We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good different food with a price tag”

Ristorante Red Fish
Reserve with
Ristorante Red Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 412 Restaurants in Lido di Ostia
Price range: US$28 - US$68
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We decided to go to this restaurant, because reviews were good, and other restaurants were already fully booked (Saturday lunch on a sunny day).

first impression was a bit mixed, the restaurant is located above a parking, and it seemed to be the only shop/restaurant open. There is no view, except onto the street. The restaurant aims at the top end of restaurants, when you enter you see the books of gambero rosso on the entrance table (in which the restaurant for sure is mentioned :-) ).

If you want to eat a lot, do not go here, this is more a restaurant for people who want to be surprised with respect to the dishes they order. I was pleasantly surprised by the aperative and the little spritz (alcoholic) that we were offered by the house. Our primi were tasty, but the portions were not big. As a main course I had Rombo (turbot) which was fine, although I would expect a better piece of Rombo, not three small pieces (I estimate them being not more than 150 grams in total) which were a bit overcooked, for this the price was also a bit on the high side (€21).

Desserts were interesting, the sfera di tiramisu is nice, but do not expect the same eggy/coffee stuff you get when you order a tiramisu in another restaurant

Service was very pleasant, and available.

in all, the restaurant has a nice atmosphere, you can be pleasantly surprised by the dishes on offer, although the prices are on the high side. We might go back, just to try the other dishes, if we feel adventurous.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fish_Diver_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2017

We saw the good reviews here and made a booking. Be careful. If you have spent the day travelling and seek a substantial meal this is not the place for you. The portions are what we called 20 years ago 'nouvelle cuisine'. Very nicely presented as you can see from this sites photos - laboriously placed on serving plate, but bring your reading glasses.
We were very disappointed with the service - the first course arrived before the bottle of wine, despite asking for it twice. Uncooked limited (3) shrimp accompanying the pasta, had to be returned to the kitchen. We asked for a basket of bread during the second course which helped .....but a good place for a light dinner.
.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Barrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We spent NYE at Red Fish and it was absolutely great. The menu was a fest of beautiful and delicious dishes, accompanied by a festive and elegant atmosphere and nice background music. The owner helped us select great wines to combine with our dinner and made us feel completely taken care of the whole night. At midnight there was a communal toast accompanied by Italian typical treats and nye Italian lentils served at the main counter area. We could hear fireworks going on all over Ostia and some guests danced in the lobby until late. It was truly a wonderful nye experience.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank leffertslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We found the red fish on trip advisor and thought it sounded good, however what we found exceeded our expectations. The menu was brand new with no English translations, our waitress apologised for this but spoke excellent English and was able to describe everything. My son and I picked the set menu which I have attached pictures of. My wife is gluten free and they went out of their way to ensure she had a great meal also. All the staff who served us were very polite and even the manager came over at the end and introduced himself, treating us to lemon cello. Overall a great place to eat if you are visiting Ostia.If we return to Ostia we will definitely visit the red fish again

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank Geof D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

We went to this restaurant after reading the good reviews from TA. No English menu and we eventually chose the set menu of 46 euro per person. The dishes were nicely presented with good taste, especially the fish main course. But the service was a bit cold though polite and we were recommended a bottle of not so good wine.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank ShyAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Red Fish also viewed

Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
 
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
Fiumicino, Province of Rome
 
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
 

Been to Ristorante Red Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing