We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Camilla R

Beautiful, friendly lodge and excellent game drives

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 May 2024
We had the most wonderful 3 night stay at Founders Lodge. Glynnis and Craig (and their entire team) were amazing hosts - so friendly and welcoming, and real perfectionists! The fabulous meals were all served at different spots around the Lodge, so we had a range of views and rooms to enjoy throughout our stay. The food throughout was delicious. The Lodge is set overlooking an amazing landscape, and there were always views of rhino, warthogs, giraffe etc etc to enjoy from there. The new hideaway, which overlooks the waterhole, allows remarkably close-up viewing of the animals as they drink and bathe.
The two game drives per day across Shamwari were brilliant, and we enjoyed the company of our great guide, Martus. We saw pretty much everything (apart from the elusive leopards), and always from a fantastic viewpoint with very few (if any) other vehicles nearby. The highlight was seeing a recent kill of a baby giraffe by lions one afternoon, and the next morning seeing the same lions (with cubs) fully tucking into the remains of the carcass. Not pretty, but fascinating! The abundance of elephants and rhinos was a joy to see, and we probably had better viewings of them on this safari than we've ever had on others we've been on. I'd really recommend visiting the Born Free Sanctuary while you're there, too.
The whole vibe of Founders Lodge, and its staff, is so relaxed and charming (but run like clockwork by Glynnis and Craig!). We really hope we're able to go back there again some time.
Thanks so much to everyone for looking after us so well (and for making the dinner with the special guest happen!!).
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glynnis Turner, Owner at Mantis Founders Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 25 May 2024
You are most welcome, Camilla - we are so glad that you & Michael had a wonderful stay with us here at Founders Lodge! Hope to welcome you back in the future xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Take in the sites and sounds of the African bush on our lookout deck.
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
5.1 km from Mantis Founders Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
73.6 km from Mantis Founders Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Mantis
    R 11 050
  • Expedia.com
    R 11 213
0.0 km from Mantis Founders Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Authentic tented experience.
R 8 434
R 7 483
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 483
2.9 km from Mantis Founders Lodge
Free parking
R 1 679
R 1 359
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 359
18.5 km from Mantis Founders Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 26 287
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    R 26 287
  • Hotels.com
  • StayForLong
8.4 km from Mantis Founders Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 24 251
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 24 251
  • Official Site
8.5 km from Mantis Founders Lodge
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 985
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 10 858
  • Hotels.com
9.4 km from Mantis Founders Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Sidbury
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
160
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
160
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shamwari game reserve different locations game drives you won t be disappointed magical experience welcome drink safari experience dietary restrictions stunning place incredible knowledge care and attention dining experience whole team great sightings three days treated like royalty kruger park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2024

Wow, wow , wow. This place is outstanding and worthy of six stars! We have just spent seven nights here and have to say absolutely everything and everybody is perfect! The food is out of this world and the chefs are deserving of Michelin Stars! Our room (the master suite) is stunning with all necessary requirements! White fluffy gowns, we needed them as our luggage did not arrive for four days , so we literally arrived in the clothes that we stood up in! Luckily Glynnis and Craig the managers were extremely kind and arranged for us to pop our gowns on whilst they arranged for our clothes to be freshly laundered each day! Glynnis and Craig are amazing managers and because our luggage containing urgent medication hadn't arrived they did everything they could to help us trace it and Glynnis even rang a local surgery/pharmacy for us to try and get an emergency supply of medicines. I hasten to add that we had taken sufficient medication for the flights and first day but due to cancelled flights and missed connections it wasn't enough! Just nothing was too much trouble for either of them! When our luggage finally arrived and the airline refused to courier it out to us Craig arranged for his private driver to go to Port Elizabeth to collect it. We are forever grateful!
The game drives are absolutely outstanding and our guide Martis was superb getting us to the best viewing points to see so many wild animals, it was the most incredible, emotional and spiritual experience for both of us! And worth every penny! Thank you all so much, Kim and Pete xx

Room tip: Just do it. Amazing!
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glynnis Turner, Owner at Mantis Founders Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2024

It was our pleasure hosting you both for 7 nights and we hope that next year's trip becomes a reality! Sending our very best regards to both of you, Kim & Pete, till next year.............. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2024 via mobile

Welcoming and friendly team, fantastic room with amazing views, delicious food with different table spot each day! Great drinks from Mandla & team, breathtaking game drives with Sikhumbuzo. Best 5 star experience! Overwhelming great!

Room tip: Go on each and every game drive, you never know what you’ll see!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Go42354860763
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glynnis Turner, Owner at Mantis Founders Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Thank you so much for this lovely review - we so appreciate it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2024

Exception experience fluffy pillows friendly staff great atmosphere excelent food fantastic views. The staff is so friendly they make you feel so at home and that you are part of the family. Clean is a understatement this was so clean no bug would survive

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meander52424203270
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glynnis Turner, Owner at Mantis Founders Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

So glad you enjoyed your "home away from home" experience with us at Founders Lodge! We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2024

We had a great time with my friends the view of the place is fantastic the food and the services offered is wonderful for me I would advise that when looking for a place where you can get fresh air dnt hesitate and you can also take ur family to the place the also cater for a family and the do have services to accommodate your family.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Travel56268317586
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glynnis Turner, Owner at Mantis Founders Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

Thank you for this lovely review - can you please advise when you stayed at Founders Lodge?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2024

Super excellent and quick service, friendly professionals,well presented and good timing 👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌 delicious super flavourful and tasty food....it was wonderful keep it up................................

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sunshine38345033066
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glynnis Turner, Owner at Mantis Founders Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2024

Thank you for your review - can you please advise when you stayed at Founders Lodge?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews