We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in the heart of the Peak...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Edale, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adventure...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in the heart of the Peak District”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent 11 days in this beautiful cottage over the Christmas and New Year period. A very pretty, cosy and welcoming cottage in a beautiful location.

We were surprised and happy to find fresh coffee, tea, cake, milk, chocolates, a bottle of Prosecco and fresh flowers in the cottage when we arrived - a very welcome touch after a long journey from the UAE. Owners Keith and Jenny were happy to chat/offer advice if needed or blend into the background and they had decorated both inside and outside the cottage with a Christmas tree and fairy lights, very pretty. There was ample room for the 5 of us and 6 suitcases.

The surrounding area is gorgeous with plenty of places to walk if that's what you're looking for (2 pubs which serve hearty, gorgeous food and the village with small store and cafe just a 10 minute plod across the fields), and the Pennine Way starts in the village too. Or you can sit and do not very much with a tv and full Sky package in the property. The log store to the side of the property was always stocked ready to build a fire in the beautiful stone fireplace.

We really didn't want to leave and will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your superb review of Plover Cottage. We try to make our cottages feel like a home from home -never more important, we feel, than at Christmas -especially after a long journey. Sorry we couldn't order the snow to really make your festive trip perfect (we had it the week after you were here!). We have the first lambs in the valley now - a sure sign that Spring is around the corner. You are welcome to come back anytime -perhaps come and see the valley when the heather is out in late summer or in all it's summer glory when you might be tempted to venture a bit further! There's so much beautiful country around here- even teenagers can be lured away from the Sky Box!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryansauru...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage away from it all.”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A lovely cottage which feels like a million miles away from Manchester, but is actually just less than an hour. I stayed here with friends for a weekend away, to catch-up. We hadn't seen each-other for too long, so we made a weekend of it. This cottage was great for us, fortunately the weather was glorious and we spend much of out time out walking nearby and playing games in the field, in front of the cottage. There was ample parking for our three vehicles and we were welcomed by the owners with a lovely locally home-made cake.

If the weather wasn't great we would have been just as happy. The log fire didn't get used by us as the weather was so nice, but we as a group have discussed returning to the cottage in winter to spend a weekend in, watching film, playing games in front of that great fire.

I really can't fault the cottage. The owners were very helpful showing us where everything was and they couldn't do enough for us during our stay. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the clean and homely decor.
Liked least: Leaving to go back home.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Wow! What a fantastic review -so glad that you had such a wonderful time here at Ollerbrook cottages -we look forward to seeing you (and your friends) back here soon. Come for longer next time and explore the wide variety of scenery, activities and eateries which the area is rightly famous for -not to mention the excellent beers! We really do value your feedback -it's good to know we're getting things right. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelSuf...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent for family walking holiday”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed here at Easter for family holiday (Mum, Dad, 11 and 10 yr old boys and Gran). Very nice, comfortable, well-equipped cottage. Perfect for all ages. Great location as can walk into the hills from the door - and to the pub in Edale. Highly recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
Thank you very much for your positive comments on Plover Cottage in Edale. We're continually looking for ways to make our guests stays a real home from home experience and its great when several generations appreciate both the cottages and the lovely location here in the Edale Valley. We'd love to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O
Nottingham
2 reviews
“Ideal accommodation for visiting hope valley”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Fantastic luxury cottage which I booked for New Year. Ideally located for walking in Hope Valley and within a short walk of Edale village.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Hi Paul. Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is good to know that we got it right for our first Festive season and you enjoyed both cottages and their beautiful location in the Edale Valley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing