We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, beautifully situated country get a way...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Roost,

The Roost
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Roost
Stream Barn with The Roost on the right View from dining area to sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Roost
Stream Barn with The Roost on the right
View from dining area to sitting area
Sitting area and front door
Fully equipped kitchenette
Dining area from staircase
Sleeping platform with king size bed
Patio dining
Secluded paved courtyard
Garden setting with views to south downs
Field at the rear
Further view of South Downs from The Roost
Sheep grazing in fields behind The Roost
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amberley, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Emily S
1 review
“Perfect, beautifully situated country get a way at the Roost!”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Had such a wonderful stay at the Roost, we felt very welcome upon arrival. Our Easter weekend away was incredibly relaxing, The Roost was both beautiful and cosy and offered a lovely place to put our feet up at the end of a long day walking! Surrounding area and pubs were fantastic. We hope to return next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thank you very much Emily from both of us and from the village......we definitely look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gboy2015
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The sun shone on us "Roosters"”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a fantastic chilling 3 day stay in this beautiful village, chosen because it was in the Times top ten villages to live. The Roost is a lovely self contained converted out building which had everything we needed and we certainly took advantage of the lovely garden for our afternoon G&Ts! We had planned to eat out a couple of nights but the pub right in the middle of the village was closed (there are two more a mile or so away) so we took advantage to eat in and support the Village Stores which had a great selection of interesting foodstuffs. The owners live next door and were both lovely, showing us everything we needed to know. We'll be back...

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2017
Thank you both for your positive review and also for your welcome support of our local village shop.......we' d love to see you again in the not too distant future. Best wishes.
Sandie and Geoff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonAnn...
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was my second stay at The Roost and it was just as perfect as the first. The photos don't do it justice. With a baby in tow being able to park right outside the front door and have such a generous sized and secluded private garden not overlooked was heaven. It was so peaceful and such a warm welcome it feels like home from home. Being able to sit feeding my baby with the French windows open in total privacy in the morning, in my pjs and with a cup of coffee was bliss. The renovation has been done to an exceptional high standard of craftsmanship - solid oak and underfloor heating. I could happily move in. We will be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you for your revisits and thank you for your kind comments.
It is always a pleasure to meet up again with our returning "Roosters".
Sandie and Geoff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacembil6...
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and surroundings”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at The Roost for a weekend as a mini-moon and to enjoy the countryside. We could not have been happier with our stay, The Roost is a beautiful converted barn which is well equipped with everything you need. The location is ideal to enjoy country walks and everything you need is within walking distance. Sandie and Geoff could not have been more welcoming. We needed their assistance on our first night and they were there to help instantly! We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Thank you both so much for your review.....and we would really love to see you here again next year....
Sandie and Geoff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline p
1 review
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Roost was the perfect place to stay for a relaxing break, there is everything you need for your stay and the surroundings are gorgeous.
There is a beautiful Tea shop next door with the Village store a few steps away, and everyone is so friendly.
Sandie and Jeff are the perfect hosts and we would definitely recommend The Roost to stay when visiting Amberley.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thank you both.....lovely to meet you and hope we will see you again before too long
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$114
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing