We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family house very good location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Belmont House

Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
Back garden Patio 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Front of House
Back garden
Patio 1
Grindslow Knoll in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Edale, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pandph307
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family house very good location”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The accommodation was of an excellent standard with all the equipment and utensils you could wish for. It is surrounded by lovely countryside with many walks available close to the house.

Our family had a very enjoyable long weekend and we would return. The bedroom in the eaves did lack some headroom and but for this our rating would have been five stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo A
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“perfect location for our wedding celebration.”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We considered many properties for our wedding party. We really did make the right choice, not just because of the beauty of the house and the stunning countryside, the convenience of the pub (Naggs Head) and superb walks on your doorstep,but also because of how lovely and relaxed Morgan is. His mum (in the house next door) was just lovely as well.
The house itself was immaculate on arrival. Everything you could possibly need. Spa style slippers for guests to wear as all carpets are cream. The stunning furniture tells its own story, even though the refurbishment of the house is modern and very crisp the general feel of the house is far from this.
The bedrooms on the first floor are all very spacious with beautiful bedding, Dorma sheets and Fenn Wright Manson duvets and pillows.
I could write so much about this house and the location but at the end of the day it's just fabulous and a very modest price .
I can't recommend it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house for a family celebration!!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Belmont House was the perfect place for our family celebration. The garden was brilliant for the kids and there was plenty of space in the house for everyone to relax.
The owner could not have been more helpful. The whole house has been completely refurbished within the last couple of years to an extremely high standard. The bed and bed linen were to a very high quality. There was unlimited quantities of hot water, even with 12 adults and 3 children, in the house.
The kitchen is marvellous, the professional size grill makes quick work of a cooked breakfast, etc. and there is even a large gas BBQ outside.
There are great walks from Edale. The start of the Pennine Way is less than 200 yards away. It was lovely to come back to a warm and comfortable house.
There are 2 pubs in the village, we tried The Old Nags Head Inn, which had good food and well kept beer.
Ocado even deliver, which make stocking up on food very easy.
I could write pages of complementary comments, but others have said it all - Belmont House is fantastic!!!!
We are looking forward to our next visit to Belmont House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality, location and size of the property.
Liked least: Having to leave it!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nandl41
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brillian house for a group get together”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We enjoyed a long weekend break at Belmont House. It was furnished well with very comfortable beds and quality bedding. Brilliant bathroom facilities and plenty of space for the 11 of us. It can accommodate up to 16 and there would still be loads of room. We were lucky enough to get reasonable weather and use the gas BBQ and outdoor furniture supplied. It is ideally situated for walking breaks, we were able to walk straight from the house and has great views. I would recommend this property, we has a great time. The enormous chocolate cake left for us on our arrival was an added bonus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of property and furnishings
Liked least: It had a large fridge but a second one for drinks would have been useful
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGinnis
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible accommodation for stay with friends”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Belmont house was perfect setting for our hen weekend celebration. The spacious well-equipped kitchen made meal preparation easy and we were able to hold a 'bake-off' competition using the two ovens. The dining room had space for all 15 of us to sit comfortably and we hired outside caterers for a really special evening. A real bonus that all rooms had a bathroom and the beds were very comfortable with nice squashy pillows. The garden was beautiful with plenty of space and well-maintained garden furniture.

There were board games and plenty of info provided about nearby attractions. Beautiful walks straight from the house around Edale and up Mam Tor. Asda delivered direct to the door which was a bonus and we had a great pub lunch at the. Ramblers pub just a 5 minute walk away. The station is also less than 10 minutes walk from the house and there was ample parking so very easy for friends to travel to us from all over the country.

The owner, Morgan, was so helpful before our stay and provided us with all the information we needed to plan the weekend. Fresh flowers, prosecco and a huge chocolate cake were waiting for us on arrival.

Thank you, we loved it and will be back I hope!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Generous provision of equipment, comfy beds, en suite rooms, gorgeous garden and tastefully decorated
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing