettings site. ' The gate to the Monsal Trial, a disused railway line, is accessed through the fields behind the cottages via a style or a gate off the main driveway.' We advise any less able guests wishing to access the trail, to take a two minute drive or short level walk to The Old Hassop Station where there is plenty of parking and level access onto the trail without crossing the field.
7. Earlier this year we introduced Wi-Fi internet access in this particular cottage. Whilst other guests have made use of this, it appears that these guests were not aware that it was there, we can only apologise and endeavour to make it's availability more clear for future guests. Our intention is to make it available in other cottages very soon, following this trial period.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveandHe...
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Peacefull and Relaxing”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A spacious cottage with rooms at opposite ends of the level access barn conversion. Two three seater and one two seater settees. Warm and comfortable and ideal for the dog with the quarry floor. Wood burner and central heated. Good location for walks into Bakewell either across the fields or via the Monsall Trail. Monsal Head and Ashford in the Water close by on good footpaths. Great and Lower Longstone equally close by. Own space for car and parking rather tight if you had a large vehicle. Practical well equipped not 5 star luxury homely practical feel to the cottage. Lovely and clean. Nearby road that did not offer any disturbance.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing