We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5* luxury in a beautiful setting”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cowshed at Back Tor Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cowshed at Back Tor Farm
Cosy wood burner in the Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
The Cowshed at Back Tor Farm
Cosy wood burner in the Lounge
King size bedroom
Family bathroom
Twin/Super king size bedroom
Ensuite shower room
Fully equipped kitchen/ dining room
Al fresco dining
Say hello to our Ryeland sheep
And the hens....
The Great Ridge from Mam Tor to Lose Hill. Just behind Back Tor Farm
The Rambler. One of two dog friendly pubs in Edale
Winnats pass. A 5 minute drive away
Dog friendly
There are plenty of lovely footpaths and bridleways right on our doorstep
Springtime in our lower field
Back Tor - a great place to practise your photography
The Cairn on Back Tor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Edale, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gh1232014
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5* luxury in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our first time in the Peak District. A long weekend away from Friday 13th October - Monday 16th October.
We have stayed in many cottages up and down the country over several years but The Cowshed is by far the best. Just when we think the last place we have stayed in couldn't be improved on we are surprised!
First of all Neil and Naomi are the most friendly down to earth owners you could have the pleasure to meet. The cottage is immaculate, very homely with 5* luxury rooms and touches. Fresh flowers picked from their garden were on the dining table plus
to have homemade jam and bread plus milk and butter and ground coffee and teabags waiting for you is wonderful.
The modern kitchen has everything you could want for your stay, the lounge furniture is the most comfortable we have ever had, we didn't use the log fire because we were blessed with barmy warm October weather, it looks stunning as a focal point of the room.
Upstairs is like walking into a 5* hotel rooms, both bedrooms have the most comfortable of beds with plenty of storage space. Both the main bathroom and en-suite were true sparkling luxury, even had bathrobes provided.
Outside was just as immaculate as inside. Picture postcard.
Back Tor Farm is ideally located for short walks, long hikes and great drives.
Everything you see has been done by Neil and Naomi and their passion for this place shines through every tiny detail.
I am quite confident is saying that after years of holidaying in cottages that they have perfected the perfect high end holiday cottage stay
We will be back very soon but this time for longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin G
1 review
“Perfect base for exploring!”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Myself, wife, 2 year old daughter and working cocker spaniel had a great 4 night stay!

Beautiful and immaculately clean cow shed conversion with a cosy living room and fully equipped kitchen.

With great walks and mtb rides from the door, you could easily get away without using your car once you arrived.

I'm not one for writing reviews but I can't emphasise how much we enjoyed our stay!

Thank you so much Neil and Naomi!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U9056KWka...
Stratford-upon-avon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

'The Cowshed' has been refurbished to a very high standard and provided us with a fully equipped 'home from home'. A real bonus was the 'drying room' at the back of the cottage where we were able to dry our wet boots and equipment overnight. Stepping into warm dry boots every morning - utter luxury!

The cottage is nestled in a lovely valley with many stunning walks on the doorstep and many more nearby. Naomi and Neil (the owners) were very welcoming but not intrusive and the fresh eggs from their chickens were scrumptious! We will return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect self-catering in a stunning location”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We don't normally leave reviews and neither do we return to the same holiday venue... except for Back Tor Farm.

Our second visit in two years - this is a beautiful and well appointed cottage with everything we could need. It's dog-friendly but very clean, comfortable and tastefully presented. Owners Neil and Naomi are extremely helpful and take an obvious pleasure in guests enjoying the cottages and all that the area has to offer.

Back Tor Farm is set in a stunning location: 360 degree views of the surrounding hills all of which can be accessed directly from the cottages without getting into the car. It's perfect for walking and cycling but also for relaxing and just enjoying the peace and tranquillity.

The problem we now have is comparing anywhere else to Back Tor Farm - the bar is set high!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Wow Jamie! Thank you for such a glowing review. It was lovely to see you all again. Come back soon!
Best wishes, Naomi and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
2 reviews
“5* luxury in perfect location”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Nook and The Cow Shed are more than a home away from home. It really is 5* luxury in an absolutely perfect location. Back Tor is literally in your back garden! With access to footpaths as soon as you leave the property and Edale a mile away. Neil and Naomi are perfect hosts. We have stayed there four times in a two year period and have booked for Xmas. It is truly stunning and despite staying in some of the worlds leading hotels I can honestly say this place tops the list - especially if you're into hill walking like me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing