We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
111
44
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
44
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews irish coffee the owner course dinner kruger park feel very welcome main building trout comfortable accommodation place to sleep our short stay excellent chef hidden gem personal service excellent dinner very nice atmosphere friendly hosts see you soon
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed over 2 nights when exploring the area on motorbike. Were treated to a fantastic braai, wholesome breakfasts and delightful dinner (with lots if wine and laughs). Terry and his team are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Great value for money and worth another visit.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank vsteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Arriving at the lodge we were a bit disappointed. A road full of potholes and a lodge at the corner of two streets, not with a nice view over the valley as we more or less expected. But looking at it more closely we saw the old grandeur of the well maintained building. Also the interior is well maintained and decorated with many historical memories dating back to the beginning of Waterval Boven. The rooms are located in a separate building behind the main building. Rooms well equipped, clean and all appliances worked well. Dinner made by friendly host Jacco was excellent. Also the owner Terry came to have a short talk which was well appreciated.
In the porch before the rooms are some seats and one can sit outside in the shade with a view on the small inner garden.
Our beds appeared to be comfortable and the airco working so we all slept well. There was some traffic noise in the late evening and early in the morning but nothing that hindered us.
In the morning we had a very nice breakfast to end our stay in this lodge.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 139keesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We arrived on my wife's 50th birthday and Terry had arranged a marvelous braai on a wonderful warm evening. The gesture was not lost on us. The accommodation was cosy, clean and obvious a ,lot of thought had gone into the décor. All the meals, cooked lovingly by Jaco was of a very high standard and delicious. Terry went out of his way to make us feel very welcome and came with us to show us some sights around Waterval Boven and beyond, which we would never had found ourselves. I would recommend this haven to anyone as Terry can cater to all requests. A wonderful start to our holiday and worth a re-visit anytime.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank MilesC151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry-Cheryl, Owner at Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

We enjoyed having you & your family to stay with us. Good fun had by all.
Hopefully will see you all again.
All at Shamrock Arms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

We had a great overnight stay en route from Mozambique to Cape Town
Hosts were fantastic and made us feel very welcome.
Accommodation was clean and very comfortable.
We had a great dinner meal which included local Trout offering.
Love the old building and heritage that has been maintained.
Strongly recommend for travelers or weekend visitors to the area.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FrederickJCresswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry-Cheryl, Owner at Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Morning Frederick
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure meeting you all.

Looking forward to another visit again in the future.
Kind regards

Terry & Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We spent our wedding anniversary at the Shamrock Arms and we could not have been happier. With the goal of hiking the nearby mountain cliffs we were happy to find this gem as a base. The rooms are spacious and tidy and you would not say you are in rural Africa. Free wifi and a very affordable bar. Highlight of the stay has to be the food prepared by Chef Jaco, who is a charming guest and an excellent chef. If you want to visit Boven, stay at the Shamrock Arms.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoM2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews