We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
215
114
28
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
114
28
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steve borgia foot massage heritage hotel vintage cars temple pond deer park yester years thali great property natural beauty swimming pool quaint village spotted deer eco resort modern conveniences on display antique furniture
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

This is a heritage hotel which we have been visiting last 15+ years. But standards are slipping. Heritage rooms need a makeover. TV sets are old and give blurred pictures. Channel choice limited very few English and other entertainment channels. Food quality also needs a check and at times items served were not fresh and bit stale. Sambar etc were also bit spicey. Items also priced bit high.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Tadvisor56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sindhu S, Corporate General Manager at INDeco Swamimalai, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from INDeco Hotels Swamimalai!

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We are usually known for our great customer service and attention to detail in everything that we do.
So, we hope you will give us and opportunity to discuss this further with you.
Looking forward to hear from you.

Regards,

Sindhu Saikumar
Corporate General Manager
+91 9444410391

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at the Indeco and its predecessor Sterling at the same location for over 15 years. We always look forward to this stop in our India visits and so do our kids. Unfortunately the property management seems to have stopped caring. Upkeep of the property has declined, our AC in the room did not work for hours in the heat., and instead of moving us to another room immediately they kept suggesting it was working while tinkering with it outside the room. One of my kids fell sick with this situation. Worst is the attitude of the front desk manager. There is no empathy, apology or care about any situation or concern raised. This is how great properties decline. Hopefully the mgmt sees this and addresses it. If we dont see an improvement in our next visit, it maybe time to check out other places.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank BosTravelstoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sindhu S, Corporate General Manager at INDeco Swamimalai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Greetings from INDeco Hotels Swamimalai!

We are extremely sorry to hear about this, and even more sorry to disappoint a customer. We try to maintain the highest standards of service, but clearly that's not what happened here. I am terribly sorry to hear about your experience. Unfortunately, I was not in at the time. We'd like to make sure that such mistakes don't happen again.
Please reach out to us on call or by email. We want to tell you that we take guest feedback very seriously. It saddens us deeply that you as a guest have have not been treated well, leading you to write this review.
I'm sure once we've cleared things up, we'll win you back as a guest. Hope you will give us a chance to make things right.

Regards,

Sindhu Saikumar
Corporate General Manager
+919444410391

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

I heard a lot about Indeco Hotels, Swamimalai and always wanted to stay and experience much spoken about its alignment with authenticity to the Traditions and Heritage.

I had an opportunity to stay for two days in INDeco hotel, Swamimalai last week.

As soon as I entered the lobby, the place overwhelmed me with the Hospitality of a traditional herbal Welcome drink followed by most relaxing foot massage and the absolute courtesy and efficiency of front desk staff finishing the formalities of check In.

I was in the room within few minutes of arrival excluding the time taken for the foot massage.

The room again had a touch of local decor meticulously made it to be most comfortable with antique furnitures.

I had the privilege and the opportunity of meeting Steve Borgio, the owner of the Property.

Steve was kind enough to spend time at lunch detailing his vision and how he accomplished it.

His dedication and respect for the 1896 Village where he has created the INDeco Hotel aligning the creation with its people, tradition, heritage, Bio diversity Sustainability, support of needy by engaging with dignity and rewarding them liberally.

I had superb local cuisine which I could relish thoroughly and dedication of the Service staff, excelling themself made me feel most at Home.

The place and Steve's dedication in creating a Master piece, local cuisine and the superb Staff has made me totally forget to visit the Swamimalai Temple, then I realised that the INDeco Hotel at Swamimalai itself was like a temple which provided me with the similar experience of visiting ancient " Padal Petra Sthalangal " meaning the ancient Saints have identified several temples in this region as most sacred with appearance or blessed by Lord Shiva.

I have called several of my friends and relatives to ensure that they should make it a point to stay at INDeco Hotel, Swamimalai as the Hub to visit literally 100's of ancient temples and places of significance.

Finally to sum it up, My stay at INDeco Hotel at Swamimalai has been most memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Kumaresan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sindhu S, Corporate General Manager at INDeco Swamimalai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Mr. Kumaresan,

Greetings from INDeco Hotels Swamimalai!

Thanks for taking the time to share your prestige opinion on INDeco Leisure Hotels with your Friend & Relatives. We take pride in giving outstanding service every customers. Most people don't bother to leave reviews about positive experiences unincentivized, and that's what makes you the star. It's only when we receive such positive feedback, do we rest knowing that we have done our jobs well.

Thank you for giving us this proverbial pat on the back, you made our day! We will strive to deliver great experiences consistently, please do come again.

Regards,

Sindhu Saikumar
Corporate General Manager
+91 9444410391

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

we were 5 of us who went and right from the time we stepped out of the car the hospitality began we were welcomed in tamil style and we were given foot massage andthe rooms were excellent and the food was excellent and i must thank each and every one especially the corporate manger ms sindu for making our stay memorable
thank you every one
p.s you must stroll around the hotel and see how nature has been preserved.

Room Tip: all the rooms are quiet and you can hear the chirping of birds and barking of deers
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank komal892014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sindhu S, Corporate General Manager at INDeco Swamimalai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Happy Guest,

Greetings from INDeco Hotels Swamimalai!

We were overwhelmed in your love for the heritage and the Rural. It was pleasure for us to have you and serve you at INDeco.

We are eagerly looking forward to see you again.

Thanks,

Sindhu Saikumar
Corporate General Manager
+91 9444410391

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

A wonderful family outing in this quaint village setting. It was a totally different experience in a traditional village. As an antique lover, every piece was a feast for my eyes that carried it's own history.
The vast property was spic and span, hat's of to the dedicated people behind the scene. All the hosts in the property were very courteous and warm ready to help anytime. The rooms were spacious and the antique furniture well placed.We did spend some good time in the clean and well renovated swimming pool which used be a "theppam" (common temple pond). Food was good with only local ingredients.
This place is something not to be missed if one plans to travel to that part of the country.
Kudos to Mr.Steve Borgia and team!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lushdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sindhu S, Corporate General Manager at INDeco Swamimalai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Happy Guest,

Greetings from INDeco Hotels SwamimalaI!

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. Our company values put customer satisfaction as top priority and we are committed to our customers. Its customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Sindhu Saikumar
Corporate General Manager
+91 9444410391

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews