We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect peace and tranquillity”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
A Spring evening on the patio
The view from the cottage - Kirkcarrion a bronze age burial mound
More of the view from the cottage
The winter view of Kirkcarrion from the cottage
Sunbathing in front of the cottage garden
Middleton-in-Teesdale with its shops, pubs and cafes
High Force - the biggest waterfall in England. There are numerous easy walks to view the falls.
Looking from the cottage across the garden to the hills beyond.
Our garden in the winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Middleton in Teesdale, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Linda R
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect peace and tranquillity”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned from a wonderfully peaceful and relaxing break at East Farm Cottage.We came here while we were having a new kitchen installed at home and could not have chosen a better place. The cottage is extremely well equipped and very comfortable and the views are spectacular. We were surrounded by fields and the feeling of peace and tranquility was amazing. The skies were so dark at night that you can see the stars so clearly.This was our westie puppy,s first holiday and he loved it, especially the little white calf in the field.The owners are very friendly and we appreciated the tea and scones on arrival along with the gift of free range eggs from their hens. Nick was even so kind as to forward me a photograph of the little white calf that Stuart loved after we had returned home. We have already recommended this cottage to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities in cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Thanks for the review Linda. I hope that your new kitchen worked out well and hope to see all three of you again before you need to replace it !.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard...
2 reviews
“Peaceful location. Home from home cottage. Great walks from doorstep.”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Fantastic welcome from the owners and nothing too much trouble. Peaceful location with wonderful walks from the doorstep. Spotlessly clean throughout and every utensil you could want in the kitchen! Middleton Village is literally just down the road and has some nice places to eat and drink and a well stocked supermarket. Was a really good central location to explore the Yorkshire Dales and The Lakes by car but the immediate area was by far equally as good and not swamped by tourists! Our dogs absolutely loved their stay as well!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Thanks for the review. We're glad that you enjoyed your week in Upper Teesdale and hope to see both of you and your two beautiful German Shepherds again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraineh...
Talaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent cottage!”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week in this cottage. The owners have obviously worked hard to provide absolutely everything you could possibly need for a stay away from home with great views from the windows to add to the experience! When you arrive, the cottage is beautifully clean and there are fresh flowers on the table plus some edible goodies which make you feel very welcome.The owners live next door but do not intrude However, if you bump into them outside they are very warm and friendly and happy to chat or give you ideas about places to visit. They are obviously very enthusiastic about their area.The other plus here is how welcome our two dogs were. If you want a dog-friendly cottage in a beautiful area of the country then this one is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday and hope that we shall see both of you and your two lovely dogs again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debrakers...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage was beautiful with everything that could ever be needed (and more).we had the bed made as a super king size and it was enormous and made up with crisp white bedding.plenty of storage.shower was powerful with bath sheet towels.the cottage is set in what feels to be the middle of nowhere but is in fact only 10-15mins walk from the village. Middleton has a variety of cafes and a couple of dog friendly pubs.location and cottage second to none.nick and Elizabeth were lovely and miissy's bark was definitely worse than her bite!we would go back next week if we could but will have to settle for dreams for next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Many thanks for the review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your break and were able to get away from everyday stresses and relax. I hope that the return to work has not been too bad and that we shall see all three of you again soon.

Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhyssmum
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What can I say? I fell in love with the cottage on its website and fell in love for the second time when I actually saw it. Nick and Elizabeth (and Missy!) were fantastic; we had all sorts of goodies when we arrived which were so welcome after a long journey. The cottage is very well equipped, clean, warm and cosy and we felt at home straight away. The views are absolutely stunning and we had a "garden" full of sheep and rabbits which made you relax even if you weren't planning on it! We loved the fact we were close to Middleton but still felt remote. Middleton itself was friendly and had all the shops we needed (apart from a bakers, but other shops catered for this), and cafes and pubs.

Really sorry when our week was up and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if we had the chance. Thank you for making us so welcome.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
Many thanks for the review. Glad that you had such a good break. Hope that Rhys' exams are going well and that we shall see you again soon.

Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing