We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful, relaxing Phophonyane”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

I've stayed in many places around Swaziland, and Phophonyane is definitely top for non-self-catering stays. The food is simple, healthy and home-cooked, with the most delicious freshly baked bread in the morning. This time my husband, three year old daughter and I stayed in Tent 5 and then Tent 6. Both of these tents have bathrooms attached to them. Tent 5 has a glorious high balcony (not suitable for the under-threes) with a view into the bush and the river below. The bathroom has a shower and a bath (the bath has a lovely view of the garden). Tent 6 is situated higher up the slope and does not have a large balcony nor the view of the river - but I liked it all the same, and got to see the tiny and I assume resident buck grazing around it. It has the advantage that the attached bathroom has a lot of space - with shelving and cupboard space. There is no bath. But the layout was great. Neither of the tents have fridges, although a kettle and water is supplied. If you need a fridge, I can recommend the smallest cottage (that I've stayed in previously)(it has a large garden and a view to the forest rather than to the valley - great for monkey watching). I'd definitely recommend staying a few nights here - it is tremendously peaceful with beautiful gardens and lovely hikes. Great staff too. The pool is good in summertime.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Thembiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

We carefully navigated the way in from the highway on a rough bush track and the reward, once we got to the gate with its interesting murals, was magnificent. It was off season so we shared the place with a monkeys and not many others.
There is a variety of accommodation and the one we had was a self contained cottage overlooking rainforests where the monkeys played and birds sang.
The resort offers a range of walking paths, a beautifully situated restaurant overlooking the valley below, a swimming pool and the waterfalls after which it was named.
A great place to enjoy respite after the excitement of safari.

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Super comfortable cottages, the guard makes fire at fireplace so that youbstay warm
Nice service, good restaurant (great steaks); only thing missin is good espresso ;)
Very nice but somewhat limited hiking options, after some hours you ve seen everything
.... and all this in stunning landscape

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Truly spectacular! We only stayed one night in the beehive (recommend that!), which we regret afterwards. Wanted to stay longer, the surroundings are like a tropical rainforrest, hiking trails for hours with beautifull waterfalls. During this time of the year its a bit smaller though, but still worthwile. Staff really friendly, dined at the fireplace, spectacular views over the mountains. One of the best places we visited in Swaziland!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Everything was awesome. The place we stayed was a luxury tented lodge and there was a lot of confort inside the tent. There was an heater, the bathroom was a very big one, and the bed was quite good. Moreover the view of the falls was perfect for us.
The diner and breakfast were amazing !

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank hh292017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piggs Peak
8.2 km away
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
Piggs Peak Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Piggs Peak
53 reviews
61.3 km away
Happy Valley Hotel & Casino
20.3 km away
Maguga Lodge
Maguga Lodge
#2 of 2 in Piggs Peak
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 km away
Bushwhacked
Bushwhacked
#1 of 12 in Barberton
72 reviews
18.3 km away
Bulembu Country Lodge
Bulembu Country Lodge
#2 of 11 in Mbabane
67 reviews
0.0 km away
Reilly's Rock Hilltop Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve

Address: Phophonyane Falls Nature Reserve | PO Box 199, Piggs Peak H108, Swaziland
Region: Swaziland > Hhohho District > Piggs Peak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Piggs Peak
Price Range: R1 269 - R4 995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Phophonyane Falls Ecolodge and Nature Reserve 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of legendary romance and breathtaking natural scenery. Choose between comfortable cottages, riverside safari tents or luxury traditional Swazi beehives, each blending into the lush sub-tropical forest. Enjoy healthy home-cooked meals and fine wines in our stylish restaurant with a roaring log fire. Small library and internet room. Refreshing natural rock pools, a stunning hilltop pool with views, waterfalls, walks, hikes and excellent birdwatching. A secluded hideaway for travelers seeking a magical retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing