We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very well appointed”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
River View Bedroom 1- Twin
River View Bedroom 2- Double
River View Bedroom 2- Double
River View Bathroom
River View Kitchen
Play Area
Coastal Footpath
Outdoor Seating Area
The River Crouch
The Drive
Hot tub
Hot tub and steam room in the spa
Gym and Spa
Gym
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Burnham-on-Crouch, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
susan-lon...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“very well appointed”
Reviewed 29 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

my daughter got married over the band holiday weekend and her extended family stayed in all of the barns. all of the accommodation was newly refurbished and spotless. we would definitely come back either as a group or just my husband and i.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: all of the family could stay together without being on top of each other
Liked least: the weather!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2012
It was an absolute pleasure to host your extended family for your daughter's wedding, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again in the near future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K8lee
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Couldn't fault a thing!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

From the minute I enquired about River View, Emily was the perfect host. She bent over backwards to answer my questions, book our bike hire and to make sure everything was perfect for when we arrived.

The barn conversion is stunning. The separate units are very well thought out and tastefully decorated with a perfect mix of shabby chic and modern luxuries. There will be a suitable set up for everyone. I am hoping to rent out the full barn next year for a large group of us as it is an ideal mix of practical accommodation for families, couples and friends. Emily gave me a tour of the other rooms. I couldn't decide on my favourite, they were all beautiful.

We only stayed 3 nights (I wish I was still there!) but it was long enough to explore the local area on foot and by bike. We ate in the Oyster Smack Inn, in Burnham on Crouch, great food and excellent service. The other nights we stayed in and cooked for ourselves using fresh fish and goods from a local farm shop.

The area and accommodation were fantastic, but Emily and Harry made us so welcome that it topped it off perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble and the general level of customer service was of a 5* hotel. Having read the previous negative review, I can honestly say that none of the gripes were justified at all. I would 100% recommend it and am hoping to take my friends back next year to show off our fantastic find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't decide between the cottage or the customer service!
Liked least: Going home :o(
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about us and the barns! We have worked really hard to make them special, and it is so rewarding when people like yourselves appreciate and enjoy them! We really do hope you will come back to stay with us in the future- you are very welcome any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy R
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic rural child-friendly getaway within easy reach of London”
Reviewed 27 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this cottage for a weekend in April, along with his 4 year old little boy, and we all had a fantastic stay. Coming from London, we wanted a rural getaway that wan't going to take an age to get to and loved the fact that Burnham-on-Crouch is just an hour away from Liverpool St station.

When we arrived on Friday night we recieved a really warm welcome from the owners - Emily and Harry. We were really impressed with the cottage - a really tastefully decorated barn conversion that was bright and airy with a mix of modern comforts and tradtional features/antiques. They seemed to have thought of everything and there was even a hairdryer (which was good as I'd forgotten mine!).

We then had a really relaxing time pottering about on the farm, going for walks and exploring Burnham-on-Crouch. There is a great play area for kids and even an outdoor ping-pong table for the bigger kids (and competitive adults). We were blessed with quite good weather and there's loads of space to sit outside so we enjoyed sitting watching the world (and chickens and ducks) go by, as well as swinging in one of their hammocks. Harry let us go with him to feed the pigs and Wilf loved meeting the piglets. We also had a lovely walk across the rape field to the marina and then on to Burnham where we found some great pubs and shops by the water.

I'm a bit of a cycling geek and brought my road bike with me to do some training. Emily was great at suggesting some routes and I had two great rides - bliss to cycle somewhere where it is so flat, although the wind does get up a bit when you follow the coast line!

All in all a really fantastic stay and the hosts couldn't have been nicer. I won't go on, but a definite two thumbs up from us. If you want to go to a welcoming, child-friendly rural retreat near the water that's only an hour away from London then we would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly hosts
Liked least: The bright sunshine streaming through the curtains in the morning (we were being thick and hadn't noticed the additional blinds!)
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was lovely to meet you and your family, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us on the farm. Please do come and visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria S
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over prices for what was on offer, no privacy, second rate furniture.”
Reviewed 19 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Creeksea Place Barns for one week. Having travelled a considerable distance to get there we were thoroughly disappointed at the unmade track covered in potholes which lead to the barns. We live on a farm and our roads, even in the winter have never been this bad. On viewing the size of the property we were baffled as it did not match the images which we saw on both their website and trip advisor. It became apparent that the images supplied were a mixture of the other barns and not solely the one in which we would be staying.
On further inspection we found the double room to consist of only a bed and a chest of draws which were in poor shape. The boards in side had bowed and they dropped out. The knobs on the draws were not even attached and fell off. The size of the room makes it at times hard to even navigate as the space between the bed and the aforementioned chest of draws was only 4 inch gap. The gap between the bed and wall on both sides was less than a foot. When we tried to use under the bed as a way to store our items, we then found a double mattress underneath this made it impossible to store under the bed.
In the twin bedroom the chest of draws, though larger were still in poor condition. Out of the two sets of lights one of the light switches was broken in the room.
Between the two bedrooms is a hallway with the bathroom on one side and directly opposite is a set of French doors that open onto the road and a row of cottages. A curtain was affixed to one side but it was roughly a foot to short and you would have to move it from one side to the other so that people could not see into the bedrooms and the bathroom.
The bathroom itself had a door which swung out into the hall, this made it easily viewable through the French doors. There was no lock or latch on the door to provide some privacy. The lighting inside the bathroom was inadequate. There is a shower but it is inside the bath which has no rough strips to stop slipping, nor a hand rail to ease the ascent and descent of this tall bath.
The property lists itself as wheelchair accessible but this is not true. There are two steps up to the building in both doorways. The hall way is fairly narrow with a rapid decent and a sharp corner at the end which would make it very hard to turn. The bedrooms are narrow and carpeted which makes it yet again harder to use a wheelchair. The bathroom has no handrails which would allow access to the bath or even the toilet.
The next issue in privacy is in the main living/dining/kitchen room. They have beautiful, large class windows which let in a lot of light. However the blinds that are available are made of a mesh which neither stops light nor conceals the occupants. There is a large window near the sofa which has no blind or curtain at all, this looked out onto the play ground, seating area and the main walkway. The main door and window which are directly in front of the living area faces out to a field, a split rail fence is a short distance from the front porch of the rental and in-between that and the field is a main public walkway. People walk during the day and night in groups, with animals and some on bikes. Most are curious about the place and look into the yard which allows them to look unobstructed into the living room. We found this very disconcerting as you could not retreat from their view unless you went to the bedrooms.
On another occasion a group staying in the rental next to us were dropped off directly outside our front door. After they had settled in another taxi arrived with crates of alcohol and take-away’s. When they were unloading these items they had to walk across our porch only feet from where we were sitting. Due to the lack of curtains we felt exposed to their glances and blatant stares.
The yard in front of the barn was frequented by people using the gate to get to the public walkway who also passed the aforementioned French doors by the toilet and bedrooms. It was also accessed by cars and taxi’s which dropped people off for the campsite next door. On one occasion the owner appeared to be irate at having people for the campsite being dropped off on his property and had to be calmed down by his wife who was hobbling on crutches. He was berating the taxi driver who was helping the campers unload, this all happened only 10ft-15ft from where we were sitting inside.
In the main room the sofa is backed against a large wall which is shared by the holiday rental next door. Whenever someone from next door would close a cupboard door in their kitchen which was against the wall it would reverberate throughout our living room.
The sofa in our living room was only a three seater and we had to take it in turns on a hard plastic chair as there are 4 of us. A fair distance away in the corner was a small tv which could only be viewed directly opposite.
The kitchen was sparsely furnished and lacked a microwave. We were asked if we would like cleaning materials supplied for a colossal £20 fee and we had to leave them behind when we left, which we declined. Any property we have rented before and after have always supplied these basics free when you consider the sum you are paying for a week’s stay.
We expressed our concerns to the owner who offered us a full refund, however since it was Easter weekend we would be unable to find anywhere to stay. Not to mention the prior arrangements with friends and business acquaintances, we had no choice but to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximety to Burnham-On-Crouch
Liked least: Lack of privacy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2012
We are very saddened that you felt the need to write such a negative review. We know that this was an important family holiday for you, and we are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Upon arrival we were made aware that you thought the property would be larger with an en-suite bathroom, and it became apparent that our advertisement was misunderstood by your group. Our advertisements on trip advisor and our own website do show pictures of every room in each individual barn, and describe the space and facilities in detail. We care deeply about the happiness of our guests, so we immediately offered you a full refund and extended our service to help you find alternative accommodation. We also offered you the use of one of our other barns for a few nights while it was available, to give you more space. Despite the misunderstanding, you ensured us that in fact you would be happy to stay in the accommodation, and we had several pleasant conversations with you and your family throughout the week where you very kindly stated how beautiful the furnishings, decor and location were.

We very much wish that you had voiced the other issues mentioned in your review while you were staying with us, as we would have been happy to help you resolve any problems you may have had. The only issue that you did bring up during your stay was that one of the light switches in the bedroom was getting stuck. We offered to repair it while you were out of the property, but you said 'not to worry because we have 3 other working lights in the bedroom.'

To address your point about privacy, River View does have very large windows in the living area which give beautiful views of the field and river. As River View is located right on the end of the barn with only the occasional dog walker passing by, the blinds do give privacy but are also designed to let light through. The bedrooms and hallway outside of the bathroom have black out blinds and curtains to give total privacy, but again the only view outside is of a gravel path and a small cottage. Photographs of this area can be seen on our website. As advertised, we do have other guests staying on site, and we are sorry if you did see a few other people outside, but we do try to encourage a friendly and welcoming atmosphere when people are sharing the courtyard area.

We were surprised at your comments about disabled access as none of your party required these facilities, but we would like to assure future guests that our property has been signed off by building control to allow disabled access.

We have tried to address your comments and take your feedback seriously. Sadly we feel that some items mentioned are very unfair, and in some cases, untrue. We note that you have given us extremely low marks for cleanliness of the bathroom and quality of the bedding. We feel confident that you would have mentioned these issues at the time if these really were such a big problem. We ask other readers to please refer to a review written by the people staying next door in The Hay Loft at the same time. They kindly state 'the barns are spotlessly clean' and we are happy to be welcoming that group back for their third stay with us this summer.

We have been running for the past year and a half, and this is the first review that we have had that has not been positive. We hope that anyone considering staying with us will read through our other reviews of River View and our barns, to gain a more rounded view of the accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dicster75
uk
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 5 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Stayed here at these lovely barns this weekend just gone for a family wedding in the area. The barn conversion was very tastifully decorated with all the mod cons. Lovely safe play area for the children too. We had a very relaxing 3 night stay and would definately recommend it. Thank you so much, so glad we found you and we wish you all the sucess in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay- it was lovely to meet you, and of course you are welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing