We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Save
Review Highlights
Nice narrow gauge railway.

A nice steam hauled trip about 45m each way through the countryside from Wrexham to Aylsham and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Tynes1der
,
Wallsend, United Kingdom
via mobile
What an experience, Brilliant!,

A right eye opener, Had a fantastic time,caught the train to Wroxham and then walked down to the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
feliz_vacaciones
,
felixstowe
Read all 589 reviews
  
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
317
187
59
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
317
187
59
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews narrow gauge boat trip norfolk countryside aylsham station model shop minute journey return journey combined ticket journey takes lovely countryside lovely trip pleasant journey thomas the tank engine enjoyable trip lovely train ride small train well stocked shop
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We 4 visited this railway on 12/6 and enjoyed the 50 minute journey from Aylesham to Wroxham on this narrow gauge railway. It was a great experience on one of the very few of this kind of railway. The train trundles through the Norfolk countryside via 3 other stations to Wroxham, known as the capital of the "Broads". There is ample time to explore or take a boat trip before returning to Aylesham.
A great experience for young and old alike.

Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

had a great day out here a 45 min train ride along the valley to Wroxham a short walk to the boat ⛵and a11/2 hr trip down the boards then an hour or so looking around lunch and trip back on steam hauled 15" gauge train to Aylsham. All in the sun great day.

Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

This was our half day trip on the penultimate day of our coach break in Norfolk - booked as a double with a river cruise in the afternoon
We boarded at Aylsham in our own little carriage - this is a narrow gauge railway so not spacious and definitely no buffet car!!
Journey was pleasant through the Norfolk countryside and took about 45 minutes

1  Thank nobby69010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burevalley, General Manager at Bure Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Glad you were able to visit us as part of your coach trip.

You are correct, as a narrow gauge railway our carriages are small and as such we can not provide an onboard buffet car. We do however have a large cafe at our Aylsham Station terminus serving a wide selection of hot and cold food and drink.

At our Wroxham Station we do offer hot and cold drinks and a selection of snacks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent little railway. Dog friendly, but just a shame they don’t allow dogs in the cafe and shop.
Recommend it

Thank CarolynG1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burevalley, General Manager at Bure Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Carolyn,

Very many thanks for visiting the railway and we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Dogs are very welcome at the railway including in the shop and ticket offices. Unfortunately we have decided against allowing them in the café as a result of a sad, but small minority of owners who did not control their dogs allowing them to disturb other visitors and also soil the café and not clear up after them.

As dog owners ourselves we realised the inconvenience this presented to caring considerate dog owners and so have a separate room which we open on cold and wet days with tables where dogs are welcome and our café staff will happily serve food and drinks.

Assistance Dogs are welcome everywhere on the railway including the Café.

Best wishes

Andrew
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

The railway and locomotives themselves are very interesting, but the journey is not as scenic as we had hoped. Still an enjoyable trip though.

Thank Tivtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burevalley, General Manager at Bure Valley Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for your visit and positive comments and we are pleased that no aspect of your visit within our control was disappointing and that overall you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews