We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable, pet-friendly little cabin on the shore.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Fenelon Falls, Kawartha Lakes, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Travel803...
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Very nice, but could be improved”
Reviewed 11 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

This cottage is located in a very nice area. Shopping is only 12 minutes away by car and the river is accessible in the yard. You can go canoeing for a very long time because the river is so long. Because there are so many trees, however, you will have to drive out to the beach near "town" in order to see the sunset properly. There are many frogs in the area of the cottage and we had a lot of fun finding them and hearing them jump away whenever we walked close by.

Upon arrival, we took a quick look around. The dishes and cutlery in the cupboards were not cleaned properly and there are clumps of pet hair all over the chairs and couch. These are simple cleaning tasks that can be done to drastically improve one's stay here. It would also be nice to have a curtain on the front door, as the window on it is practically the entire door and it feels a bit creepy to see that at night.

Plenty of firewood was claimed to be lying around, but we had a lot of trouble finding any on the lot. The exact location of it was not disclosed and we also weren't sure what we were allowed to use.

I was pleasantly surprised that I received a courtesy email from the owner that outlined fun activities in the area. This helped make our stay more fun, as we had gone in blind, not knowing what we were going to see or do there. We definitely had fun going to the farmers market and doing a little shopping in "town" though! We also went hiking, which was gorgeous! Nice place for photography as well, if you're into that.

Should the above-mentioned concerns have been addressed, this would definitely have been a 5-star place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2018
Thank you for your feedback. The reported cleaning issues unacceptable and it was brought to attention of the professional cleaning service I am using to clean the cottage prior to guest arrival. Hope it will not happen again. Regarding firewood - it is plenty of dry logs on the property, should my guests called or texted me I would be more than happy to explain.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Enjoyable, pet-friendly little cabin on the shore.”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Loved the fire pit and fireflies.
Enjoyed the peacefulness & listening to the birds sing.
Had no worries with our little dog, who also enjoyed her stay.
All in all we had a nice quiet stay :)

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga D
1 review
“Good value for a cottage vacation.”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Well supplied, warm and cozy cottage in a lovely riverside setting. Minutes from nearby towns, a great point from which to explore the Kawartha Lakes area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomer N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had an amazing experience at the cottage! The place is beautiful and the owner is a honest and reliable person!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louise567...
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet, beautiful, restful”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This lovely cottage was perfect for me. I needed quiet, alone time, and got it in spades. The kitchen was well equipped, bed was comfortable, deck an excellent reading hangout, and while on Sunset Lane I heard not a single car, truck, motorcycle, or any other noisy vehicle, although there were a few boats that leisurely passed by on the river. And only minutes away was Fenelon Falls, where there's a great cafe with wifi, for those of us who need to do that, but I was grateful the cottage didn't have it. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing