We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Jandia Mar
Nearby Hotels
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$121
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$195
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$138
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
H10 Tindaya(Costa Calma)
US$152
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
US$235
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas(Playa de Jandia)
US$261
US$241
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5 868)
Filter reviews
5 868 results
Traveller rating
1 973
2 283
1 025
360
227
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 973
2 283
1 025
360
227
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjandia marsteep hillsnack barfishself serviceanimation teamcrazy golfsaladporkice creamsister hotelindoor poolmini golfplenty of sunbedsfree busself servesoft drinks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 5 868 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Breakfast was a free for all only two toasters for whole of restaurant 8 times to try and get it brown everything spread out ques everywhere no taste on anything only good part was fresh bloomers and other breads evening meals same only this time you had a set time and try then to make some sort of meal everything Luke warm even when they filled trays back up defitenely not 4 star

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Anthony C,

We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests.

We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining expériences, at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services.

Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay.

Kind regards,

Guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a week here in January, it reminds me of easyJet/Ryanair style pricing, safe not included, towels not included, waved in the direction of your room on arrival as there are no staff to show you where to go or take your luggage. Same at meal times, not enough staff, always running out of bowls, tea cups and other essentials. Food was very mediocre, cheesecake pudding was totally frozen in the middle, really not great.
On the pluses the kids club was good, and there are a lot of entertainment staff (though the evening entertainment got very repetitive). Not a hotel I would visit again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank BAH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Bah3,

Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandía Mar, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us.

Thank you for your insights regarding our buffets, although we lament reading that we weren't able to meet your culinary wishes on this occasion, please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our Chefs to enhance our future guests' dining expériences.

We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live shows in the evening, nevertheless we will make sure to discuss your comments with the head of enteratiment for information and improvement.


Again, we genuinely appreciate the time you took out of your day to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly in the future.

Kind regards,

Guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This holiday was very good value - the all-inclusive deal definitely covered the stated breakfast lunch and dinner but the hotel had many additional costs e.g. mini golf was 5 euros per person and bottles of water cost a couple of euros (yet alcohol did not?).

Weather/wind
We went at the end of March and it was freezing - the rooms had no heating so we were not at all comfortable. We received extra blankets but that doesn't help the cold room. The pools outside look beautiful but sitting around them in the cold, strong winds was unbearable. There seemed to be no windbreaks anywhere around the hotel which seemed odd on a windy island resort.

Surroundings
The walk down to the beach is really nice and in fact, you can walk to the highest point on the island from the hotel (Pico de la Zarza - about 5h return journey) - the track starts behind the hotel. Marro Jable town is about a 5 euro taxi away which is well worth going to, other than the beach, there isn't much around the hotel to visit except for tourist shops.

Food
The buffet is great, the staff in the canteen are really friendly. There are many vegetarian/vegan options and the staff are extremely accommodating if you talk to them. Thank you so much to the chef at the snack bar who brought down vegan patties for me the next day!

Kids
It's a great place for kids, so much to do and there is even a kids buffet area. There is a cool playground, a fountain and there are activities each day.

Environment
Very cool they celebrated earth hour while we were there and there is a nice educational garden. I didn't see much by way of recycling/composting in the kitchen but I did not check. This was all reasonable until I saw the polystyrene cups at the tea and coffee station - I would have to say this is unacceptable given the alternative choices available today in addition to the fact the hotel has real coffee mugs in the kitchen, not far from the coffee station.

Note to the hotel: you really need a trained first aid responder at all times. The lifeguards where lovely but, whilst it looked like they had a large first aid kit, they were underequipped and inexperienced.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view and one with heating if they exist
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank terribletuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Terribletuy,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Jandía Mar was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

We are glad to read that you really enjoyed our unbeatable location to visit the wonders of a vacation in Jandía .

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So after phoning Jet 2 about arranging a room on the ground floor because I have trouble with steps we arrived at the hotel and Jet 2 hadn't let them know , The very efficient ladies at reception changed our room for us , Its a lovely hotel and the beds are really comfy but the food really lets it down , Very poor choice and the food is always cold , there is a microwave there to use if you like your food hot but its like eating in a school canteen , If this hotel sorted the dining out it would be a great hotel but its really not good ,The chefs are really grumpy , There isn't tea or coffee in the room but you can hire a kettle ? Its a shame as this could be a lovely hotel if these things were sorted out but its not a four star . There is a bus to take you down the very steep hill to the beach and shops which is nice but only three times in the day and not at night it needs more putting on . Overall would we go back ? Hmmm praps not to this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Elaine:

Thank you very much for taking this time to share your experience at Occidental Jandia Mar and its services; critical yet constructive feedback like yours only help us to continuously improve our overall service and also ensure that such incidents won´t be repeated in the future. This is why your comments are essential for us and we truly appreciate them.

In any case, we are glad to know you enjoyed your overall experience at Occidental Jandia Mar and we can´t wait to have you back with us! If you do so, please contact us directly so we can make sure we create a complete wonderful experience for you this time... we are already waiting for you!

Warm regards

Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing place with amazing food and employees. We came to enjoy some sun and good food and drinks and we did not regret it . The place was clean , our room was nice and had a nice view. Breakfast every morning was amazing and lunch and dinner as well . Prossecco while having a breakfast was a big plus . The snack bar next to the swimming pool had a great selection of food and drinks. The employees were amazing , always smiling and happy to help. Would definitely recommend the resort to our friends and family . Thank you so much for making our stay amazing.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Morries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalJM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Jandia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Morries:


What a great pleasure to read your feedback! Thank you very much for taking this time to share your opinion with the rest of the travelers; as you know, this is essential for us to keep improving and also working with motivation for the future.

We really hope that you would decide to come back to Occidental Jandia Mar soon, we are already waiting for you to create another unforgettable experience!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews