We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
76
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal kitchen bbq area authentic portuguese great holiday the cottages separate apartments amazing hosts fabulous pool atlantic coast worked tirelessly within easy reach family holiday kept spotless every morning swimming pool minute drive enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We were four Swedish families (totally 16 persons) who stayed at Paraiso Jardim for one week in early november to celebrate four 50-years birthdays together.
We had seen pictures and read Reviews, so I guess our expectations were quite high... But we definitely weren't disapointed! We arrived to paradise.

Each family chose an apartment that suited their wishes and everyone was happy. We enjoyed the Community kitchen every night; cooking and eating together. The big barbeque was frequently used! One night was Halloween and everybody dressed up in scary costumes. :-)

An other night we held The Birthday Party, and for this Cathy and Alex arranged a cook to make tasty starters, two delicious main courses and a beautiful birthday cake. We couldn't possibly eat all the food, so the leftovers fed everyone the whole next day too. When we intended to decorate the "ballroom" before the party, to our big surprise - Cathy and Alex had already decorated the place beautifully. <3

Cathy recommended some nice places to visit, malls to shop at and lovely beaches to enjoy, and all those places were beautiful. Some days we just stayed at home and had lazy hours by the pool, reading and relaxing.

We hadn't expected the weather to be very reliable this late in the season, but even the temperature was wonderful! It was between 22-26 degrees Centigrade every day. The nights, however, were quite chilly and as soon as the sun went down, so did the temperature. And in the mornings we had to work hard on our morning exercises to get warm :-) but as soon as the sun got up, it was warm and wonderful again.

The four ladies in the group had a big concert coming up, so we had to do some rehearsing on the big terrace every day after breakfast. Our families are quite used to us, but maybe we woke Cathy and Alex up... :-) They, however, were very patient and supportive to us!

Thank you so much for having us, and I really hope we can come back some time again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripsrus50, Owner at Paraiso Jardim, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hello Maria
What can I say about my favourite Swedish group :)
I'm so happy we met with all your expectations, so happy you loved the area and the things I suggested for you to do but what I was really happy about was hearing you all sing every morning. We are normally up very early to clean around for you, so you start your day off without any worries but then we might nip back to bed for 40 winks. I do remember Alan saying to me one morning when we reawoke to beautiful singing, have we gone to heaven as there are angels singing :) They were not angels just my wonderful Swedish ladies with the most heavenly voices.
You have set the bar very high when it comes to the singing stakes so I will be expecting so much more from our guests in future:) No more Rhinestone Cowboy, Ring of Fire, or Angel for us :)
Hope to see you all again and I will be following your competition progress with interest
Thanks agian
Kath & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

We had a great week in Paraiso Jardim. We were four families travelling together, and the place was perfect. The barbeque area, the pool and the separate appartments. The host couple are so friendly and helpful. We absolutely loved everything about our vacation. The weather was better than the swedish summer we just had.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Isabelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripsrus50, Owner at Paraiso Jardim, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi Isabelle
Thank you for the review, we simply loved having your group staying and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in this area of the Algarve. Weather wise it was brilliant with the exception of 1 night when the heavens opened but it didn't deter your party mood!!!
Hope to see you all again
Kath & Al

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We were a group of 18 family and friends and Paraiso Jardims apartments suited us perfectly. The immaculate pool was the centre of our holiday but the social evenings together in the communal kitchen were just fab.
The photos and video really do not do it justice you need to see this place for yourself.
I would really recommend anyone to go and stay, say hello to Al and Kath for us, you will not meet 2 more accommodating people. They were noticeable by their absence but they must have been up at the crack of dawn to ensure all the bins were taken away, pool was sparkling and the BBQ area all cleaned up. This really did make our holiday and we were not expecting it at all

Room Tip: We took all rooms
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Goholiday2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripsrus50, Owner at Paraiso Jardim, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi Alan & Family
Thank you for your lovely review, once again we have been blessed with so many great people here this year. Everyone different but all have one thing in common that is to have the best possible holiday and I'm so glad you came to us.
Hope to see you all next year. Almost full for the summer holidays so you need to be quick:)
Kath & Al

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

If you are considering staying here..take my advice and 'JUST DO IT'.You wont be disappointed.
Reasons.

Accommodation. Very comfortable indeed. Very clean. Well equipped and appointed.All have UK TV.

Rooms. Very well set up different types of apartments.Perfect for large or small groups.what ever you require.We loved it so much that we intend to bring a large family group out to stay. Can accommodate 18 adults(may be 1 or two more if you pleaded with Kath!!). A massive plus for us is that there is a spacious studio apartment which is wheelchair accessible with plenty of space for any extra equipment you may require. It has a huge level access wet room.

Facilities. Everything you might need is catered for. Great size pool which is kept spotless by Alan. The pool is not heated but when you have hot temperatures this can be a blessing.Outside eating and social hub works really well.It has its own kitchen and barbecue facilities.Very atmospheric in the evening with the lights on and clear skies to the stars.Many a Mojito had there!!.it also has its own dishwasher and washing machine which was vital to us.

Location. 7km west of Lagos.The area still preserves an authentic Portuguese feel.A slightly rural setting but don't be worried on the map how close it is to the N125. You don't hear it or see it. Its close two lovely towns Burgau and Salema. Would recommend a hire car to make the most of the lovely area.

The biggest assets to the place are the hosts Kath and Alan. They will do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable.We had some really unusual requirements as a member of our party has complex health needs and Kath worked tirelessly to make the trip possible for my family.

Great place. Great people. Thanks for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripsrus50, Owner at Paraiso Jardim, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Every year someone throws me a googly, this year it was you my lovely Dee family, and every year we meet people who change the way we think and do things, again it was you. Charles is truly a wonderful young man who touches everyone he meets and we were no exception. It was MY pleasure sorting out the things you needed to make your stay more comfortable and it was certainly OUR pleasure meeting the "Dee" clan.
Tchau until next time
Kath & Al

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Twelve of us from three families-we get the whole place to ourselves-plenty of room excellent facilities,super pool so good we rarely stray away!
Booked again for next year-an annual event-one offspring coming from Australia next year.
Thanks Kath and Allan-we enjoyed the fruits of your labour once again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripsrus50, Owner at Paraiso Jardim, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi Tim
As always great to see you all, thank you for your kind words. We too are looking forward to meeting the Aussie side of the family.
Until next year xx
Kath & Al

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews