We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever!”
Review of The Hawk

The Hawk
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Hawk really is a pub for people with great taste - allowing you to dine and mingle in truly stylish surroundings. Proving that contemporary and traditional décor can work together with effortless ease, step into this premium establishment and discover a whole host of stylish corners, spacious dining areas, inviting seating spaces, and a lively atmosphere. Set in the idyllic setting of location of Battlesbridge, The Hawk is ideal for al fresco dining with its lovely outdoor space, where you can relax and unwind in the sunshine, in optimum style. Plenty of car parking is available and we are also a family friendly establishment, so please feel free to bring your little ones along.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Pleased to report that this lovely restaurant is once more top of the pile. Before the change of management, the place had dipped, but it is now back to its best. Very friendly, clean and great food. Not the cheapest, but well worth the extra - and it is not silly-expensive.

Thank DebvinEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for such a lovley review

We have worked very hard to make sure that our guests have a great time and experiance with us and I am really pleased that you did. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hawk again very soon

Many Thanks

Darrell
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 1 248 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

Hadn’t been to The Hawk for many months. Never sure how the meal would be and the surroundings were very tired. What a surprise. Beautiful refurb, food totally brilliant, service pretty good too. Food a bit pricey but happy to pay as it was so good. Couldn’t afford it for anything other than a special occasion.Congratulations on turning this lovely old pub into something really rather good!!

Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely reveiw. It has taken us nearly two years to turn the Hawk around into a much loved pub where our service and food are second to none. I am so pleased that you had a lovely time with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hawk again very soon

Many Thanks

Darrell
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

A lovely Sunday lunch, beautiful pork, spuds & the veg too.
Just a little more gravy would have made it a 10/10 meal.
An expensive option but I have to say one if the finest Sunday roasts we’ve had.
Too work!

Thank Leebeemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely reveiw. I am so pleased that you had a great Sunday with us and I will pass on your comments to my team

Thank you again

Darrell
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Just had a lovely lunch at The Hawk, first time here and would go back again. Two of us had Sunday roasts and two chose something different from the menu. Gorgeous meals, friendly staff and puddings worth returning for. Excellent choice for a birthday meal.

Thank Jaqwilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us

I am so pleased that you had a lovley time with us celebrating a irthday.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hawk again very soon

Many Thanks

Darrell
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Been here a few times now and the vegan menu is incredible. It's so nice to have vegan choices as this is not usually the case!!! Great staff too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bethany-Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Hawk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your reveiw, I am so pleased that had a great experiance with us and loved our new vegan menu.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hawk again very soon

Many Thanks

Darrell
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hawk also viewed

 
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to The Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing