We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip to border of three countries”

Kilpissafarit - Day Tours
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Last week we went on a trip with Kilpissafarit to the border of three countries. Reservation was made online and communication was flawless. We were two families (4 adults and 5 children) and although there was a tour earlier that day, they gave us an other hour so we would be on our own and not part of a larger group. We were well equipped, given good information & safety instructions. We enjoyed every minute of it! Beautiful landscapes, really nice guide who told us a lot of interesting things and took his time, great berry juice & cakes...Would absolutely recommend it!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank YasmineN116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cold weather gear"
in 3 reviews
"reindeer farm"
in 3 reviews
"northern lights"
in 5 reviews
"plans"
in 2 reviews
"outing"
in 2 reviews
"tromso"
in 2 reviews
"company"
in 4 reviews
"clients"
in 2 reviews
"snowmobile"
in 7 reviews
"border"
in 7 reviews
"culture"
in 2 reviews
"snacks"
in 2 reviews
"lake"
in 4 reviews
"lapland"
in 3 reviews
"saana"
in 3 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

We did a snow mobile ride over the lake, to the border of Finland, Norway and Sweden and back. It was the two of us and a guide, and we totally enjoyed it. The guide was very good and friendly.
Everything was organised well and the price was clear from the start. But after all, 358 euros for two snow mobiles, less than three hours may be a bit much.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We went out for the border of three countries snowmobiling tour when it was about -24 Celsius. The staff ensured everyone had the proper gear and provided an enclosed sleigh for younger children. Safety is their number one priority.

The outing was fantastic despite the frigid temperatures. The color of the little daylight we had reflecting off the ice and snow was amazing! We stopped along the way to enjoy the scenery as well as to move around a bit to warm up. When we reached our destination at the three borders marker, the guides provided everyone with hot coffee or tea and a small piece of cake.

I highly recommend Kilpissafarit day tours. Be sure to book in advance during the busy seasons. Communication at booking and throughout the adventure is excellent.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank JeffreyK102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We spent 3 days with pre-booked tours from Kilpssafarit. Jussi took us out to kit us up for the -34C arctic conditions and we were absolutely impressed by the professionalism, quality of the kit (all seemed new and fitted really well even though I am short, S-M and my partner is an XXL). We also enjoyed talking to Jussi and hearing about his life and family and business. Unfortunately the low temperature ruled out our two snowmobile trips (dangerous risk of frost bite) but Jussi took us in his land cruiser high above the lake to watch northern lights. Actually the lights were so clear in the town and from our cabin this was just an added bonus. He even knew how to use my new Panasonic camera better then me! Wew had another trip with Kilpissafarit to visit a reindeer farmer while he was feeding - again we had to do this by car (-34C) and Hanu, Jussi's dad, took us. He was also really charming, interesting and very helpful. He originally started the business and Jussi has joined him.

I really recommend booking with them and also asking their advise. I plan to return some day (hopefully in -20 rather than -30C)!!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank tanzeyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We have just returned from a few days in Kilpisjarvi and used Kilpissafarit throughout our stay. They are very professional with a seasoned, experienced team helping sort and run the myriad of activities that take place in the busy winter season. I cannot fault them- they picked us up when they say they would, are flexible on trips as weather and clients clearly differ. They are strong on safety/ kitting out properly but then give their clients a great wilderness experience. We used the company for snowmobiling ( some challenging terrain!), ice fishing at Saana fell lake, snowshoeing, Kicksledding and chasing the Northern Lights. The instructors were entertaining and knowledgeable (even with curved ball questions!), pointing out local wildlife (red foxes and white grouse) as well as a Lynx trail- sadly no Wolverines- too wary of humans. Even with inevitable bad weather we were kept amused and entertained by the team in a hut on a hill in a 'light blizzard' whilst the weather cleared. In the end, it didn't clear but we still enjoyed the multinational 'camaraderie' of meeting others on tour. Bottom line is the team want you to really enjoy the experience and they go the extra mile to provide it. They are relaxed and engaging with the myriad of visitors and cultures that visit the area. Special mention to Jussi, the 'lead' for the company. He was quite ill with a virus yet still made the effort to take us out for full day experiences- even when we had to go back for more fuel to finish off all he wanted to show us! More so, because he wanted to take us out by car a considerable distance across borders on our last night because it had been cloudy pretty much throughout our stay- and the weather was too bad locallt- and he didn't want us shortchanged on our stay. Probably no great surprise that Jussi features in the 'Visit Finland' promotional films made for the region- check them out- he's a great ambassador! If there is one complaint about the company - they are truly terrible at making tea on tours! I reckon 20 of their normal teabags might give it some taste!!!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Razorjaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kilpissafarit - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kilpissafarit - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing