We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous visit - highly recommended”
Review of Seaton Jurassic

Seaton Jurassic
Ranked #6 of 30 things to do in Seaton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Time travel in East Devon! Planning your summer holiday? Visit Seaton Jurassic for a great family day out. Become a time traveller and unravel the story of the Jurassic Coast. Join our Victorian explorer TT on a dazzling journey in her steampunk timeship. Continue your adventure in a rock pool and meet the ancient survivors of our coast. Dress up like your favourite sea creature for the perfect family selfie and experience life underwater. Discover the wonders of nature surrounding Seaton in our garden and learn about the species living along the Jurassic Coast. Dig for fossils or try your hand at sea fishing. Dive deeper under the surface and meet the giants visiting our seas. If you feel peckish after this adventure, our café is the lovely place to refuel. With big palm trees and flying reptiles soaring above, you can count on us to keep the kids entertained whilst you tuck into our delicious meals and cakes all made by us.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Visited with our two young grandchildren 3 and 7 months - plus our daughter. We thought it was brilliantly put together and presented. Lots of information, interestingly written and illustrated with lots of innovation. It held the attention of all 5 of us and was way above what we expected. Many environmental lessons throughout. All the staff were friendly and enthusiastic. Lots of thought about how to keep our 3 year old interested including in the cafe. Well done to the whole team past and present. We would certainly go back.

Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeatonJurassic, Guest Relations Manager at Seaton Jurassic, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed it! We try to make sure it's a great experience for children and adults alike, and it sounds like your group had a fantastic time exploring the natural wonders of our amazing coast.

The staff and volunteers all do their best to make sure everyone who visits us has a memorable trip; we'll be sure to pass your comments along to them to let them know what a great job they're doing.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"interactive fun"
in 9 reviews
"outside area"
in 11 reviews
"family ticket"
in 12 reviews
"sea creatures"
in 9 reviews
"interactive experience"
in 5 reviews
"all ages"
in 21 reviews
"the study"
in 4 reviews
"answering questions"
in 4 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 14 reviews
"older ones"
in 4 reviews
"annual pass"
in 4 reviews
"year olds"
in 7 reviews
"cakes"
in 9 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 5 reviews
"visited today"
in 4 reviews
"grown ups"
in 3 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 7 reviews
Filter

27 - 31 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

My 6 year old likes the trail and the interactive exhibits. We came out hungry at lunchtime but cafe can't cope and waited 45 minutes for food though only a very basic selection. So come to the exhibit and eat elsewhere!

Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeatonJurassic, Guest Relations Manager at Seaton Jurassic, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

We apologise for your wait in the cafe. We do our best to ensure that everyone has an enjoyable experience with us, and we are doing our best to ensure that our cafe is up to standard. We're sure that the cafe will make up for your experience the next time you're in.
We're glad to hear that you and your 6 year old enjoyed the exhibition, we'll be sure to pass your comments on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

I went to Seaton Jurassic with my partner and my elderly grandparents - us being in our early 20s and them late 70s. The staff were friendly, however we were immediately taken back at the price. No student concession to be found.

Once inside, we were greeted by a volunteer who, whilst clearly enamoured with the location, proceeded to inform us of all of the interesting bits before entering the second door.

Overall, we were expecting a more museum like feel. The information was very text heavy, which could result in even adults losing engagement. The interactive elements would be great for children, however it felt slightly lacking for adults.

My grandparents did like the garden however, though felt possibly an alternate route for people with limited mobility/didn’t involve going outside would be advisable

Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeatonJurassic, Guest Relations Manager at Seaton Jurassic, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We do assess our prices every year, in comparison with other local attractions and events. Unfortunately we do not yet have a student concession as we do not feel is is something heavily in demand - this may change in the future.

We pride ourselves on not being a traditional museum, and all our volunteers are trained to explain this to visitors before they go in, as we hate for people to leave us feeling disappointed. There are a lot of informative sections around the exhibition, and while there is a certain amount of text, we feel that it is a reasonable amount, compared to what would be found in a traditional fossil museum.

We do have a wheelchair available on site for visitors with limited mobility, and this is mentioned on our website as part of our accessibility statement.

We thank you again for taking the time to leave us your comments, we'll be sure to pass on your comments about the service to our volunteers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Very impressed with this new attraction! The innovative ways in which the information is put across are very impressive and caught the attention of my 12 and 18 year olds. The outside area is lovely and we enjoyed a very nice lunch in the cafe. Definitely recommend for all ages!

Thank Trudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeatonJurassic, Guest Relations Manager at Seaton Jurassic, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

We're so glad to hear that you had a good time with us! We do our best to make sure everyone who visits has an enjoyable and informative time.

Our gardeners work very hard to keep the garden area looking wonderful, and we agree that they have done an amazing job with it.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments, the staff and volunteers will be delighted to hear what a good job they're doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Superbly interactive interesting place for all the family. I visited today with my son 10 who was fascinated by it all, so much to see, he tore around at speed but kept coming back to areas that drew him. He has SEN so I was hesitant to take him, but I got in for free as a Carer so it was def worth it. He loved the handles to turn, and the buttons to press, and the ship outside from which he could "fish". I will return and take it more at my leisure and learn something about the area we live in. The outside garden area too lovely. Shop and café well worth a visit. I went to the café a year or so ago and the hot food was a bit limited, but they have expanded the choices now to include the usual jacket potatoes, soup, paninis etc as well as cream teas and good choices for children too. I had delicious soup and roll, and childrens fish fingers, chips and peas, very reasonable at £5. I reckon the place will get much busier once the new Tramway centre is completed.. they hope by the end of May.

Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeatonJurassic, Guest Relations Manager at Seaton Jurassic, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

We're so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us! It sounds like your son had a very enjoyable time playing with the time ship and our fishing game.
We made the centre as interactive as possible to encourage young people to learn, and it seems like he went away having had a great day.

We'll be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to the cafe staff, they will be delighted to have feedback on what a wonderful job they're doing.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your kind comments, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaton Jurassic also viewed

 

Been to Seaton Jurassic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing