We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
30
26
15
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
30
26
15
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ramp bream camp kitchen kangaroos ablutions toilets cabin caravan park grass fished albany heater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2020

Very friendly staff. The park is spread out with good sized allotments. The amenities are very well kept and very clean. Just a step or tow and you are on the river bank, sandy bottom for a swim. Lots of fish, bream caught on just about every cast, a shady spot to sit and read too.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank Pileggi, Owner at Kalgan River Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Cindy for your wonderful review. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2019

Thanks Tracey for your Very friendly welcome into your park. easy going lady.
Pretty suprised how we stumbled across this beautiful and peaceful site. If your looking to relax and camp up for the night with a gourges river to fish and have a pit fire with the locals then this is perfect.
Dog friendly, clean facilities!, Not far from beautiful beaches and local shops.
The spots near the river have no grass but there are definitely spots with grass to choose from.
The Only thing I could suggest is shade on camp spots, but hey, there r plenty of trees by the river to go sit under.
We will back next holiday!
Thanks Daniel and fellow locals for your hospitality.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hayleylr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgan R, Manager at Kalgan River Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2019

Hello hayleylr4,
Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely park.
The river sites are so popular it's hard to keep the water up to them! We will be sure to pass on your thanks to Dan and the others. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

Kalgans best kept secret. Maybe not anymore! Nice sites, river front and grass/pad sites. Very wet atm. Spotless amenities cleaned every day. Relaxed easy going welcome and told to just call if I need anything. Lots of space and very friendly management. Well priced and only 15 mins from town centre. Not a big 4, but unless you want your children occupied by play equipment this place is perfect. Ducks and roos visit daily. Will come back.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 809samj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgan R, Manager at Kalgan River Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2019 via mobile

Wow what a wonderful surprise. Currently staying here, 2 families with 4 kids - 10 to 14ys. For 7 days in july school holidays.
We are having wonderful weather 18 - 20 °
Kids have biked, fished, explored, swam, kayaking, sat around a camp fire toasted mashmellows, played golf. Had a good old fashioned holiday with freedom to roam.. Very relaxed spectular spot.
Cabins clean and comfortable, beds great.
Decore a little tied but who need prestiene when you travel with kids.
Cafe at entrance does amazing pizza.
We will definitely be back, Albanys best kept secret spot.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank VLR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgan R, Manager at Kalgan River Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review. The decor is a little tired at the moment. We have plans to upgrade the decor later this year. When you come back you may be pleasantly surprised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2019

Could be anything this park, but is really showing it's age. Looks like they don't like spending money here. Some centre grassed sites are okay, but the "river" sites are dirt , rocks and sand. Not sure who manages this place , but there's a "creepy" long haired, bearded person who walks around like he's doing some sort of inspection. Didn't feel comfortable at all. He must be a gardener or something . Camp kitchen is half concrete and half dirt and very dirty. didn't see it cleaned once. Everything is a mish mash and a lot of work needs to be done to bring it up to a decent standard. Plenty of other nice parks in the area, we shifted to another one which was fantastic.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank imaromin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgan R, Manager at Kalgan River Caravan Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2019

Hello Imaromin. Sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. The park is now under new management and work is in progress for the upgrades required. We have seeded a section of river sites and as soon as that is established we will seed the rest. The camp kitchen is earmarked to be concreted but to be fair, the side not concrete is in fact gravel not dirt and I apologise if it was dirty during your stay.
The man you describe must be our projects and groundsman, Graeme. He is in fact a lovely man and yes, he would have be inspecting work in progress, as is his job or if in the evening he does a walk through to ensure all is well and secure, often accompanied by his lovely wife, Sharon. Perhaps if you said hello you would have discovered how friendly he is.
Should you happen to travel through this way again do consider stopping in, even if just for a look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews