We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Joseph M.
Karen, Kenya

Complete Disappointment

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Jul 2023
This was a business trip with a large group. The experience was very disappointing. All the meals were always late and a complete disappointment in quality and lack of variety. The rooms had all sorts of issues - blocked drainages, dirty linen, non functional keys. There was no way to contact the hotel as there were no phones in the rooms. Staff were unprofessional and untrained and most looked like temporary draft ins for the day.
Date of stay: June 2023
Room Tip: The facility is run down, manage your expectations or not recommended at all.
Trip type: Travelled on business
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beekman Group, Marketing at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort, responded to this review
Responded 07 Jul 2023
Dear Z2150HCjosephm. We are so sorry to know you had a business trip that was not catered for accordingly. However, we have received many reviews from the same group and would like to kindly note that we are not the resort that hosted you, and while we regret to hear that your experience was unfavourable we would like to kindly clarify that we are within the same estate but not the same place. If you have any further queries or complaints you are welcome to email us on assist@theholidayclub.co.za to verify and clarify all the details. Thank you and have a lovely day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Oryx
    24.8 km from Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    Private House Lounge
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    10.4 km from Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
    Pool
    Room service
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    32.7 km from Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    32.9 km from Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
      34.3 km from Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Die Boskamp
      • Agoda.com
      86.5 km from Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Hotels.com
      • Agoda.com
      • ZenHotels.com
      Free parking
      Restaurant
      jardin côté accueil
        35.3 km from Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
        Pool
        • Agoda.com
        33.8 km from Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
        Contact accommodation for availability.
        55.5 km from Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort
        Free parking
        Pool
        View more hotels in Mookgophong
        Reviews (15)
        Filter reviews
        15 results
        Traveller rating
        4
        3
        0
        2
        6
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        Traveller rating
        4
        3
        0
        2
        6
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        1 - 6 of 15 reviews
        Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

        My family and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves staying at the cozy and relaxing lodge this weekend. We want to say thanks to our very helpful and fun game ranger Aubrey who took us on a game drive through the reserve. Definitely recommend visiting the place

        Date of stay: August 2021
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        Thank ZakOsman
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 31 May 2021

        Beautiful, secure and up market chalets with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a very peaceful and enjoyable break. Ideal for gholf or safari lovers.

        For a self catering experience... Just be sure to take all your own groceries. The nearby off site convenience store has very limited supplies.

        All in all.... Highly recommended as it is also not too far from Jhb/Pretoria.

        Stunning brand new play area for kiddies, neat games room, putt putt course and well maintained pool area.

        Date of stay: May 2021
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        Thank finettebritz
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 16 September 2019

        SCAM ALERT: They do not disclose this info on there 3rd party booking agents. And they do not offer any refund. So do not book here.

        I booked at Hotels.com and only after making the booking i was made aware of this info below. There is no land line were you can reach them to cancel the stay.

        Monomotapa Village regrets to inform its guests that all activities and services at Legend Golf & Safari Resort have ceased until further notice. Consequently our guests will not have access to them. We apologise in advance for this unforeseen event that is totally beyond our control.

        Within our own resort complex guests still have access to the following onsite facilities:

        Swimming Pool
        Adventure Golf
        Playground
        Games Room

        Concerned guests who have booked at our resort are advised to contact the booking agent or points company with whom they made their booking for further advise as to what their options are.

        Date of stay: September 2019
          • Location
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        1  Thank christiangF6829TK
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        BeekmanGroup, Manager at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2019

        Dear Christian,

        We acknowledge your review.

        Whilst we empathise that the sudden non availability of facilities provided by the Legend Golf & Safari Resort would have been disappointing,we wish to place on record that Monomotapa Village is a totally independent resort operation to Legend Golf & Safari Resort and we had no prior knowledge of nor could influence the outcome of decisions taken by that resort as part of their management process.

        Consequently, we refute any allegations on any "scam" to deceive our valued guests. In fact we undertook to personally contact as many of our guests as possible advising them of the changed circumstances and our booking partners were notified as any cancellations or refund applications are processed through the booking agent involved.

        Regards
        Monomotapa Village

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 23 August 2019

        I was informed before my trip about the limited activities in the resort so I adjusted my expectations accordingly. However the reception we got was very warm, the manager was very helpful, friendly and professional. He made sure that our stay and departure were seamless. His service was impeccable - I have never experienced such kind of service from a holiday club manager - I have been a member since 2002. The staff was very pleasant too. The units are beautiful and spacious - very modern too.

        Date of stay: August 2019
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        Thank KgomotsoModise
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        BeekmanGroup, Manager at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2019

        Dear Kgomotso,

        Thank you very much for your review.

        It was our pleasure in ensuring that your stay with us was as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and we greatly appreciate your kind words.

        Regards
        Monomotapa Village

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 4 August 2019 via mobile

        We had such high expectations!! We were expecting a five star golf course & Spa & resort. Golf course fairways not maintained & destroyed by Warthogs; Legends Resort IS a Ghost Town!! NOTHING OPEN! ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!! NO SPA, NO CLUBHOUSE, NO HALFWAY HOUSE, NO SHUTTLE, NO SHOP/KIOSK, NO RESTAURANT!!! Legends was LIQUIDATED in May. Our chalet was booked at Monomotapa and the chalet itself is beautiful, BUT, you CANNOT open a window or patio door. The MONKEYS are a HUGE problem!! HUGE to the point of UNBEARABLE!! Maybe the fact that ALL the Legend chalets are empty, so the monkeys only have the 10/12 Monomotapa chalets to concentrate on for whatever they can get their hand on or into!! Our cleaning lady didn’t clip our chalet door shut properly so we arrived back to an ABSOLUTELY TRASHED by the whole TROOP OF MONKEYS!! We reported this to reception who immediately brought cleaners in to clean and clear up the destruction, including vast amounts of pee and poop. We went to our Game drive with Honeyguide about 7km away, which was enjoyable and we had dinner there after our drive. We got back to our chalet which had been cleaned well, but we had had enough and left first thing this morning instead of tomorrow. This resort is limping along in my opinion, so as long as you are prepared and organized and you don’t have high expectations like we did, you can still have a relaxing time away.

        Date of stay: August 2019
        Trip type: Travelled with family
        1  Thank Carena C
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        BeekmanGroup, Manager at Monomotapa Village @ Legend Golf & Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2019

        Dear Carena,

        Thank you for your review.

        Our sincere apologies once again for the inconvenience of the nearby Legend Golf and Safari Resort being closed during your stay at our resort. Whilst this was beyond our control, our resort is totally independently managed and operated, we acknowledge that as none of their advertised guest activities were available, it would have been disappointing.

        Regards
        Monomotapa Village



        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        View more reviews