We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nice service”
Review of Porto das Barcas

Porto das Barcas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$37
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Funtastic view, located just by the sea, above the fishing harbour. Porto das Barcas is a restaurant were you can enjoy the best fresh products from the sea and the best meat from Alentejo, cooked in the tradicional Portuguese way, acompanied by one of the many outstanding wines produced in our country. W/Private parking.
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We had very accomodating service. Local ingredients cooked well and with the restaurant’s own twist. The grilled octopus was delicious.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank willtravelforfood809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2018

We enjoyed our meal on the veranda overlooking the spectacular west coast of southern Portugal. Off the beaten path but well worth the detour. Food was very good. They were quite busy on a Sunday afternoon but service was good.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

This is a little out of the town. About a 20 minute walk from our accommodation.
We had booked. It's in a great location close to the ocean.
We had a few plates of olives, Goat's cheese and tapanade with breads.
We ordered Lobster, Bass, Octopus, Steak and Lamb. All. ALL were excellent.
Washed down with a bottle of Alentejo Red and white. Had a few digestivos as well, and the incredible Chocolate cake and Chocolate mousse.
Booked a table for the next night as well !!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Andy_the_Birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

I saw several reviews and ratings are already at 4,5 stars.
I any case I give them 1/2 a star more and rate it 5***** dispite having people who say it is overated...what for me is not understandable.
Just take care with booking in time as otherwise it will be difficult or nearly impossible to get a table. But this is not a reason to rate less.
We had a Lobsterrice which was delicious, a grilled toro and an delicious apple pie.

The atmosphere is great and restaurant is really nice.
Waiters are young and efficient.
A must!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Norbertell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Visited for dinner as read good reviews about it.

Restaurant is located just outside town, not even 5m drive but you need a car as pitch dark road.

We had “Morcela with caramelised pumpkin” and “Gambas Al Ajillo” for starters, both really tasty.

For mains we had “Oven bakes Cod Fillet with herb crust and sweet potato mash with spinach” and “grilled lamb chops with oven with oven potatoes and herb dressing”

For desert we had “Home made chocolate mousse” one of the best I’ve ever had, with a pinch of sea on top and also “Apple Crumble with ice cream scoop”

Really good meal, everything was extremely tasty and not expensive at all.
2x starters, 2x mains, 2x deserts, 1x side salad, 3x drinks, bread and olives all for €76!!!!

Only critique is that starters were brought at different times so I just looked at my husband having his and by he was finished I then got mine. But that was the only hiccup, everything else was spot on.

Would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto das Barcas also viewed

Vila Nova de Milfontes, Beja District
Vila Nova de Milfontes, Beja District
 
Vila Nova de Milfontes, Beja District
Vila Nova de Milfontes, Beja District
 
Vila Nova de Milfontes, Beja District
Vila Nova de Milfontes, Beja District
 

Been to Porto das Barcas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing