We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Both fabulous food and staff”
Review of The Yorke Arms

The Yorke Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$96
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

I have to say that I have been to few places of this calibre where the warmth and humour of the staff quite equals the food. They simply were delightful and really enhanced the overall fantastic experience. It was also great to have a chat with the chef owner on arrival, who was equally warm and accommodating. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Churchy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2018

My Wife took me to this wonderful dreamworld again for my 65th birthday. The drive through the dales to a beautiful ivy covered house close to Gouthwaite is amazing. And from here it just gets better. We enjoyed a G&T in olkd English surroundings followed by a five course taster with at least 4 amuse bouche courses each one a delight to behold and to taste. The service is exceptional, the dining room relaxed and beautifully decorated and we relaxed with a coffee and petit fours afterwards in the lounge. Not cheap but very very good.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

This was the third leg of our re enactment of The Trip having already been to Lenclume and The Inn at Whitewell. The building is stunning to look at as you drive up. It was a bit chaotic as we entered., no one to great you so we had to wait at the bar. We were then ushered to a room where the lights were in the process of being fixed. We opted for a starter and a main as we had another meal out planned that evening. The soup starter was nice although not the flavour stated on the menu. The main however was one of the nicest dishes we have both ever had, the cod fell apart and was the star of the dish, perfectly cooked.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Cheffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Having driven passed numerous times our daughter treated us to the 5 course taster menu absolutely fantastic. Great attentive service, waiters describe the each course, fine food and good selection of reasonable priced wines. You start with canapes prior to commencement of the courses, totally worth the money for a special occasion.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank GMShillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

We have not been a patron of the Yorke Arms in the past, as its reputation was noted as being stuffy and the decor a touch out-dated. Therefore, my husband and I were elated when we heard that a local entrepreneur was going to breathe new life into the place. That said, we were equally reassured that Frances Atkins and team would remain in the kitchen, as her reputation proceeds her as a suburb master of her craft. Thankfully our visit lived up to expectation, the refurbishment is utterly breathtaking, the attention to detail is faultless and there are so many curiosities we almost needed to stay for longer. Dinner was super fresh, flavoursome and an absolute sight to behold - we tackled the 8 course tasting menu and it did not disappoint. The wine list was very good, although we did feel it could be pushed further to enhance choice. We did not stay over on this occasion, however we have already booked to come back later in the Autumn, to be frank, our hardest decision was to choose a room as they all looked so spectacular online. My husbands final reflection was that the service lacked personality, as with such a characterful environment and such note worthy food, the front of house team could do with some extra va va voom. All things considered, a five start night out!

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Compass291155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Yorke Arms also viewed

Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
Pateley Bridge, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Yorke Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing