We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Townend Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Townend Holiday Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Townend Holiday Cottage
The very popular homemade Victoria Sandwich Cakes awaits
Pretty practical crockery, which is very accessible.
Salt, Pepper, dried herbs, vinegar and oil are provided, one less thing to bring.
Hall Landing
Bathroom, full size bath, electric shower, water heating controls
Complimentary toiletries for use during your stay
Bakewell
Village view
Village view
Our Local Pub 'The Cock and Pullet'
Townend Cottage
We have wonderful walks on the doorstep
Our Village Church
Magpie Mines, just a short walk away
Monsal Dale
Monsal Dale in the winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford-in-the-Water, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
sonandsal
Perth Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This tiny compact cottage was brilliant. Great for a couple ( I could have managed with one child). The interior was renovated to a high standard and there was nothing lacking. Comfy bed and pillows, everywhere clean as a whistle. The host Lyndsay was so lovely, a cake, fresh eggs and fresh milk all waiting for us on arrival was a welcome touch. The pub close by supplied lovely meals so we didn't cook any dinners, just some bacon breakfasts. Couldn't resist the local sausages and oat cakes. We will definitely return to this accommodation, Can not sing high enough praises.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTrave...
1 review
“Lovely clean cosy cottage”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Good location, quiet setting. Plenty of walks for all abilities
Easy reach of Chatsworth house approx, 20mins drive.
Worth visiting Haddon Hall and Bakewell.
The owners have thought of everything in the cottage even providing dressing gowns. Milk, eggs and a yummy cake were also awaiting us.
It was a really lovely break in beautiful surrounding.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelfan...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING PERFECT”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

So pleased I found this cottage and booked it. It was perfect in every way, including the situation and position in the village and the cottage itself was very cosy, comfortable, clean and furnished to a high standard with so much provided, including toiletries, dressing gowns, torch, homemade cake, eggs and milk.
We wouldn`t hesitate to recommend to others. Plenty of public footpaths just outside the door and close to Bakewell, Ashford In The Water and Chatsworth.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie M
Haverhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Townsend cottage June 2017”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The cottage it's self was very nice and was well equipped the owner was very helpful and welcoming leaving a cake and eggs and milk at the property for us
I think the location address needs to be changed on trip adviser as the cottage is in sheldon and not Ashton on the water this is a bit misleading

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing