We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful find, a pleasant stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hydrangea Cottage

Hydrangea Cottage from Queen Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hydrangea Cottage from Queen Street
From the pavement Hydrangeas in full bloom in the front garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Hydrangea Cottage from Queen Street
From the pavement
Hydrangeas in full bloom in the front garden
Living room is light and airy
Living room with gas fireplace
Master bedroom with double bed
Twin bedroom
Bunk bedded room
Family bathroom
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining room seats eight
Patio garden
Seaton beach
Seafront cafe on the West Walk
Sunset on the East Walk
Art during the Festival of Cycling
Enjoy a cream tea in the secluded rear garden
Buckets and spades for a fossiling trip to Charmouth
The dining table seats eight comfortably
A selection of the toys available for younger guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Seaton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
traceee
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful find, a pleasant stay.”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Wow, this was our first stay in a cottage, and what a wonderful find.
The pictures on the website Immediatly attracted us to Hydrangea Cottage, its destination within the town was a major attraction too, we were concerned about parking, but the cottage has a car port, we were already expecting one daughter to turn up, but our other daughter also appeared, 2 small cars fitted together in the car port and our 4wd parked behind....result!
On arrival the cottage was warm, supplies of milk, orange juice, fresh baked bread, tea, coffee, sugar had been left by the landlady (Liz).
She also left white wine and a cream tea.
The cottage was very clean and well equipped with everything you would ever need in a home.
The beds were comfortable and bedding was freshly laundered, smelt lovely.
We bought our poorly, grumpy 3yr old grandson with us, who was homesick within an hour of being there, but all that changed when he saw the toys, especially the train sets and the DVDs, this was his first stay with us and he seemed to thoroughly enjoy his mini holiday, weather was wet, but he was content to stay in all day.
The rooms were such a good size, we were even able to leave the train sets out for the duration of our stay, with out any of us falling over them
There was plenty of information relating to the area, places to visit, places to eat..
The beach was within walking distance as was the town.
We thanked Liz for our stay and we will definitely be returning to Hydrangea Cottage next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments - hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdcano
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our 3 night stay at Hydrangea Cottage. Our 5 year old loved the wide selection of games and we appreciated the welcome package. Warm, comfortable and only a 10 minute walk from the beach. My only suggestion would be a deep clean is required after what must have been a busy season. All in all, we would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the beach
Liked least: Cobwebs
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
1 review
“Lovely place in a charming town”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a fantastic time in Seaton in our cottage. The place is spacious and conveniently located in the town centre. Service provided for handover and in between was outstanding and effortless to us. Our four kids loved the TV and DVD collection in particular ;) Excellent place to stay for a large family. We would love to come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and room size
Liked least: Poor kitchen cleanliness (esp. dirty fridge, cupboards with muldy food, etc. was below expectations)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JL_and_DL...
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Clean, airy, modern, and family-friendly!”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We came across this cottage via a Google search for 'child-friendly cottages in Devon'. We were visiting Seaton during an extended May bank holiday, as our toddler is train-mad! The Seaton tramway and Pecorama both provided great day trips to occupy the family, and we weren't disappointed. Hydrangea Cottage is a great place for families to stay. We only needed 2 of the 3 bedrooms but at only £80 per night, we weren't bothered that it was bigger than we needed. Bunk room was perfect for our 2 year old who was happy enough sleeping on the bottom bunk. My husband and I took the spacious double next door. There was a travelcot available as well as a toddler blowup bed, although we didn't use these. Highchair available too. Lots of toddler toys provided, including games, DVDs and books. We took our own bits from home but he didn't play with them at all - just the ones provided at the cottage! The massive wooden train set was a real hit!! Liz, the owner, left groceries for our arrival which was really helpful (bread, milk, cream tea, wine, biscuits etc) as well as household items like toilet rolls, washing up liquid etc, so there really isn't much need to bring anything yourself, especially if like us you intend to eat out most days. Only downside was the lack of a stairgate (bearing in mind this cottage is clearly aimed at families with young children). The owner suggested we drag the travelcot across the landing at night to block off the stairway, which we did, and this worked fine for us although it is a bit of a faff. As I say, it didn't end up being much of a problem for us, but it would give young families that extra peace of mind. Overall, a great base for young families to explore Seaton and the surrounding areas. 5 min walking distance to town shops, beach and tramway. Would definitely recommend and return if holidaying down this way again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Provision of groceries and toddler entertainment!
Liked least: Lack of stairgate
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPhillips...
Ruislip, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Break”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from a mini break in Seaton.
We were impressed with the cottage which was cosy, airy and very relaxing. The cottage is located close to the town centre but so peaceful we could have been miles from anywhere! The weather was kind to us and we enjoyed lots of walks and lots of fish and chip suppers!!
Liz (owner) had left us a nice welcome package - bread, scones, cream, jam, wine which was a lovely touch. We definitely want to re-book soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing