We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
156
26
13
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
26
13
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pollards inn touch farm game reserve no alcohol the main hotel lions view an awesome experience jungle gym big cats delicious snacks white lion halal food reception area piece of heaven honeymoon suite spot animals south africa
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

I have travelled with 2 small kids many times but this facility feels like a home not a commercial hotel chain, it’s not a typical chain hotel experience at all.

If you want posh and cautious this place won’t match; its relaxing and family friendly.
It’s peaceful balconies on the pollards inn suites serve well to showcase the bush from your room.

On arrival you are treated with snacks, and a warm bite is perfect after a long road trip.
I would recommend this to Muslim family travelers especially if food is your thing. They have a fully halaal buffet style dine experiences and offer Sunday lunch type foods everyday!

My family enjoyed the well informed game drives and seeing game in the wild was authentic and certainly most memorable!!! The game guide Imtiaz is well informed.

Some house keeping can be improved but nothing that’s not possible; in order to maintain a fresh updated feel. The rooms look a bit tired and can do with a refresh.

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here and it certainly left us with good memories.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank rahdiap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Rahdia

Many thanks for sharing your recent experience with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time, and will certainly take your suggestions into consideration.

Kind regards
The Kwantu Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

I visited Kwantu from 6-8 Jan 2018 with my wife and 2 kids. My expectations were not very high and was pleasantly surprised after my first day to name this among my top experiences while travelling.
We managed to see 4 of the big 5 upclose on all three of our game drives. Imtiaz the guide was very knowledgeable and offered helpful insight.
The Landcruiser was very comfortable.
The food was of a good quality. Always a big bonus to have halaal meals!
We stayed at the Pollards Inn (Main Hotel); the room is very spacious and met my requirements.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
There are a few aspects Kwantu can work on but this did not affect my experience in any way.
Wifi & cell Reception is not that great because of the location. I would however recommend wifi extenders to reach the rooms as you are only able to gain access in the main lobby.
The kiddies indoor play area is need need of TLC as well as the pool tables and table tennis equipment.

This was definitely a value for money experience!

Room Tip: Leave wallets at home. The packages includes everything :)
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aspire1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Front Office Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Aspire 1978

Many thanks for sharing your positive experience with us.

We are glad to have been able to contribute to a memorable family break, and look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Kind regards
The Kwantu Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

A lovely place for one to visit. Well tucked away in the southern African wilderness is where one can find this place that offers great accommodation and fantastic meals. Right outside of our window we could see white lions in rehabilitation. The game drives were fairly good but it all came down to luck.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank TahirS188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Front Office Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Mr Tahir

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
The Kwantu Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

We stayed at Lions View at Kwantu Game Reserve where staff was very sweet and very cooperative, Specially food for we Indians & vegetarians was very good. A Lovely place to visit where you come across all big 5 animals of South Africa in natural habitat.The rangers explain you very well about animals.

Room Tip: Have room on 1st floor as Mobile signals are present on 1st floor not on ground level and better view.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirmal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Nirmal 1951

We would like to thank you for advising us of your recent experience at Kwantu.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Kind regards
The Kwantu Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Just an hour from PE but a long drive from anywhere else in SA. A great resort to unwind and forget the world, Opulence and luxury come in good helpings. Food is outstanding and amazing, you will definitely gain weight here. The decor and furnishings are top class and you can see no expense was spared. Game drives were a mixed bag, we saw the same pride of lions on all drives and even saw a lioness kill a baby impala, but we didn't see elephant or buffalo. We did see Rhino, Giraffe, zebras and a variety of antelope. I hoped to have seen hyena, wild dog and leopard but these eluded us. Back at the resort, there are pools but not very clean. A jacuzzi would have went well to soothe the aches of the long drive. Kids play area is brilliant as is the games room. Meals are extravagant. The rooms in Pollards Inn are luxurious and enormous with the biggest bed I've seen. Cool drinks and fruit/snacks were supplied in the room at no charge.
The staff at Kwantu are amazing and always willing to assist.

Was disappointed that the touch farm was closed. Rehabiliation centre had more lions, tigers and a cheetah. Wi-fi quality was poor and limited to reception area but cellphone signal was just about ok. More variety on dstv channels needed. Reservations service can be improved but they made up for it with a free upgrade.

Room Tip: Pollards Inn is the best area. 1st floor room look out onto the reserve
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Khalid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushloverSouthAfrica, Manager at Kwantu Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Khalid

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Kind regards
The Kwantu Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews