We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
34
36
15
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
36
15
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet neighborhood lovely hotel great view hill sea balcony reception views town bikes santander spain comillas
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017

I walked here from Comillas on my 2017 pilgrimage, and was welcomed and given a room overlooking the estuary and the sea beyond it. The room was on the second floor (carrying a pack, one is grateful for an elevator) and was clean and well-kept. Staff are friendly and attentive, and very helpful-- one of them spoke English fairly well. They outlined the restaurants on the map for me-- the town is about a km away down the hill, but is quite walkable (note- the Babylon bookstore on the main square has English and German newspapers), and is well supplied with seafood restaurants.
Breakfast was professionally served, and was better quality than one often encounters in Spain. Freshly-squeezed orange juice with one's coffee at breakfast is a great treat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north-east will have good views of the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Recently spent one week here at the hotel and loved the position of it in a quiet road above the town with lovely views of the harbour and surrounding countryside and sea.
Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Very quiet, can walk into town if you can walk up hills on the way back. Quiet street to park your car with no charge. Basic continental breakfast with a Croissant and coffee and orange Juice and a slice of toast with cheese for 5.5 Euro extra. No coffee making facility in room. Drinks can be purchased from reception for a reasonable extra cost.24 hour reception,the hotel is run by a friendly family. No evening meals at the hotel. Definitely would return if in the area again.

Room Tip: Most rooms had a lovely Sea View
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We had booked for 3 nights at this hotel in a residential area above San Vincente in the belief that it would be quiet. Unfortunately the local residents do like to party out of doors. The afternoon of our arrival we were hoping for a rest after a long drive, but the occupants of the house next door were hosting a kids poolside party complete with loud disco music. The hotel rooms do not have air conditioning so we had no option but to keep our windows open and survive the din. When we came back after dinner we found that another nearby house was throwing an adult party this time which went on past midnight. With that and the goat bells from the next door field, we did not get much sleep. The owners could not care less about the problem. They first tried to claim there was no disturbance and then retreated to saying that if the other hotel guests were prepared to put up with the noise, why should we object. When we left after the 1 night they insisted on charging for 2 and then promptly relet our room. Avoid if you are after a quiet stay and friendly service.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bathonian2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Quite high up overlooking the town, but on the same level as the extremely beautiful church and old town so that walking there is a doddle. The hotel staff were incredibly friendly and made our visit very happy. Wonderful fresh orange juice at breakfast on the terrace.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Xanthe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We spent three nights in this lovely hotel situated on the hill above the port of San Vicente de la Barquera. The view from our room was amazing, looking over the port towards the sea.
Rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable with free Wi-Fi. Breakfast can be taken in the open air on the balcony and costs a little extra, as does the indoor parking - only 5 euros a day. We paid 240 euros for a superior double room for three nights and it was very good value for money.
There is a bar but no food but then a short walk into town ( 5 or ten minutes only, downhill) will take you to many eating places.
This is such a great town in itself with its restaurants, 3 beaches and its own beauty. But it's also a great centre for visiting nearby Comillas, Santillana del Mar, Altimira caves, Picos d'Europa etcetera.

Room Tip: Go for the upper rooms with sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews